Customer Reviews for

How Sweet the Sound: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    A brilliant first novel by Amy Sorrells! It only took a few pag

    A brilliant first novel by Amy Sorrells! It only took a few pages to fall in love with the characters and be swept away by the beautiful story. This is a hope-infused tale loosely based on the biblical account of Tamar. Sorrells breaks the silence of the reality of rape and incest while providing protected space for solace and understanding.

    The short chapters makes it easy to pick up and read, but I honestly had a difficult time putting it down. Each chapter begins with a sentimental quote providing a tasty morsel to launch into each section.

    The characters are well-developed and believable. My heart will be forever moved by Anniston, Comfort, Jed, Sonny, and Ernestine. Sorrells portrays a realistic Southern setting in the lovely pecan plantation of the Harlan family.

    A remarkable first work by a true artisan of words, emotions, and poetry...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Sort of a Fried Green Tomatoes meets Bridge to Tarabithia, with

    Sort of a Fried Green Tomatoes meets Bridge to Tarabithia, with a dash of scripture, in a crockpot of Southern Christian spirituality.

    Excellent read.  A story about mountains and valleys...  A story about how nobody gets through this life without hurting, yet how God's grace can carry us through life's rough patches... A story about reconciliation.

    Poignant and real.  If you've been a victim of abuse or know someone (isn't that pretty much all of us?), it's worth a read.   

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    First of all, isn┬┐t this cover beautiful? I love the soft colors

    First of all, isn’t this cover beautiful? I love the soft colors, they draw me in.

    As lovely as the cover is the real treasure lies inside. This is my kind of book, my kind of story, my kind of healing and redemption.

    This is much more than a novel, it is a voice for those who have suffered under the hands of abuse. It’s a song for those who have lost their melody under the weight of their shame.

    So many times in this book I wanted to cry. There are many powerful moments, sentences that stopped me in my tracks and had me praising or praying or simply saying “Yes.”

    Amy is an extremely talented author who has a very real grasp of the pain of abuse, the silence and deceit that follows. Her words are lyrical and drenched in the Spirit.

    I loved so much the conversations that Comfort had with Abba. The words Amy wrote are words Abba has spoken over me like a healing balm for my wounded soul.

    And even though Anni is only thirteen I could still relate to her. I so wanted her to find hope and for the truth to come out. In revealing truth there is freedom.

    I could say so much more about this book but I will stop here. You need to check this one out.

    A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Talk about a dysfunctional family! The Harlan clan defines the w

    Talk about a dysfunctional family! The Harlan clan defines the word. This is a dark tale of rape and incest--the opposite of a fluffy read. Based on the biblical story of Tamar who was raped and told to keep it quiet, one of the characters suffers years of abuse while heads are turned away. With no one to comfort her, she thinks less and less of herself.

    Chapters are written in first-person with the voices of two characters: Anniston (Anni) and Comfort. By writing with this two-narrator structure, the author allows the reader to see the story from two perspectives. I liked this and thought it helped me dig into the "meat" of the novel. I felt closely to both characters.

    Discussion questions are included along with several Southern recipes. It might be a good choice for a book club to read, followed by a supper using the recipes found at the book's end.

    Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and David C. Cook for my copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    I loved this book. It is so different from what I usually read. 285 pages.

    This book was told from varying points of view. It takes down south. The editing was very good. It has around 285 pages. There is a lot of crisis, saddness, some religion, no sex, no cursing. There are family ties, love that binds, first love and first kisses. Family secrets should never be kept hidden, to forgive is to love, live and heal. This book also containd, rape, murder, child sexual abuse, violence and murder caused by the the insanity of meaness, and murder caused from protecting loved ones. There is one of the meanest grand mothers to ever wear a girdle and Solly, a loving, forgiving Saint of a man. Anni is 13 and the author protrayed her perfectly. This book takes place from 1979 to 1981. It ia absolutely fantastic. I loved it. I hope there is a sequal. I am looking forward to seeing what else this author has wrote. For ages 16 and up. You do not want to miss this one.

    AD

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Fantastic !!!!

    Excellent enriching novel. You may feel that you've known each character your entire life. Enjoy!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Bookclub

    Cole rey ggunshot brother incedt comfort solly jed jubilee and the girl ani

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    read this book in a little over 48 hours!

    read this book in a little over 48 hours!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1