Customer Reviews for

How Not to Look Old: Fast and Effortless Ways to Look 10 Years Younger, 10 Pounds Lighter, 10 Times Better

Average Rating 3.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Truly a 5 STAR BOOK / Any lesser rating missed the point!

This book is right on target, with options for women with an average budget and unlimited ones as well. I don't know how someone could think otherwise unless they skipped half the pages! This book lists recommended brand names and prices, even the exact colors of inex...
This book is right on target, with options for women with an average budget and unlimited ones as well. I don't know how someone could think otherwise unless they skipped half the pages! This book lists recommended brand names and prices, even the exact colors of inexpensive drug store cosmetics, and other beauty products 'hair and skin care' along with the high end department store brands. This book IS for virtually every woman - no, if your on food stamps, save your money, but this truly does not cater to the rich and famous - Why would they need this book anyway, they know the secrets! This is for us savvy women who 'get it' about style and want to keep up with all that is current without looking trendy, even those looking for affordable alternatives. This is not meant to appeal to the sad women who call themselves 'real' to compensate for their insecurities. This book deserves a FIVE star rating. I've checked out similar books but never bought them either because they weren't on target or because they were unrealistic. This book works for all women who understand and strive towards style and being their best, whether in casual situations or formal affairs - high maintenance or 'on the go' but w/style! It isn't about unlimited wealth, although many of the secrets of the 'rich and famous' are REVEALED, with great affordable alternatives for us! Also included are pros and cons of various treatments. This is not about the author's personal opinions, this is just SOUND ACCURATE advice on telling it the way it is. Great photos communicate the 'do's' and 'don'ts' of style. Even if most of this is common sense to your personal style and battle with aging, it's a great relief to read that you're on the right track, and I'm certain you'll STILL find some great worthwhile tips in the actual exact brand product recommendations in the back of each section, everything from lipstick, foundation and mascara to the right pantyhose or tights. At the cost of a few magazines, you can't go wrong! It's a reference book you'll refer to often if you want to be all you can be at any age! If you care about yourself, your appearance, wear any make-up at all, and love style, then buy this book, you'll be glad you did!

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Oprah synopsis better

I bought this book after reading an article in the 1/08 Oprah magazine. Thought the article was great, with some good practical advice. Frankly, I didn't pick up much more from the book. I did try some of the recommended cosmetics, etc. and was disappointed. Seems the...
I bought this book after reading an article in the 1/08 Oprah magazine. Thought the article was great, with some good practical advice. Frankly, I didn't pick up much more from the book. I did try some of the recommended cosmetics, etc. and was disappointed. Seems they were more appropriate for someone of the author's light coloring. Also, a big pet peeve of mine and why I stopped subscribing to More magazine (where the author writes a fashion column): the book seems to be geared to women in their 40's and early 50's who are no bigger than a size 8, and who live in large metropolitan areas. Doesn't the fashion/beauty industry realize that there's a vast market of women who are 50+, 'normal' sized, living in towns and cities with populations under 1 million?

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Truly a 5 STAR BOOK / Any lesser rating missed the point!

    This book is right on target, with options for women with an average budget and unlimited ones as well. I don't know how someone could think otherwise unless they skipped half the pages! This book lists recommended brand names and prices, even the exact colors of inexpensive drug store cosmetics, and other beauty products 'hair and skin care' along with the high end department store brands. This book IS for virtually every woman - no, if your on food stamps, save your money, but this truly does not cater to the rich and famous - Why would they need this book anyway, they know the secrets! This is for us savvy women who 'get it' about style and want to keep up with all that is current without looking trendy, even those looking for affordable alternatives. This is not meant to appeal to the sad women who call themselves 'real' to compensate for their insecurities. This book deserves a FIVE star rating. I've checked out similar books but never bought them either because they weren't on target or because they were unrealistic. This book works for all women who understand and strive towards style and being their best, whether in casual situations or formal affairs - high maintenance or 'on the go' but w/style! It isn't about unlimited wealth, although many of the secrets of the 'rich and famous' are REVEALED, with great affordable alternatives for us! Also included are pros and cons of various treatments. This is not about the author's personal opinions, this is just SOUND ACCURATE advice on telling it the way it is. Great photos communicate the 'do's' and 'don'ts' of style. Even if most of this is common sense to your personal style and battle with aging, it's a great relief to read that you're on the right track, and I'm certain you'll STILL find some great worthwhile tips in the actual exact brand product recommendations in the back of each section, everything from lipstick, foundation and mascara to the right pantyhose or tights. At the cost of a few magazines, you can't go wrong! It's a reference book you'll refer to often if you want to be all you can be at any age! If you care about yourself, your appearance, wear any make-up at all, and love style, then buy this book, you'll be glad you did!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    Oprah synopsis better

