Customer Reviews for

How It Ends

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    How It Ends is a beautiful story. I took it on vacation with me

    How It Ends is a beautiful story. I took it on vacation with me and one evening, after everyone else had turned in, I sat curled up on the couch and read most of the book in one sitting as a thunderstorm raged outside. By the time I got to the last page, my eyes had welled with tears, and I just sat pondering the book for a while before I could even consider trying to sleep. I love when a book can touch your heart so strongly.  The story alternates between two different points of view, Hanna's and Helen's. While Hanna is concerned with mundane, every day things and getting Seth to notice her, Helen is far more worried about death and leaving Hanna with lies, and then as Helen declines, the story of her youth begins. Though many teens may feel that they can relate better to Hanna, How It Ends is truly Helen's story, and how it affects Hanna and forces her to grow from a childish, flighty girl who acts on stupid whims into a thoughtful young woman. Wonderfully written.           

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great for everyone

    Laura Wiess is an exceptional author who continues to amaze with her books. This book titled How it Ends is her third book.

    Hanna is the main character. She lives in a rural area. Her next door neighbors have known her since she was little. Hanna refers to them as Grandma Helen and Grandpa Lon, even though they have no relation to her. As a little girl Hanna would constantly be over their house, and since they never had any children, they fell in love with her. "Grandma" always took Hanna under her wing and told her about her own life when she was little. She showed Hanna around the forest and even educated her about the forest animals. Hanna always loved the animals and was very worried about animals dying.

    Soon enough, she is a teenager going through her high school years. She hardly vists Grandma Helen and Grandpa anymore. She is infatuated with a boy named Seth, who is very popular and into girls that do not fit her description. Evenso, Hanna is determined to make Seth her boyfriend. She goes the long way to classes just to sneak a glimpse of him, and even tries to become friends with some of his friends just to get closer to him.

    As her life is continually getting bombarded with feelings of lust and love, she is becoming the biggest flirt in school. Grandma Helen is so upset that Hanna will not even come over for a small bit of time and she is afraid that she is not seeing her grow up, or she is growing up too quickly. Helen is constantly wanting to tell her something important, but she seems afraid to tell Hanna. As the old woman continues to get older and more sick from old age, she thinks she will never get a chance to tell Hanna the story she desperately wants her to know.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Sns

    Nook sex friken sucks so bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Hey guys

    If your cristian, go to jesus walter res one. We have a bible club that I'm trying to start, and we can pray for people. Please come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Maddi

    Im in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Jay

    I have a Nook Simple Touch. Therefore, l can NOT report anything. But, my grandma has a Nook HD, and l can from that. After you report anything, will it send you anything after that? Like an e-mail or notification?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Shaun

    Anyone can have nook se.x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Heres a poem for perverts

    YO IS A UGLY FAG MUTANT COW HIPPO WITH NO WEENIE AND FAG FAG FAG ASS ASS ULY FAGS PERVERT HIPPO DISGUSTING MUTANT HIPPO COW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Sns

    I hate this nook sex crap and would like to help. my name is Derpy-Mc-Derpinson.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Samantha

    I suggest that u leave here right know and stop that crap right NOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Sadie

    Tell me if you find anything, okay?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    To Samantha and Sadie

    Thank you so much my fist two members!!!!!! Remember, your duties are find nook s.e.x., stop it, and recrute new members. We need to build the SNS together!-Cassy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Must Read

    Must read book . Powerful and Deep. You fall in love with the characters and you feel so connected and really come too love them . Amazing book . I cried during this read . If you are reading this review and thinking about purchasing it . Please do ! I loved most how it soo real life .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Amazing

    Loved this story! Fell more and more in love with the characters as the story went on. This will remain on my favorites list to be read again and again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!

    This book was so good!!! I finished it in one day because I could not put it down! It made me tear up a couple of times too. It's a beautifully written book. I think my mom would even love this book. It's for everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Awesome!

