Customer Reviews for

How It Ended: New and Collected Stories

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To Jaysoar's Story

    I love the details! I still can't explain how amazing this is. You have an astonishing amount of Warrior "edge" in your writing that I have never before. Three words: I love it!
    -Daisypelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Apprentice's Den

    EndClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Stormy

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Sunsetsky

    This is one of the best fanfics ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Jaysoar's Story ~ Chapter 5

    Jaypaw gazed at him,"Just because someone's soul is inside of you, dosn't make you less special! You are Greypaw, not Greyfeather, and you always will be," the morning sun was beginning to rise over the hills and mountains, baking the earth with it's warm raise,"I'm on Dawn Patrol," Greypaw mewed suddenly,"I had better get back. You might want to come back too, Jaypaw," Jaypaw nodded, hoping he took her words into consideration. The two headed back to camp, the sun shining through the trees dappling their pelts with gold,"That was a nice talk," mewed Jaypaw, her blue gaze warm. Greypaw nodded, and said nothing. They reached camp just as Greypaw's Dawn Patrol was about to leave. Greypaw joimed them,"Bye!" Jaypaw called, thpugh there was no response. She sighed, glancing around to see if Acornfur was awake yet. He was not, so Jaypaw padded back to the apprentices den. Duskpaw was gone, probably on Dawn Patrol, but Pinepaw and Featherpaw were in their nests. Jaypaw padded over,"Hi guys!" Featherpaw smiled,"I jut saw Acornfur get out of his nest, you might want to see what he's up to," Jaypaw npdded, and padded into the clearing. Sure enough, Acornfur was there waiting,"Good morning, Jaypaw," Jaypaw smiled,"What are we going to do today?" Acornfur flicked his tail, looking sort of sorry,"Well, I wanted to spend some time with my kits, Doekit and Lilykit. Berrypelt offered to be your step in mentor for a bit, is that okay?" Japaw nodded, glancing at Berrypelt. The pale browm senior warrior was known to be strict, and somtimes mean,"Okay," Jaypaw hesitantlyadded over to Berrypelt. The brown she-cat looked annoyed,"It's about time!" Jaypaw was about to retort, but she knew better,"Sorry," she managed to mew. Berrypelt sighed,"So, what was the last thing Acornfur tought you?" Jaypaw thought for a moment, the memories of her first outing as an apprentice zooming back to her,"Well, he gave me a tour of the territory," Berrypelt nodded, her amber gaze still stern,"Today we're going to hunt. Follow me, we're going to Fallen Tree," Jaypaw followed her step in mentor, a bit nervous. Berrypelt and Jaypaw soon arrived. Berrypelt started to explain the hunters crouch,"Keep your paws light, and your weight on your haunches for an extra powerful jump," she continued,"Your tail should be still, no more than a mouse length off the ground, and your belly fur should just be brushing the ground," Berrypelt dropped into a perfect hunters crouch,"Now you try," she mewed gesturing with her tail. Jaypaw nodded, and hesitantly displayed her hunters crouch. She almost had in perfect, though her weight was spread out evenly across her body. Berrypelt stepped in,"Shift your weight to your haunches, not spread evenly," she nosed Jaypaw gently. Jaypaw noticed that she had been wrong about Berrypelt! She wasn't strict or mean! That was just a myth among apprentices. She sighed to herself, feeling her weight shift. Berrypelt purred,"Perfect! Now try stalking forward. Keep your pawsteps smooth and stealthy, and remember, don't swish your tail," Jaypaw stalked forward, and if her tail did swish, she stopped and corrected herself. After a few perfect hunter's crouches, Jaypaw was ready to catch prey. Berrypelt insticted,"Go for that mouse in the ferns over there," she indicated with her tail,"remember what I've taught you," Jaypaw nodded, silently creeping towards the clump of ferns. Her hunter's crouch was flawless, keeping her hidden... ~Liv

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Solid Collection from an Underappreciated Author

    McInerney has a rare gift to make the unlikeable impossible not to root for in the end. Although I wouldn't personally befriend a lot of these characters, the author is so gifted that I can't help but want them to succeed or remove themselves from the precarious positions they find themselves in from time to time - you just feel like they deserve another chance and that they won't waste it (even though they probably will).

    This collection spans his entire career and while some of the stories seem to drag or cover the same ground, it is still a solid collection. I also found it interesting to see his writing progress and some of these stories evolve into longer (and better) pieces in other forms. I recommend this to those who love short stories and those who like McInerney. If neither if these applies, read "Bright Lights, Big City" or "The Good Life" instead and explore this later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A summary of the twelve new stories

    Jay McInerney writes about American society, mostly situated in the South. To a certain degree it reads like the gossip columns in a newspaper.
    When you read this collection of twelve short stories, you're under the impression that McInerney has a pessimistic outlook on marriage.
    He writes about several aspects of American social life. Although Americans banished aristocracy long before the Revolution, wealthy families - mostly in the South - have the pretensions and a way of social life similar to European nobility. "The Debutante's Return" and "The Last Bachelor" are a good example of that.

    I would like to introduce the new short stories one by one.

    "Sleeping With Pigs"

    A married couple - belonging to the High Society - divide their time between New-York City and a farm in Tennessee. The wife likes to sleep with a pig between her and her husband.

    " I Love You, Honey."

    A man is unfaithful to his wife. She takes revenge on him in a sophisticated but cruel way.

    "The Madonna Of Turkey Season "

    Four brothers lost their parents and each year at Thanksgivings Day, they invite all kinds of women at the table: girlfriends and acquaintances or just a girl that happened to be in the neighborhood.

    "Everything's Lost"

    Sabrina wants to throw a surprise party for her boyfriend. But she's afraid that she won't be able to keep it a secret, now that he suddenly decides to stay at home most of the time.

    "Invisible Fences."

    A man wakes up around one o'clock in the morning. He goes to the kitchen for a beer and a cigarette. He hears strange noises coming from the living room; his wife lies in the arms of another man.

    "The March"

    During a march against war with Iraq, two old lovers meet each other. After a while the peaceful march gradually turns into violence.

    "Summary Judgement."

    A gossip-like story about very wealthy Americans and European aristocracy.

    "The Waiter"

    America and Europe Again.

    "Penelope On The Pond"

    The mistress of a man who's running for President is temporarily tucked away in a house near a pond. He promises that when everything is back to normal, he will return to her. How long will she have to wait?

    "Putting Daisy Down"

    The oldest word: love
    The oldest crime: adultery
    By the way, Daisy is the name of a cat.

    "The Debutante's Return"

    Present and past of a wealthy Southern family.

    "The Last Of The Bachelors"

    A marriage in the South. It's a description of social life rather than a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1