Customer Reviews for

How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Acknowledging the "You" in "GOD is Everything"

"How to Know GOD" is one of the first books that I read by Deepak Chopra. The book was a recommended read by someone that I have great respect for. My respect for them remains intact!

To me, the subtitle, "The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries," is indicat...
"How to Know GOD" is one of the first books that I read by Deepak Chopra. The book was a recommended read by someone that I have great respect for. My respect for them remains intact!

To me, the subtitle, "The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries," is indicative of where you need to be spiritually and mentally in order to fully appreciate the enlightenment that unfolds before you as you proceed from chapter to chapter. You need to be on a "journey" towards discovering the true essence of the purpose for your life.

If there is a force that binds the nucleus of an atom together to create "you" and everything in existence, surely there is a purpose for your life.

In this book, Dr. Chopra plays the role of "help-mate" by taking his knowledge of religion, quantum physics, and neuroscience to help you on your journey. If you are truly on a journey towards discovering the true essence of the purpose for your life, this book is a "must read."

Knowledge is power, reading is fundamental, and life is a journey. Enjoy this book and your journey.

posted by Old_Sage on February 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Should be: How To Know Deepak.

They say the brain is hardwired to believe in God. Actually, we believe in God due to habit, not evidence, not reason, not choice. We still live in a stupid society that thinks 'God', a total unknown mysterious piece of squish, is the answer to hard questions like 'Who ...
They say the brain is hardwired to believe in God. Actually, we believe in God due to habit, not evidence, not reason, not choice. We still live in a stupid society that thinks 'God', a total unknown mysterious piece of squish, is the answer to hard questions like 'Who am I? How did I get here? What is the meaning of life? Is there life after death?' This is answering the unknown with the unknown and is seriously bogus logic. I could have written a book 'How To Know Unicorns' and could have used the same exact logic as Deepak Chopra who hides his Hindu based malarky behind his multitude of degrees and titles. Ayurveda, his Hindu style medicine promises practitioners of life 200, 300 or more years. In fact, Deepak informs us elsewhere, that the human body actually has no termination date, no end except that people eat wrong, exercize wrong. And this is science? Had Deepak Chopra, a supposedly educated man ever heard of Telemeres? In The Chicken Soup series, an essay by Deepak Chopra about his daughter informs us with a serious tone that Hindu idols actually drink milk! What a miracle! What malarky! This book is another of his con-games designed with only one purpose in mind. Make lotsa lotsa money and build mega mega empire, and gain biga biga influence so you can appear at $25,000 or more a hit on talk shows, which also promote your books! Let's get one thing clear, Mr. Deepak Chopra like other charlatans from India like Mahesh Maharishi Yogi and Bhagwan Sri Rajneesh is no fool. These guys know that Americans are sick and tired of Xian hogwash. But do they replace it with education, freethought and reason? No they replace fundamentalist claptrap with either New Ager, or Old Age superstitions. Science education, meanwhile in the good ol' USA lags behind every developed country in the world, and falls far behind many developing nations. Go ahead and buy this book and his others and pay for his vacation to San Tropez, while impoverishing yourself, and filling your head with pleasant sounding drivel. This is all a pipe dream. Let's see if Mr. Chopra lives beyond 100, much less 200, or 300 as he ought to if his 'divine' principles had any validity. But then he knows his critics won't be around either 100 years from now.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Acknowledging the "You" in "GOD is Everything"

    "How to Know GOD" is one of the first books that I read by Deepak Chopra. The book was a recommended read by someone that I have great respect for. My respect for them remains intact!

    To me, the subtitle, "The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries," is indicative of where you need to be spiritually and mentally in order to fully appreciate the enlightenment that unfolds before you as you proceed from chapter to chapter. You need to be on a "journey" towards discovering the true essence of the purpose for your life.

    If there is a force that binds the nucleus of an atom together to create "you" and everything in existence, surely there is a purpose for your life.

    In this book, Dr. Chopra plays the role of "help-mate" by taking his knowledge of religion, quantum physics, and neuroscience to help you on your journey. If you are truly on a journey towards discovering the true essence of the purpose for your life, this book is a "must read."

    Knowledge is power, reading is fundamental, and life is a journey. Enjoy this book and your journey.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    I love this book!

