Customer Reviews for

How to Cook Everything: Simple Recipes for Great Food

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Have had for 2 years and used once.

    I have owned this book for two years. Each time I try to use it, I come up with a blank. This book has not inspired any meal for me, at all. I thought this would be a nice fill in between Joy of cooking and Silver spoon. it isn't. And it certainly isn't for the beginner cook.<BR/> Mark likes one use, expensive items, or hard to find items. (like sunchokes) The times I have looked to this book for alternatives to my tried and true recipes, I have not had any luck. (I have met no one who wants 2 cups of basil in their mac and cheese). The way the recipes are laid out, it is hard to follow. (Omit 3 ingredients from two recipes up, or follow step 2 from the last recipe except for these 3 things.)<BR/>I would recommend you look at this book in person, in the store. There are much better books out there for the family, beginer, basic, or experienced cooks.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    The Best!

    I bought this cookbook for a gift but I already have my own copy! It is the best for ANY cooking question you may have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I am not sure what some of the bad reviews are for this book. I

    I am not sure what some of the bad reviews are for this book. I am a very poor cook, see ideas on tv and come to this book to make them simple and laid out in details that I can understand and perform. I love how he even suggests using other cook's recipes and DOES in this book (i.e. he uses bread recipes from Artisan bread in 30 minutes a day) and many other great cookbooks. I COLLECT cookbooks like most women collect sox but this one is my go to. If I want to make something and I have a few ingredients on hand and don't know what to do with them, I can pick up this book, flip to the main ingredient's section (like pork, chicken, shrimp,etc.) and have RARELY found a recipe in here that I didn't have the ingredients in my pantry already or he offers substitution suggestions, too. Highly recommend this for brides, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    When in doubt, ask Bittman

    This is the single, most used cookbook in my collection. It's the first book I go to when looking for a recipe and is always reliable. I've had this books since it was first published in 2006; its dust cover has signs of being well-loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Great gift for budding cooks.

    My 25 year old daughter loves this cookbook. It was a great new apartment gift. I love mine too. Mark Bittman is creative. Not your Grandmother's cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    This is very usefull book. Give a new cook lots of info that she or he will need to make just about anything. I cook a lot but there was things I found helpful. This would be very good to give to a new cook.

    I think this book should be in every kitchen. It tell you how to make so many things that you would cook for different events. Making bread is almost a lost art and this book would surely help anyone learn how. Every new bride needs this cook book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    most used cookbook in my kitchen!

    I received this as a wedding present and it has truly become one of the best kitchen resources I own! I love cooking and have tons of books, but this one stays out on my counter...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    WOW What a great cook book

    I have used this book for everything! From everyday to fancy dinner parties. It tell you clearly and preciously how to do it all. It has been a life saver. It has also been able to teach my teenage children how to cook for themselves the foods they like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Good all purpose cookbook, IF you don't have one already

    This is a good cookbook, IF you don't already have an all purpose cookbook. Otherwise, you do not need to add it to your collection because there is nothing new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    my new favorite

    i live in south america and this book has traveled from the usa to brasil and venezuela. it is just the best reference and when i am feeling like something new i can always find something i want to try. it has also given me more confidence by building my cooking skills. i do have one complaint though. it is such a large book and i use it all the time so now it is falling apart. it definitely needs a different or better binding. but i would recomend it to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Just the best- a great holiday gift!

    Everything I have ever made out of this book was the best 'whatever it was' I have ever made-- I always receive compliments on these recipes. I make so many more things now from scratch since buying this book! I can't say enough about it! I bought this for a wedding shower gift and never gave it to the bride 'cause I loved it so much. It would make a great shower gift, but buy two, because you'll want to keep one for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    The Best Gift You Could Give

    The straight forward way that this is presented makes you feel like Mark Bittman is standing right next to you, encouraging you. Even better are the numerous lists...other things that can go in pasta sauce, great sandwich combinations, etc. This cookbook has given me the freedom to feel like I can make a recipe even if I don't have everything that it calls for. It encourages you to find your own style, having given you the basic guidelines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    A must have in every kitchen!

    This is my cooking bible, I use it constantly! The recipes are extremely easy to follow and delicious. When I want to try something new, I flip through and always find something interesting. Or if I have a question about a cooking term or technique, I always turn to this trusty guide. It is an excellent resource for both beginner and more experienced cooks. The book is very easy to use and includes a helpful index, glossary, and sample menu pages. If I could only have one cookbook, this would be it hands down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    My favorite cookbook!

    I have many, many cookbooks, but this is the one I reference over and over. It really is the best cookbook I own, and encourage interested people to buy it. The recipies are simple and easy to follow, and the author takes time to explain why you need to do things a certain way. I also really like all the "options" he gives for various recipies. This way, you learn to make a dish and then can vary it later on with his suggestions and eventually with your own ideas. Besides being a good cookbook, this book has plenty of interesting reading for any foodie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2002

    The title isn't kidding. . .

    You have to try to find something that isn't here. This book is Cooking 101, 102, 201, and 202 all in one. It's much better than the Cordon Bleu series of books. Bittman keeps the recipes at their bare essense, and once you've mastered the basics, it's a simple jump to purely elegant dining. Ever wanted a TENDER pan steak with a wonderful port sauce -- it's here. Crispy french bread -- yup. How about trying something new with that old box of couscous you picked up at Trader Joes -- uh, huh. Fish, beef, poultry, veggies, dairy, breads, desserts, sauces, salads -- in styles from Mexican to Spanish to French to Italian to Middle Eastern to good ol' American -- ALL THERE. What the heck more could you want? How about a CD-ROM? I bought mine before the CD-ROM came out, but you might want to check that version out if you like pictures, 'cause like another reviewer said -- with 1000+ recipes, you're not getting color photos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    If I could have just one cook book, this would be it.

    Check out the weekend scrambled eggs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Great book for all types of cooks!

    I love to cook and collecting cook books is a hobby of mine. I love this book because it is good for those just learning to cook and those who have been cooking for years. It is easy to read and understand. The numerous sections cover all the bases for any menu you would want to serve. I recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    A Must Have Cookbook

    This is the one cookbook (and I have quite a few) that I use most often. I can usually find any recipe for what I want to cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2000

    THE BEST!!

    I am an avid collector of cookbooks. I have to say that this one has to be the best one I have ever owned! I use it at least three times every week for everything from soup to how to cut onions. I have recommended this cookbook to many friends and purchased it as a gift more times than I can count!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    A WONDERFUL COLLECTION OF RECIPES!! Great all-purpose cookbook with simple delicious recipes and reasonable ingredients

    This is one of the best recipe books we own. Bittman has seemingly collected the best recipes for almost every imaginable food. It gives you easy to follow instructions and advice on how to do almost everything from choosing ingredients to the proper cooking equipment. Many recipes have variation suggestions, which give you many different ways to alter the basic recipes to suit your own tastes and preferences. The majority of recipes are quick (30 minutes or less). Most importantly, EVERYTHING that we have tried so far has tasted great, from pastas and chicken to pancakes and brownies. Both new and experienced cooks will find recipes that tempt and satisfy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2