    I bought this book after reading an article in the 1/08 Oprah magazine. Thought the article was great, with some good practical advice. Frankly, I didn't pick up much more from the book. I did try some of the recommended cosmetics, etc. and was disappointed. Seems they were more appropriate for someone of the author's light coloring. Also, a big pet peeve of mine and why I stopped subscribing to More magazine (where the author writes a fashion column): the book seems to be geared to women in their 40's and early 50's who are no bigger than a size 8, and who live in large metropolitan areas. Doesn't the fashion/beauty industry realize that there's a vast market of women who are 50+, 'normal' sized, living in towns and cities with populations under 1 million?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Opened my sagging pink eyeshadowed eyes

    I appreciate the refreshing unashamed viewpoint that we don't have to be called vain or narcissistic if we want to look our best. This book really opened my eyes on what's available out there. Ms. Krupp makes some excellent suggestions on products and items that really work, and I can stop wasting my money on others I've been using. This book explicitly tells you there are better things available that won't cost thousands of dollars and I believe her when she says she has tried thousands of potions and lotions in her career. I plan to go through my closet and either sell or donate the clothes that really don't flatter me. The book really inspired me to improve how I look without breaking the budget and offered advice for things I can consider doing down the road if I do choose to spend the money. I didn't even know there was a service where I could have a stylist come to my house and go through my closet and give me honest advice. Thank you, Charla, for excellent, specific advice on exactly what to buy and do! I think your book should be categorized under marriage counseling and career counseling too.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    LOOKING younger, and FEELING younger!

    I picked this book up, with optimism, but skepticism. And, after trying some of Krupp's cheats and techniques, I started getting some compliments!! Pick up a copy..no wait, Don't pick up a copy---so I CAN LOOK YOUNGER THAN YOU!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    How not to look like an old mother . . .

    This book had good advice, especially for the old mothers who don't want to look old and don't feel old. It had good advice, some I already knew, but it made me more motivated to follow it. Put this together with her latest book "How to Never Look Fat Again" and you have a good style library with some very useful advice. Give as a gift set to someone celebrating that awful birthday - as long as they have a sense of humor!

    I wish she would come out with a book just for petites!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Looking good, and feeling good about it

    Clear, concise, well-illustrated guide to presenting an image of competence and confidence. It's all too easy to slide into frumpy clothes, particularly when living, as I do, in an area where many locals look as if they're out to wash their car, even when standing in line for a movie on Friday night. I loaned this to my best friend yesterday. She returned it within a couple of hours, saying she liked it so much, she bought her own copy. It's a must-read for us post-50 women who want to look good for our age, without looking desperate or pitiful.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    A guidebook for looking great

    You will go back to this book again and again. It is very helpful to have a range of choices. One can spend lots of money,shop at the local drugstore or follow suggestions that cost nothing. The author writes from years of experience and offers practical advice that is easy to follow. A perfect book to begin a new year.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    Every page had great tips and instructions!

    Don't be afraid of the title -- this is a MUST READ book for any woman over 30! It's target audience is 45+, but at 40 years old, I've implemented only a few chapters so far and look great. Imagine when I get finished! Each suggestion has expensive, mid-range, and affordable options for the same thing. Very easy to read and understand.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Great Information

    This book gives practical advice for everyone who wants to look better after age 40. There are brands to buy, products to avoid, good and not so good styles of clothes to wear. I could go on and on. Love the book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this book cover to cover, then spent 22 hours + tearing through and tossing my 'clutter' of OL clothing, shoes, handbags, jackets with SHOULD PADS!!! -- gave all away to charity. Now it doesn't take me 30 minutes every morning to find something fabulous to wear to work. I look and feel so much better, and so does my wardrobe. Now, what to do with my hair..... a must read for anyone who's fallen off the 'fashion wagon' and needs an update!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    UNLESS YOU ARE SUPER RICH DON'T BOTHER

    I picked up this book after reading some good reviews and I couldn't believe the narrow group of people this book was written for. Unless you live on the island of Manhattan, can afford expensive dermatology treatments, cream that cost over 100 dollars a jar and Channel suits(she assumes everyone owns one) or like to live vicariously through rich pampered Bergdoff women with no foot in reality, save your money and get some nice make-up. I felt belittled that I don't have $100+++++ to pay for a pair of jeans and that my hairstylist and colorist 'gasp' are actually the same person! A big no, no in Charla's book. It's really nice that she is rich, believes in botox and expensive procedures, but why is she selling this book with a cover that pretends to be for us here in the real world?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    I¿ll resist looking old till I¿m 100 ¿ then who cares!

