Customer Reviews for

How Lucky You Are

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

I couldn't put this book down once I started reading it. I even read late into the night and finally finished it before work this morning.

The main character, Waverly is a woman we can all relate to. She feels inferior to her friends, that she hasn't "grown up" yet, ...
I couldn't put this book down once I started reading it. I even read late into the night and finally finished it before work this morning.

The main character, Waverly is a woman we can all relate to. She feels inferior to her friends, that she hasn't "grown up" yet, and when she gets so stressed out she hides from the issue (like bills). One of her friends is a woman from a wealthy family, whom she is jealous of the money and the beauty. Then her other friend marries a doctor, has a child and settles down in the suburbs. Wavery is sinking under a mountain of debt and she can't seem to appreciate what she does have.

When things start coming apart for her friends, she realizes what she nearly lost. She works on her getting own life together, even as she is helping her girlfriends. This struck me as very realistic. Our lives aren't running a single story-line, we have as many things pulling at us as we allow. Friends, family, work, children, even school. All that goes on simultaneously and the author did a fantastic job capturing that.

Yes another 5 star review. I've had a very lucky week.

posted by Lilac_Wolf on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Awful

This book is just terrible. The characters are shallow; the story is boring and the storytelling is laborious.

posted by 6540688 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    I couldn't put this book down once I started reading it. I even read late into the night and finally finished it before work this morning.

    The main character, Waverly is a woman we can all relate to. She feels inferior to her friends, that she hasn't "grown up" yet, and when she gets so stressed out she hides from the issue (like bills). One of her friends is a woman from a wealthy family, whom she is jealous of the money and the beauty. Then her other friend marries a doctor, has a child and settles down in the suburbs. Wavery is sinking under a mountain of debt and she can't seem to appreciate what she does have.

    When things start coming apart for her friends, she realizes what she nearly lost. She works on her getting own life together, even as she is helping her girlfriends. This struck me as very realistic. Our lives aren't running a single story-line, we have as many things pulling at us as we allow. Friends, family, work, children, even school. All that goes on simultaneously and the author did a fantastic job capturing that.

    Yes another 5 star review. I've had a very lucky week.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    You Are Your Friend's Keeper.  I was surprised by how much I lik

    You Are Your Friend's Keeper.  I was surprised by how much I liked this book.  I think it was the writing style.  The different sad situations these 3 friends are in should be kind of a downer, yet the book felt like I was watching a movie about characters I really cared about and rooted for.  It was well-written, thought-provoking and made me want to read more of her books in the future.  

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A true look at friendship!

    Waverly owns a sweet little bakery, but is secretly struggling to not lose everything. Here she is at 35 trying not to lose her business, her house and not able to share the information with anyone. She struggles with feeling like a failure—she and her long term boyfriend aren’t even married. Her best friends have it so together. Amy is just as sweet as they come and is married to a doctor, lives in the ‘white picket fence’ house on a cul-de-sac and has an adorable little girl, Emma. Kate is a knock-out with the world at her feet. Born into wealth and power, gave up her job as a successful travel writer to marry the man of her dreams Brendan. Not only is Brendan the man of Kate’s dreams he is running for governor of Virginia—how is that for picture perfect?

    Waverly is the anchor of their friendship. She begins to see a slow unraveling of their friendship, Waverly puts herself out there crossing some friendship lines and what she finds makes her stop and realize how lucky she is. Realizing looking at someone’s life from the outside you can assume they are the lucky ones, but you don’t really know what goes on behind closed doors—not even your best friends. How Lucky You Are, is a testament to the power of friendship and a story of finding happiness is being true to yourself and not living the ‘life’ others think you should.

    How Lucky You Are is read through the eyes of Waverly. I’ll be honest and really wasn’t sure about this book. It’s a new author and I’ve read so many books on friendship lately, I just wasn’t really excited. What a mistake that was! I loved this book! I believe the topics in the novel are relevant! This looked at friendship in a way I believe is so real, not we tell each other everything—but real. We want our friends to think we have it together. We open up to each other this much, but maybe not all the way. Keeping part of ourselves hidden. And the power of getting real.

    I related to Waverly in a way that surprised me. I’m very open and honest with my husband, whereas Waverly holds back from her boyfriend, Larry. Where I connected with her was some of those underlying feelings she faces when dealing with the effects of having lost her parents. I know since losing my mom there is a huge part of myself I keep very guarded with other women. I don’t want to open myself up to lose someone again. I really got that about her and could see the issues it causes her. The ending leaves itself open to come back and see these characters again (hint, hint Kristyn!).