    Its an awesome book great read i could read it again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    Captivating...a book every Mother, Daughter and Grandmother should read!

    This was the first book I have read by author Laura Wiess... I can't wait to read her other books! This is probably one of the best books I have read for a very long time, I can only compare the emotional response I had to it to be greater than when I read "The Notebook" by Nicholas Sparks. I literally had to put the book down because I couldn't see through the tears. A gripping story women of every age can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great love story that brought me to tears on more than one occasion.

    I had started reading this one quite a while ago and had put it down because I just wasn't that into it. However I am so glad that I picked it back up. Once I got into it the story just starts going and you are taken away with it.

    The main character are Hanna and Helen. Hanna is a teenager who is dealing with things most teenage girls deal with. Helen is dealing with aging and the ravages that can have on the body. The story follows the two through their own issues and shows us how their relationship has shaped them.

    This is as much a love story as it is a coming of age story. While I liked Hanna I didn't really connect with her. Even though her life seems pretty typical for a teenage girl I was not and never have been typical. So I could understand what she was going through, but I couldn't relate because I've never really been in her shoes.

    I loved the audio book that Hanna and Helen listened to together. To me that was where the real story took place. The audio book has all the makings of a great story. Love, sacrifice, pain, suffering, and friendship. It was truly a story that examined the human condition in its many many forms.

    It was a bit odd to read a story that was being read in a different story, it was an interesting idea and I think Weiss pulled it off without making it weird or distracting.

    Hanna and Helen were very well developed. Helen's story really pulled at my heart strings and I cried on multiple occasions. There were a few points that I was close to sobbing. I really got lost in this book and just let myself become absorbed completely by the story.

    This was a great book. I haven't cried this hard reading a book in quite a while. I will absolutely be picking up more of Weiss' work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A CRYING HEART

    This book was one of the best fictional stories that I'VE ever read.The story had my attention from begining to end. And i must say the book it's just good for teen reading but adult reading as well. It was so easy to relate to Hanna wanting the guy to like you so much that you make certain sacrifice's that you thought you would never do! And I must have cried so hard as if I was listening the audiobook instead of reading the story. I never thought for one moment that it was going to end the way it did! I can't wait to read "Such a pretty girl". I reflect o the story and my Heart is still CRYING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Just Blinded Book Reviews

    Laura Wiess' books have always had the ability to leave me shocked, speechless, and in love, but How it Ends went above and beyond anything I could've ever expected from her. When I first read the summary of her newest book I thought, "This doesn't sound like Laura Wiess at all to me," but this maybe the best book she's ever written.

    I've never read a book before that moved me so emotionally and has made me cry that hard. Seriously, I had to put the book down because I couldn't see and just cry into my pillow. And it wasn't the pretty kind of crying, it was the nasty blubbering kind. I've said it before: I don't cry. At least, not while reading books. But, damn, Laura Wiess got me with this one. I don't know what it is, but she really knows how to move me with her novels.

    And I must say that she did a splendid job of telling a story within a story. Which sounds very difficult--and it must have been--and confusing, but it wasn't. Both stories flowed together so effortlessly that it seemed only natural for the book to be told that way. There wasn't a story that I liked better than the other because both had such important things to tell the reader about the characters.

    Though Hanna definitely grated on the nerves a little, she was so dumb when it came to boys. And I'm saying that as nicely as possible. She could never see who the better guy was and repeatedly picked the one who was mean and careless about her feelings.

    I can't even begin to touch on the subject of Hanna and Helen's relationship though. Helen was such a wonderful woman, even if she did lie to Hanna about her past but she did it with the best intentions. And I was mad with Hanna for ignoring her, and out-growing her, and for cutting their "connection". It wasn't deserved. Though, I was happy that they were able to mend their relationship while it lasted.

    Laura Wiess did an amazing job on this book. Such a Pretty Girl will always be close to my heart but How it Ends may have beat it for my favorite book. I have not been able to stop thinking about since I finished and I don't think I ever will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3