    Deepok deals with our world's most important subject--God. He explains that we are all directly connected to God---but that we somehow forget this. He also explains how this connection can be made outside of religion. This is a great book by a man I consider a prophet. He conveys a lot of truths and references many great religions, cultures and teachers---not just one. Mike Sale

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I would give this book 5 stars

    I have not completed this book , but is gives the reader many things to ponder and meditate on.Deepak Chopra has a very quite and peaceful way of look at our world and God and how we all fit into the scheme of things.. It quiets my mind and lifts my soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A separation or breaking away from Religion

    After the entire history of man with all of the war and blood shed, the fighting, hate and anger people still want to try to force everyones thinking to be what "their" thinking is. Deepak Chopra doesn't think like the religious schools in that he attempts to give a different view of God. All the talk of Jesus Crist and the Bible are also 'Hear say" because the only real proof of them is someones discription of them. As we know with all religion it is something pushed upon conquered lands by the stronger people, army, nations. This process eliminates the conquered peoples right to believe they did originally... the story of past-the reality of this moment. No matter what you believe It doesn't give you the right to tell me that I can't feel what ever way that I chose to about Deepak Chopra's Material.

    I think that it is a beautiful undertaking to investigate, use what is helpful and leave the rest. This isn't about forcing you to believe but for those who disagree it is their means of a justifiable soil for even more unrest.
    He attempts to show another vision to view God, from our minute sight, in all of the granduer that God emcompasses. Naming God is impossible and inffeable.
    His view is not from a religious standpoint but a personal one paralleled with scientific understanding on a PERSONAL LEVEL. I found it really good in that he stayed with his beliefs and never sounds preechy say like a...Bible. Don't get me wrong I think that ALL HOLY BOOKS have remnants of GOD within them but when those that believe in those specific books try and force/judge the rest of us for not believing what "They" believe is when they do the entire world a dis service. Man has evolved but his thinking is still primitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    A Wonderful Deeper Look at Things

    This book was incredible in showing exactly as the title shows. I picked up the book skeptically seeming the task at hand would be imposible but Deepak Chopra used a wonderful blending of various religious wisdom to show how it can be possible. I've recommended it to everyone who's willing to take the next step.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2005

    A Favorite

    I love this book. It helped fill in the blanks and revolutionize my thinking. If you seek a deeper truth of man's existence and the reality of a supreme being, this is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    Encompassing All the Disciplines

    Deepak Chopra has taken Fundamentalist Christianity, Eastern Religions of Islam and Buddhism, Science and the modern spiritualism to which many people have been awakening, and made a valiant attempt to tie them all together. As a recent student of religion and spirituality, I found the book helped to crystallize ideas I had forming in my head as well as initiating other discoveries. I found myself at times blown away by the thoughts he evoked. He is a true intellectual who presents a well-rounded view of the deepest mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    A New Year's Gift to oneself and all.......

    No one could have written this book except someone from within the "virtual domain," and Dr. Chopra has most certainly given us all the opportunity to merge our religious and spiritual beliefs and questions into a single understanding of God. Years of study alone could not give such joy, such hope, and such promise at a time when so many of us are searching to "find" God. He is truly a great Master here to guide many of us through his spiritual gift of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    Intellectual Reading

    With specific reference to this title - How to know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mysteries of Mysteries- In conjunction with the captioned, although I have been able to only glimpse through a prelude synopsis pertaining to this title, I feel a sense of pride to assert the following remarks in this specific context: Although, I do hope that I shall definitely have the opportunity to read this entire book, as an evenet may emerge corresponding to this title. This is certainly a proficiently creative workmanship of intellectual prowess that has been utilized to derive mutual benefit for universal harmony and a better rapport and understanding towards perceiving this most contentious thought about subject of life(s) and life time(s). Need I say more, words cannot narrate the extent of the degree of the considerable amount of enthusiastic perspective that this publishment has evoked. With Best Wishes for many more prospective intellectual titles and sincere best wishes for world peace, good health, happiness and greater understanding all around the world. Thank you for providing this opportunity to interact and share thoughts. Sincerely, Vashi Ramchand Chandiramani chandiramanis@netscape.net vaishnavi@hknet.com,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    This book changed my life

    This book is truley amazing. It talks about the seven stages in which a peson connects with god. I had realized half way through how much I strayed in my faith. This book is not only for Christians but for anyone who belives in a greater power. I know of four people who have been greatly impacted from this book including a buddist and a hidi friend of mine. This book is sure to inspire and touch the hearts of thousands for generations to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    Chopra is absolutely amazing....

    Deepak Chopra is the most amazing author in the world. His mind gives birth to thoughts that one wouldn't even think that the human mind is capable of. If I could go anywhere in this world, it would be inside this man's mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2001

    cd format

    i have ten or twelve of chopra's tapes, and i'm obviously a big fan. this was another great work. the man spits them out like brian wilson of the beach boys writes songs. however, in this unabridged version it seems some chapters are given short shrift. i wished there was more detail given to such things as synchronicity. this is the first one of his works that i could actually tell was edited. i probably should read the book also. after five hours of audio he still whets the appitite for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    great book for the future

    This book opens your heart & soul to the truth of what we are all looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1