    I am a firm believer that when you like what you see in the mirror, you just feel better! This book is designed to show women over 35 how to look great as the years tick by. I personally will resist looking old until I am at least 100, then who cares! Charla and her expert friends in hair, makeup, skin, teeth, and fashion give us their secrets on wrinkle treatments, makeup (light and creamy), eyebrows, lip color, hair (longer), teeth (whiter), clothes, shoes, and accessories. She also includes some good and bad examples, which are helpful in presenting the overall look. The book addresses our range of tastes from women who are willing to spend a lot of time on themselves to those interested in looking more natural. Also included is what to buy and where to buy it. Great book full of great ideas!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Some good, some WAY OFF!

    There were some good points in this book, like giving up grandma holiday embroidered sweaters, matchey twin sets, and unflattering jeans (go with bootcut). However, some items were WAY off the mark. Everyone should wear pink lipstick and glasses should be wide plastic frames? Seriously? Let's all hop down the merry road to Stepford-Wife land where we not only look the same in our pink lipstick, but can all look like geeks in our plastic framed glasses. Get it to read, but take it with a grain of salt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Good info for every woman

    I was afraid this would be another run of the mill, same old stuff, type of book. But is was refreshingly well done and had enough ideas with advice that I can apply to my life right away without going in for a complete reconstructive body makeover!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    No more pearls, pumps or pantyhose...

    What a wake-up call for this 49 year old Austin gal! Charla is the "go to girl" for fabulous, affordable fashion advice. She covers just about everything in this fun, easy to read book. I always thought that I kept up with fashion trends, but I had slowly crept into an 80's retro look and it wasn't pretty. Despite my best efforts to look good, I didn't have a rule book. Now I have one, this is a GREAT resource for anyone who really wants to put the effort into looking better, painful as it may be. It doesn't require much money, I spent the most on new cosmetics at Walgreen's. I cleaned out my closet of EVERYTHING outdated, worn, or just plain awful. I have a handful of "go to" outfits that look great and I add pieces as my budget allows. I bought a beautful "Y&H" purse at JC Penney (I put back the black bag that I would have picked out before reading the book, old habits are hard to break) and I have gotten more compliments on my $24 bag than anything I've ever owned, no kidding. My jeans now actually fit, no muffin top. Yep, they were hard to find, but well worth the effort. Most people think that I've lost weight, but it's just my updated hair and makeup, plus great fitting clothes, mostly purchased at Kohl's and JC Penney. Thank you Charla, I've never looked or felt better about my appearance and I am looking forward to my 50th birthday in August!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Some good advice, some bad.

    There were parts of this book that I liked very much, most of which had to do with hair, makeup, basic skin care, and wardrobe. But there is a lot more that is more about trying to turn the clock back (all those cosmetic procedures that require a doctor's care) than about looking your best. The latter would be a much better idea, not to mention easier and cheaper. And I still say that a longer A-line skirt (even in denim) does NOT look old if it's the right shape and length for the legs, whereas showing the knees doesn't work for everyone. I think the author would have done better to teach women to feel confident in the wisdom and experience that comes with age and to feel healthy, energetic, and stylish. Sorry, but I'm disappointed. Even if the rest of the world thinks that 'younger' is better, why do we have to buy into that and destroy ourselves in the process?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Practical advise for looking youthful and age appropriate.

    I found this book was full of useful tips that you can apply daily to keep a youthful appearance. It's so easy to fall into a rut of keeping out of date styles because it seems easier. This book points you in the right direction by telling you specific styles that must go and how to update your whole look. I really enjoyed it and will refer to it often!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Information on Options for Looking Good at Any Age

    This book provides high, medium, and low maintenance options for addressing age spots, body flaws and various other areas. She covers things that do not work, work with limited success, and provides products that have been effective. Interesting reading, good points, and relevant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    She's right!

    Having a daughter has helped me dress and "not look" old, but for those who don't, this is the book for you!
    The main message is to keep off the weight and the younger clothes will look attractive on you. Also, do NOT let your hair go grey!
    This author pin points all of the help and gives exact products and places to use for help. She has done her research.
    After all, 60 is the new 40 and we plan to fight aging!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Feel Better!

    My neighbor received this book as a gift. After I browsed it, I went out and bought it for myself. After reading through it, I bought it for two friends. If you are a "boomer" then this book has a lot of relevant information, particularly if you've become a "I don't really care" slacker. It doesn't cost any money to make some of the suggested changes (makeup, wardrobe). I love this book! Very timely, and it's one I will reference more than a few times over the next couple of years. If you think you look old, buy it.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4