Customer Reviews for

How Lucky You Are

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

I couldn't put this book down once I started reading it. I even read late into the night and finally finished it before work this morning.

The main character, Waverly is a woman we can all relate to. She feels inferior to her friends, that she hasn't "grown up" yet, ...
I couldn't put this book down once I started reading it. I even read late into the night and finally finished it before work this morning.

The main character, Waverly is a woman we can all relate to. She feels inferior to her friends, that she hasn't "grown up" yet, and when she gets so stressed out she hides from the issue (like bills). One of her friends is a woman from a wealthy family, whom she is jealous of the money and the beauty. Then her other friend marries a doctor, has a child and settles down in the suburbs. Wavery is sinking under a mountain of debt and she can't seem to appreciate what she does have.

When things start coming apart for her friends, she realizes what she nearly lost. She works on her getting own life together, even as she is helping her girlfriends. This struck me as very realistic. Our lives aren't running a single story-line, we have as many things pulling at us as we allow. Friends, family, work, children, even school. All that goes on simultaneously and the author did a fantastic job capturing that.

Yes another 5 star review. I've had a very lucky week.

posted by Lilac_Wolf on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Awful

This book is just terrible. The characters are shallow; the story is boring and the storytelling is laborious.

posted by 6540688 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    You Are Your Friend's Keeper.  I was surprised by how much I lik

    You Are Your Friend's Keeper.  I was surprised by how much I liked this book.  I think it was the writing style.  The different sad situations these 3 friends are in should be kind of a downer, yet the book felt like I was watching a movie about characters I really cared about and rooted for.  It was well-written, thought-provoking and made me want to read more of her books in the future.  

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Loved, loved this book. An inside view to female friendships and

    Loved, loved this book. An inside view to female friendships and how we sometimes think the "grass is greener on the other side".

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Nicely written!

    Happy ending book! Sooo many aren't these days! Pleasure to read.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Jjjs

    Hhjh

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rachel Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Rachel
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I still haven’t recovered from reading this book.

    And I mean that in the nicest most complimentary way possible.

    It’s one of those books that haunts you, enchants you, grips your heart, your soul, your mind, until finally when the pages stop clicking, you can do nothing save stare at the wall for a good ten minutes and wonder what the heck just happened.

    This is a new author to me. I didn’t really know what to expect. Her writing has been compared to Emily Giffin, who I love, so I kind of knew what to expect as far as content, but wow was I blown away. It exceeded my expectations and will be a book that I recommend for years to come.

    We follow loveable bakery owner Waverly. She has lived with her boyfriend for years, content with her life, except she has a secret–debt. And she hasn’t told her wonderfully loyal and secure boyfriend, something that hangs over their relationship the entire book.

    Amy, one of Waverlys best friends, appears to have the perfect little subdivision life. A husband, a perfect house, a dog, and a way too optimistic attitude, but everything is not always as it seems, she too has a secret.

    And finally, we meet Kate. Beautiful, rich, Kate. The girl you looked up to in high school that wasn’t necessarily mean to you but above you, if you get what I mean. She’s arrogant, self assured, but also fiercely loyal. On the outside she’s perfect, a soon to be politicians wife, beautiful, rich, I mean really what else could you want?

    The book is given through Waverlys point of view. She has financial struggles of her own but refuses to rely on anyone. Her boyfriend is amazing, yet she doesn’t want to add stress to his life, part of this is that she has major trust issues. Her parents died leaving her an orphan at a young age and she’s left with nothing. She wants to make it on her own and frankly gets tired hearing of her friend Kate complain about her perfect life. To make matters worse, her other best friend Amy has suddenly shut down, not to mention the fact that mysterious bruises have started appearing on her person.

    This book gets women. It understands the typical mindset we have when looking at other peoples lives. “If only I had that job, if only I had that much money, if only I had perfect legs.” I mean seriously, she hatches out every single selfish thing any woman has ever thought and lays it across the table.

    Experiencing life is key in this book. Joy, is also key. How can you fully live life or experience it for that matter when you are constantly living up to false expectations you’ve given yourself? Life is not always as it seems and the grass is not always greener on the other side.

    Although this is not my typical cup of tea, I found myself staring cross eyed at my kindle until it was finished.

    It was a beautiful, heartfelt masterpiece. If Miss Lewis continues to write such emotional stories, she will soon be a household name. You’ve heard it here folks!

    The book did contain some language , no sex, and some kissing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Memorable Characters, Quick Read

    This book started one way and went into an unexpected direction that really caused you to relate to and care about the characters. We have all either been through or know someone who has gone through these situations. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Surprised at how much I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1