Customer Reviews for

How Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else

Average Rating 3.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    a life story that reads like a novel

    first of all, i LOVE starbucks, which is what caught my eye about the very starbuck-sy feel of the cover. After reading the first chapter, I was hooked. Gates' writing style is swift and easy to read, but chock-filled with antidotes from what he calls his "past life"--a life of luxury and wealth. His story of his downfall is relatable (it can happen to anyone!) and his story of overcoming his state is both inspirational (i am starting a new endeavor myself so reading about someone else's endeavor was strengthing and enlightening) and encouraging. it is never too late to start anew, he shows us. and his honest and heartfelt story of his own life is definitely a must read! His details and his stumbling in starbucks, to what he learns during it all.. I've recommended this book to everyone--and my brother is hooked!! Great for gifts to recent grads from college (my brother) or someone just starting work (myself). LOVED it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    Riches to rags to Starbucks

    I have given many copies of this book to friends and family(they all enjoyed it.) and have reccommended it to many more--including dozens of Starbucks employees. None had read it and few had heard of it. Surprising. Such good publicity for the company.
    I thought this was a wonderful story about a man whose life was in shambles through misfortune and his own stupidity. He then gets a thoroughly unexpected second chance.
    I loved getting an inside view of the operation too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Starbucks

    Well worth taking a look at. Yet again it goes to show we never know where life will bring us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HONEST & THOUGHT-PROVOKING

    This book was honest and thought-provoking. The author brought you into his story, introduced you to his co-workers and made you feel like you were right there with him, all the way. He showed no self-pity, but only pride in the job he was doing. This book was uplifting and is definitely a must-read during our current economic situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Too good to put down

    one of the best books I've read this year. certainly a tale of growth, redemption, success and (ultimately) happiness, the unconventional route embarked by the author chronicles one of the many facets of the human spirit. that for as much as we are flawed we must not give up in the face of adversity, obstacles are meant to be overcome after all. the author's tale is no different, except there's a key ingredient that binds the book together: humility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    Loved It!!

    I absolutely loved this book!! I picked it up because the title caught my eye at Barnes & Noble and couldn't put it down once I started reading it. I heard that it's going to be made into a movie starring Tom Hanks...good choice Hollywood. I plan to read the book again and again until then ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    I couldn't put it down.

    Great book from a man with his experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Thought-provoking

    I picked this up thinking it would be a feel-good book I might be able to give as a hostess gift. What I found was a story about learning lessons, finding hope, maximizing opportunity, recognizing good fortune, and contentment in life. A discussion group I am in is examining hope. I started circulating this book and several came back saying they "couldn't put it down".

    "Loving the life we have", not requiring we "have the life we love" is lost on many ... but not on this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great little book

    this book keep me busy for a few days and was an inspiration,dosen'tmatter how bad things are in life if you want something,you can pull trough.
    Great book for inspiration, being humble is a good quality on a person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cheers for Michael G. Gill

    This book is refreshing and inspiring without being sappy and/or preachy.
    Michael did a wonderful job of taking us through his trails; his wins and his losses. He really gave us a good look into himself, writing both the dark side of his life and the good, bright side.
    Anyone who wants to know the why there are so many Starbucks regulars and fans like me. Michael really gets to the heart of it.
    This is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    fun read

    This is a great book. I appreciate the soul-searching the writer shares with us. He realizes that what was important to him in his earlier life is not important once his life is turned upside down. Once he is forced to live a simpler life, he is happier and rich in ways other than having a large bank account. Keeping it simple works for many despite the pressures of society to do it all and have it all. Mike realizes that "keeping up with the Joneses" is not the way to live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    how starbucks saved my life

    This is an excellent book that a lot of people can relate to. I recommend it first to everyone that actually works for starbucks and to all major corporations in america. It touches all levels of life rich & poor alike to show that in the end we are actually the same. This book shows the reader that you can be just as happy cleaning a bathroom at a starbucks as being a top salesperson for a large company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great biography!!

