Customer Reviews for

How Not to Die: Surprising Lessons on Living Longer, Safer, and Healthier from America's Favorite Medical Examiner

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    How Not to Avoid This Book

    Excellent and informative. I could not avoid reading this book. Dr. G writes just the way she talks on TV. She's matter-of-fact about taking care of yourself and shows a wonderful sense of humor in spite of her serious job. If you enjoy this type of book, another book that will enlighten you big time is in "I Also Recommend".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Very good book

    This was a very interesting and informative book. Being an RN, I was already aware of most of the information in the book, but it was still interesting to read the different case studies she talks about. Would be good for a lay person with no medical backround. Very easy to read and understand when she is talking about anything medical or dealing with the body.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    Anamoty student in store for medical examination

    Dr.G is the reason im getting into the medical field. I have always had an interest in health and medicine but from watching her shows and this book, it made me want to even more get involved in the medical field. Particularly in medical examination. Everyone should read this book for good advice on health and well being. Dr.G truly is an inspiration and my future is headed in the direction she is and i can only hope to one day be as successful, well known and help as many families as she has.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    Awesome and Informative Book from an Amazing Doctor!

    As a nursing student, I am very interested in medicine, health, and quality of life issues. As I think everybody should - life would be much better for everyone! The concepts are very basic, but Dr. G does an amazing job of explaining medical terms and conditions for those who may have little knowledge of health - and for those of us who do know a little something, sometimes it can get repetitive, BUT repetition is the best possible thing for the issues in the book!<BR/>I think EVERYONE should read this and please, take it seriously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Its okay - informative, but awkward

    I like the premise, but the delivery could be better. This book would be more interesting for those not in the medical profession, as there are lots of lengthy explanations of medical terms and pathology that get boring for those who already have some medical training or knowledge. That being said, this makes it much easier for the average reader to understand, and the explanations are well written and simple. Perhaps it is the nook formatting that confuses the reader...some of the text boxes, which would likely appear in the margins on paper, wind up being broken and randomly inserted into the text of the book, making it rather confusing to read. I would enjoy this book more if I were able to skip the lengthy medical explanations and get right to the message- how not to die.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    I love this book.......can hardly put it down....

    I will read it again when finished and have given all 3 of my grown children one. It is for everyone from teenager up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    Waiting For Another!

    Very heartwarming to know that someone in this profession is so compassionate and caring about people even after they die! Since I had met her in person, I was interested to read her observations. It was so enlightening that I am anxious for her to write another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2