Customer Reviews for

How To Draw Manga - Your Step-By-Step Guide To Drawing Manga - Volume 1

Average Rating 3
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very practical & helpful in learning how to draw manga

Since childhood I have been fascinated with Japanese cartoons/comics. The book's instructions are so simple and straight to the point. I could actually follow every instruction, just like having a tutor right beside me guiding my every stroke. Step-by-step illustrations...
Since childhood I have been fascinated with Japanese cartoons/comics. The book's instructions are so simple and straight to the point. I could actually follow every instruction, just like having a tutor right beside me guiding my every stroke. Step-by-step illustrations also helped in understanding the instructions all the more. I'm so excited in trying it by following the guide. I can't believe I was able to make a manga character myself! Thanks to this book, reading it helped me draw those manga characters which I only used to admire! I can't wait to show my drawings to my friends. I would surely recommend this book even to non-professionals and beginners alike. Kudos to the writer!

posted by Silvermoon1206_Ph on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

i don't know

um i wanna know if this book is any good not how long the sample is

posted by joyfulathome on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Very practical & helpful in learning how to draw manga

    Since childhood I have been fascinated with Japanese cartoons/comics. The book's instructions are so simple and straight to the point. I could actually follow every instruction, just like having a tutor right beside me guiding my every stroke. Step-by-step illustrations also helped in understanding the instructions all the more. I'm so excited in trying it by following the guide. I can't believe I was able to make a manga character myself! Thanks to this book, reading it helped me draw those manga characters which I only used to admire! I can't wait to show my drawings to my friends. I would surely recommend this book even to non-professionals and beginners alike. Kudos to the writer!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Simple comprehensive guide

    What an amazing step by step guide to drawing those cute little creatures. After reading the e-book I'm convinced that drawing manga can be so much fun and do-able by any person at any age. I can't wait to show my new tricks to my little ones! I'm sure we'll have a blast!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Recommended!

    The world has gone manga-crazy. Lots of people today read manga, and I'm sure if they only knew how to draw manga, they'd have done so already. That being said, I was glad to have encountered this e-book. I've always been curious about the Japanese art of drawing cartoons and it's great to finally have the appropriate guide.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    Highly disappointed

    Well I should've realized when the sample was only 3 pages long that something was up.... This nookbook is only about 20 pages long and there aren't enough examples AT ALL! What a rip off!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Nico

    Very cool

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Didn"t give any example drawings!!! Terrible

    Its hard to follow the instructions with no examples!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    MAJOR HELP

    The book is vague at some parts but two weeks ago i couldnt draw manga. Now i am working on a manga/anime theme song. This is a must read for new anime drawers!!! ^_^

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    How many pages?

    Plz telll!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    A MUST-READ FOR MANGA AND ANIME ENTHUSIASTS!

    How To Draw Manga This book is the definitive answer to all manga hobbyists. It is a technical manual written as a basic how-to guide to allow people with interest to better understand the concept of manga drawings. Animation enthusiasts will also gain important tips and pointers in enhancing their abilities to illustrate cartoon and comical figures. This is a must have material.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Stop

    dont get the sample only3 pages long

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    BLEH

    This is crud, because the sample says 1/7 AND YOU GET THREE PAGES OF RANDOM JUNK!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Attention

    The reason the majority of you do not reccomend this is simply because you do not practice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Goodish

    To be honest it's okay. I peraonally don't find it very informative, and the art style is some of the older anime styles so the edges are sharper and it looks less professional.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    All your moneys worth? If you're a beginner.

    I wouldn't say to put your money into this UNLESS you're a beginner at drawing anime or manga. If you are a beginner this is a wonderful book to read! But there are many, many different styles of anime and manga, some better than this and some worse than this. This covers the ABSOLUTE basics with some extra, unneccessary steps in between. Again, I'd like to say if you have never drawn anime or manga before this is a wonderful book to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Great guide

    I am always looking to improve my drawing skills and to learn new ones. So after "sampling" this book, I was convinced that it was just what I needed! I was not disappointed. The book provides very clear and detailed instructions. I you want to learn how to draw manga quickly, this book should help you do it. Great tips and pointers--what kind of working environment works best, supplies, etc. I don't think there is any aspect of drawing that the author hasn't covered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Art improves

    It helped me improved my art. I work hard 2. This step by step book ROCKS!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Is this the first?

    I'm not sure....

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    This is great!

    This was really cool, it made drawing the figures easy! I had been trying and failing to sketch my fav anime characters, but this book made so much easier. It is still a bit tricky but I am getting the hang of it. It really helped with the eyes, they always looked lopsided and irregular, now they are much better.
    - Athena

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    I want a refund

    I want a refund

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Gg

    This was not good. Get draw furries instead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4