    I am definitely recommending How Lucky You Are! I will also be waiting to see what Kristyn Kusek Lewis writes next.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Awful

    This book is just terrible. The characters are shallow; the story is boring and the storytelling is laborious.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Good read

    On the whole, I enjoyed this book, although I thought the protoganist spent too much time worrying about her friends rather than herself. She has financial troubles and doesn't tell her partner, even though he shares the house with her. This is one of those stories where everyone else's life looks great from the outside, until you find out the truth.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Loved, loved this book. An inside view to female friendships and

    Loved, loved this book. An inside view to female friendships and how we sometimes think the "grass is greener on the other side".

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a phenomenal piece of chic lit. The characters are well

    This is a phenomenal piece of chic lit. The characters are well developed and worthy of the reader's investment in reading further.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Nicely written!

    Happy ending book! Sooo many aren't these days! Pleasure to read.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Jjjs

    Hhjh

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a phenomenal book about friendship. The writing is very

    This is a phenomenal book about friendship. The writing is very well done. The characters are all very interesting and the plot line is top notch.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    A Great Debut

    I really enjoyed this book. The story is an important issue that needs more attention. I will definetely look for more from this author.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    To Mist

    I can give you really wet and juicy nook sex. Meet me at "tera" res one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Jake

    Omg no I'm not going to have nook se.x with someone who sucks at it and doesn't even try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rachel Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Rachel
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I still haven’t recovered from reading this book.

    And I mean that in the nicest most complimentary way possible.

    It’s one of those books that haunts you, enchants you, grips your heart, your soul, your mind, until finally when the pages stop clicking, you can do nothing save stare at the wall for a good ten minutes and wonder what the heck just happened.

    This is a new author to me. I didn’t really know what to expect. Her writing has been compared to Emily Giffin, who I love, so I kind of knew what to expect as far as content, but wow was I blown away. It exceeded my expectations and will be a book that I recommend for years to come.

    We follow loveable bakery owner Waverly. She has lived with her boyfriend for years, content with her life, except she has a secret–debt. And she hasn’t told her wonderfully loyal and secure boyfriend, something that hangs over their relationship the entire book.

    Amy, one of Waverlys best friends, appears to have the perfect little subdivision life. A husband, a perfect house, a dog, and a way too optimistic attitude, but everything is not always as it seems, she too has a secret.

    And finally, we meet Kate. Beautiful, rich, Kate. The girl you looked up to in high school that wasn’t necessarily mean to you but above you, if you get what I mean. She’s arrogant, self assured, but also fiercely loyal. On the outside she’s perfect, a soon to be politicians wife, beautiful, rich, I mean really what else could you want?

    The book is given through Waverlys point of view. She has financial struggles of her own but refuses to rely on anyone. Her boyfriend is amazing, yet she doesn’t want to add stress to his life, part of this is that she has major trust issues. Her parents died leaving her an orphan at a young age and she’s left with nothing. She wants to make it on her own and frankly gets tired hearing of her friend Kate complain about her perfect life. To make matters worse, her other best friend Amy has suddenly shut down, not to mention the fact that mysterious bruises have started appearing on her person.

    This book gets women. It understands the typical mindset we have when looking at other peoples lives. “If only I had that job, if only I had that much money, if only I had perfect legs.” I mean seriously, she hatches out every single selfish thing any woman has ever thought and lays it across the table.

    Experiencing life is key in this book. Joy, is also key. How can you fully live life or experience it for that matter when you are constantly living up to false expectations you’ve given yourself? Life is not always as it seems and the grass is not always greener on the other side.

    Although this is not my typical cup of tea, I found myself staring cross eyed at my kindle until it was finished.

    It was a beautiful, heartfelt masterpiece. If Miss Lewis continues to write such emotional stories, she will soon be a household name. You’ve heard it here folks!

    The book did contain some language , no sex, and some kissing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Memorable Characters, Quick Read

    This book started one way and went into an unexpected direction that really caused you to relate to and care about the characters. We have all either been through or know someone who has gone through these situations. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Great

    Great book! I really enjoyed reading it! The Plot and characters were great! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Surprised at how much I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Bad

    Very dujj

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great read

    Interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    very boring, not much story and I was glad to be done with this

    very boring, not much story and I was glad to be done with this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3