Customer Reviews for

How Miss Rutherford Got Her Groove Back

Average Rating 3.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Sophie Barnes is my new favorite author!

I simply loved this book! We've come a long way in this genre and this is certainly not your granny's romance novel. It's well written and easy to follow, with just the right combination or romance, adventure and intrigue, without the overly ornate descriptions so typic...
I simply loved this book! We've come a long way in this genre and this is certainly not your granny's romance novel. It's well written and easy to follow, with just the right combination or romance, adventure and intrigue, without the overly ornate descriptions so typical of this genre(which eventually make me skip a few pages ahead just to return to the plot). The well defined characters simply come alive and, as the story unfolds, you suffer and rejoice with each of them as you come to understand what makes them tick and cheer them on in their quest for love, adventure and a sense of purpose. The plot line is very well laid out and keeps the story flowing while maintaining the reader's interest throughout. I particularly liked the author's writing style. The book is sweet, interesting, charming and life/love affirming. I truly enjoyed this book and I highly recommend it to anyone who still believes in chivalry and romance. I have the e-book version, but will be ordering the paperback in February when it comes out. This book is worth keeping! Like the rare delicacy that it is, I would enjoy reading/savoring it again and again. I simply can not wait until the Sophie Barnes' next book comes out! I hope she turns this into a series.

posted by Chris_Gabriel on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Sweet, but too flawed with anachronisms

It bothers me when historical novel authors make obvious errors. In this book's first chapter, set in 1811, a character enthuses over Tchaikovky's "Sleeping Beauty". Really? The same Tchaikovsky who wasn't born until 1840?

There are numerous other examples of sloppy ...
It bothers me when historical novel authors make obvious errors. In this book's first chapter, set in 1811, a character enthuses over Tchaikovky's "Sleeping Beauty". Really? The same Tchaikovsky who wasn't born until 1840?

There are numerous other examples of sloppy writing and sloppy editing. A character reads "Sense and Sensibility" several months before it is actually published; phrases such as "a brand new copy", a meal that includes pound cake (instead of sponge cake) -- all of this takes away from what is otherwise a sweet (if not undommon) story line with enjoyable characters.

posted by the_romance_guy on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Sophie Barnes is my new favorite author!

    I simply loved this book! We've come a long way in this genre and this is certainly not your granny's romance novel. It's well written and easy to follow, with just the right combination or romance, adventure and intrigue, without the overly ornate descriptions so typical of this genre(which eventually make me skip a few pages ahead just to return to the plot). The well defined characters simply come alive and, as the story unfolds, you suffer and rejoice with each of them as you come to understand what makes them tick and cheer them on in their quest for love, adventure and a sense of purpose. The plot line is very well laid out and keeps the story flowing while maintaining the reader's interest throughout. I particularly liked the author's writing style. The book is sweet, interesting, charming and life/love affirming. I truly enjoyed this book and I highly recommend it to anyone who still believes in chivalry and romance. I have the e-book version, but will be ordering the paperback in February when it comes out. This book is worth keeping! Like the rare delicacy that it is, I would enjoy reading/savoring it again and again. I simply can not wait until the Sophie Barnes' next book comes out! I hope she turns this into a series.

    68 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Charming!

    If you love a charming heroine who deserves to find happiness and a brooding hero in a desperate need of a hug, then this is the book for you. How Miss Rutherford Got Her Groove Back is such an enjoyable read, packed with humor and a plot that will keep you rooting for the hero and heroine while still keeping you guessing. I loved this book and will definitely be recommending it to others.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Two very enthusiastic thumbs up

    Poor Miss Rutherford has had her heart broken, but as always there's a handsome man who comes to her rescue. He has his own problems - a dark secret that threatens to bring scandal upon his name and family. Sweeping us inside the dazzling ballrooms of the Regency period, this is a story that's sure to entice. I love the author's light hearted dialogue coupled with a close look at what makes each character tick. I'm already looking forward to Miss. Barnes' following books =)

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Delightful

    HOW MISS RUTHERFORD GOT HER GROOVE BACK will sweep you off your feet, transporting you to an era of chivalry and etiquette - a time when the slightest mishap could ruin a woman's reputation forever. What a delightful read! Filled with humor, a fast paced plot and well developed characters, comes a story that you're sure to enjoy curling up to.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Quite good! Funny and sweet, this book is simply satisfying. The story line is straight forward and easy to follow, the characters are charming and the writing flows smoothly from beginning to end.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great read

    Just when you think "awe well this story is going to be predictable" you are thown into some lovely twist and turns. Read it in a day. Couldn't put it down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great story

    Was very impressed. Was like reading one of Jane Austin's novels. Over 200 pages that kept me entertained throughout. I hated to see the story end.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    This was a great book!!!!!! I highly recommend.

    I really enjoyed reading this book and i highly recommend if you like books that are very romantic,a little bit humorous, and with a lot of suspnse in certain areas. With a surprising twist, it leads to most awesome and happy ending!
    This book should get A+!!!!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Fun, sweet and well paced

    This is a well written period piece. The characters are nicely defined, believable and fun. I enjoyed the book very much and look forward to more works from Ms. Barnes.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Recommend!

    I loved the characters - it was a fun read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Great

    Well written and a great love story

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Wonderful read

    This was a very enjoyable and easy book to read. The chapters flowed nicely and the characters were likeable. Overall, it was a good book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    This book was a joy to read! It was fast paced and I really enj

    This book was a joy to read! It was fast paced and I really enjoyed every page! It was filled with people you'd like to know and a hero you'd "LOVE" to know!
    The town where this took place sounds like a great place to live and great neighbors too! I have just discovered this author but won't soon forget her name. I did think the name out of sync with the time it took place but hey--that's poetic license!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    And boy did she ever..... Very well written. Fun, easy read and

    And boy did she ever..... Very well written. Fun, easy read and could not get enough of it. Cannot wait for her next book to come out. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Fun read

    Loved the characters, depth was there too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    great story

    I was surprised how good this
    Book was. Was a cute and fun story to read. I would recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Fg

    Fg

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Captivating

    I enjoyed this book. It was funny and entertaining. I would recommend this book to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Sara to ryan

    Hey im blocked out again move to this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Kev

    Oh my god......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3