    This book is definitly a quick read. I was truly engaged in this book by the stories. The reader will laugh and tear up. This book is inspiring and makes you rethink of what truly is important in your life.<BR/><BR/>Michael Gates Gill tells his story of how we went from great to poor, and picked himself back up. His stories makes you realize that you're not better than everyone else. We should all take the time to get to know people around us, you never know how they can help or make you laugh. No matter how rich/poor, smart/slow, young/old someone is... you can always learn from them.<BR/><BR/>It's amazing the list of people he met... Hemmingway in Spain, Jackie Kennedy, etc. <BR/><BR/>My favorite part is the bull run he did in Spain to meet Hemmingway!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Do you have dental?

    I love that this man who worked for a fortune 500 company never had dental or vision until he worked for starbucks. This book just highlights that the better the employer the better your life. Since very few of us wrk for ourselves its a caveat to teach our children. If you are working for a heartless scrooge--quit. This book is a wakeup call to look around you and see what kind of employers you support with your patronage. I always ask people if they have good benefits and if they have a good boss because I used to work in HR. You would be surprised at how forthcoming your grocery store clerk or dry cleaning, etc. employee is. There is no reason for an employer not to provided total health and educational benes to all employees to help them get a leg up in this hard cruel world. They can learn what starbucks knows--take care of your employees and they will take care of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Starbucks

    I first bought this book because I love coffee-and it had an interesting cover... When I read the sleeve-it seemed like a book that was easy to read and would possibly be somewhat enjoyable. I have to say---I love this book! It was very easy to read and very interesting. The book made you appreaciate everything that you have. I do not pity the writer, because he made his own decisions. He graduated from Yale---therefore he could have found another job. He had pity on himself-that is why he ended up in the position in which he ended up in. But I do have a respect for him. He fell into a 'world' which had never existed for him, and which he never appreciated. This books makes you think about everything and appreciate everything. I think everyone should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    While this book will not teach anything new it is a compelling and thought provoking reminder that in all things in life we are to seek the opportunity to express gratitude. Michael Gates Gill was entertaining and candid it is refreshing to see someone get the second chance that we all need at some point in life. I was sad when I read the last page because I knew I would miss this book as it was as much a treat as a venti extra hot caramel macchiato with extra caramel!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Corporate America - Listen Up

    Finally someone writes what we all feel. Corporate America Sucks. More people should just get a life and leave them behind to wallow in their stalags. Working for them is like being in a concentration camp. We don't need more stuff ... just a life. Hats off to Michael Gates Gill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    Michael Gill's memoirs are absolutely fascinating. I read a review in the Wall Street Journal and ordered it on cd. We listened to it on an eight hour road trip and could hardly turn it off when we stopped for food and fuel. I've always had the belief I would not starve because I have always teased myself with 'help Wanted' signs, saying to myself, 'I could do this or that if I had to,' and lo, here is a man who actually did it with such grace and poise. Absent is resentment, and active is deep gratitude, enormous courage, and a willingness to begin again on an entirely different scale. He could have pouted and whined, blamed others for his problems, waved his prestigious diploma in his collegues' faces, but he didn't, not once! What a winner! We loved it and ordered it for gifts. Thanks Michael Gill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Incredible Read

    The novel How Starbucks Saved My Life, written by Michael Gates Gill, is written from the viewpoint of the author. During the course of this book he describes how he grew up wealthy a privileged son. It describes in thoughts from the author how he used to work a glamorous, high-paying job, and how he lost it all by age 63. It tells the story of his unfortunate affair, divorce, and how by chance one day he ended up getting a job at a nearby Starbucks almost by mistake. This entertaining story tells how Gill learns to cope with the unfamiliarity of the new situation while learning to work a new job, so much different from his high life at Walter J. Thompson Advertising. Over the rest of the book, he learns how to treat customers and employees with respect, something clearly not of high importance of his former job. This book is interesting and pulls you in, but sometimes the description and side stories distract from the action and tempt you to skip over them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2