Customer Reviews for

How Now Shall We Live?

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Solid help in establishing a Christ-centered worldview

    The dust jacket flap on the inside cover calls this 'A Defining Book For All Christians.' I can't say that I disagree. In this book, Mr. Colson and Mrs. Pearcey attempt to guide the reader in attaining a full Christian worldview. Christianity is much more than what goes on in church on Sunday, but too many Christians don't live like it is. I have heard it said that Christianity is not a religion, but rather a life-style, and that thought dovetails nicely into the themes in this book. The authors tackle issues from abortion to evolution to music to politics and points in between. The main message here is one of hope. Hope that in Christ we can take the gospel into the world without fear of refusal or retribution. Hope that we can make a difference in the culture around us, without being 'pushy' and alienating the people we are trying to help. I highly recommend this book to Christians everywhere, as it does a great job of arming you with solid facts (the last 65 pages contain index notes and a recommended reading list; someone did their homework on this one!) to use when others challenge you while taking Christ to the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Foundation for a Christian Worldview

    Chuck Colson's book helps shed a lot of light on today's society and helps everyone develop a strong worldview. I recommend this book to all who are serious about wanting to know what to believe and what is truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Out of Touch: a Modernist witness in a Postmodern World

    Although a promising study, Colson seems to palm off the thoughts of many others as if they were his own unique contributions. As a popular piece, however, it is adequate for uncovering some issues, but frankly his message is preached to the choir and will be essentially incommunicable to the present postmodern mindset. Read Gene Veith for a better perspective on current apologetic strategy (his book, 'Postmodern Times' is an easy introduction). If you read this book, bear in mind that Colson's arguments most likely will appeal only to those who still buy into the 'modernist' project of attempting to explain and defend the faith using the tools of the Protestant Western European male mindset.... (not that that is necessarily a bad thing, but Colson seems oblivious to his own presuppositions).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    commonly common sense

    Though publisher's weekly thought that Colson and Pearcey were 'Narrow-minded' in this book, evidence seems to point otherwise. When he wrote this book he consulted other scientists, etc... to make his arguments sound, and he did it well. His comparison of Christianity to other theories/world views and their structure, Such as Naturalism with evolution, shows how logical Christianity is, not just some pass-me-down religion taken to be true. I find it sad that so many scientists brush many of these arguments aside as 'unresearched', 'old and out of date idea', or 'not completely true'. It seems our general scientific community is resorting to road blocks or theories even more 'bizarre' than a personal Savior, when in fact, science supports and upholds the basis of Christianity. If your serious about your faith, or want to know more about this area that influences every aspect of our lives, (or if your not, for that matter) then get this book. If you're going to be narrow-minded and convicted, you need a basis behind it, this book is a strong starting point. It is thoughtful, researched, logical, and provocative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2000

    Christian Apologetic Classic

    Colson and Pearcey cover a myriad of subjects related to one's worldview and demonstrate how that effects every area of life. It shapes what a person thinks and how they behave. In clear and concise fashion the authors lay the framework for a Christian worldview beginning with three basic questions: (1) Where did I come from?, (2) What went wrong?, and (3) What is the solution? The authors compare the answers that science, evolution, The New Age, psychology, philosophy and political science give to those of Christianity. Along the way they interject personal, real-life stories to illustrate the points being made. The authors show that the Judeo/Christian belief system not only answers all three of life's fundamental questions adequately, but more importantly, that it does so in a fashion consistent with reality. A must read book for those who are looking for ways in which to answer the skeptic and provide evidence to the truth seeker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    Wakeup Darwinists

    Colson explains so clearly how rational the Christian worldview is and the lie of Darwinism (naturalism) that is being shoved down our childrens throats in the public school systems. How great it is to know that there is a Creator, because of EVIDENCE! not some bankrupt philosiphy as Darwinism is. I hope people the world over will consider truth based on EVIDENCE!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    'Not Original, Its been Done Before'

    This could have been an excellent book. Seems that the author(s)got a lot of their information from other books (this biblo is about 3/8' thick). It would have been better if the authors would have been more passionate on their work and not depend so much on the scholorship of others. The short stories of folks who are in 'the trenches' trying to make a better world kept this book from being a complete disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    Incredible clarity

    Having grown up in the sixties, and being influenced greatly by writers such as C.S. Lewis and Francis Schaeffer, I have made my way through the secular 80's and immoral 90's, confident that the Bible is true. Charles Colson gives the most compelling and reasonable defense of the Bible and Christianity that I have read to date. This is a 'must read' for anyone who is genuinely seeking for truth and personal peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    COMPELLING!! A MUST READ BOOK.

    This is a must-read book for any Christian wanting to really view life with a Biblical worldview. Starting with creation vs. evolution, the author makes a compelling case for Christianity and how we should view the world, while also clearly articulating the worldview of those who reject God. I'm about 90% through the book and can't wait to finish it. Heads up that it's an intellectual book, so don't expect a quick skim, but it's been worth every second. I encourage you to buy one for yourself and one for your minister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1