BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

How to Think Like A Horse: Essential Insights for Understanding Equine Behavior and Building an Effective Partnership with Your Horse

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I Loved How To Think Like A Horse

Cherry Hill always has great books that are both interesting and informational. I have several in my home library and this may be the most useful one that I own. The horse is so much more complicated than people realize and if you are able to understand what your hors...
Cherry Hill always has great books that are both interesting and informational. I have several in my home library and this may be the most useful one that I own. The horse is so much more complicated than people realize and if you are able to understand what your horse is thinking then you will be able to be more successful in anything and everything you do with your horses. The book has been an excellent source of information for training my own colts and understanding what they are thinking when you are trying to get them to respond to what you are asking them to do. Cherry Hill is a great trainer and writer. She has a great way of explaining training procedures and offers excellent information on how to make training easier on both the trainer and the horse. Your horse will thank you for reading this book!

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

How to think like SOME horses

This book addresses a lot of common issues dealing with horses, but I do not agree with all the explanations and reasons given. It's a good place to start looking for answers about equine behavioral issues, but it is definitely not accurate all the time..

posted by 10377588 on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    I Loved How To Think Like A Horse

    Cherry Hill always has great books that are both interesting and informational. I have several in my home library and this may be the most useful one that I own. The horse is so much more complicated than people realize and if you are able to understand what your horse is thinking then you will be able to be more successful in anything and everything you do with your horses. The book has been an excellent source of information for training my own colts and understanding what they are thinking when you are trying to get them to respond to what you are asking them to do. Cherry Hill is a great trainer and writer. She has a great way of explaining training procedures and offers excellent information on how to make training easier on both the trainer and the horse. Your horse will thank you for reading this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    How to think like SOME horses

    This book addresses a lot of common issues dealing with horses, but I do not agree with all the explanations and reasons given. It's a good place to start looking for answers about equine behavioral issues, but it is definitely not accurate all the time..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    Wonderful book!

    This is a delightful book full of information and insight from an often under-appreciated trainer. Cherry Hill covers everything from development to grooming to behavior to training. Information which is normally strewn across several horse books comes together in this single volume. This is a must-read for every horse enthusiast.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    e book diagrams not readable

    The print version of this book is great. However, the lettering on diagrams and charts in the e book version is unreadable. This seriously detracts from the usefulness of the booksl. Aannd yes I tried it onn severaldifferent coputers and nooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    To expensive!!

    11.37 for a book absolutly not!!! XXXXXXXXXXX

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    great book

    good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Highly recommended for a beginner rider like me.

    To me an essential part of horseback riding is understanding the horses likes and dislikes. This book covers those items on a physical level and a mental level.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    G

    You know people who says this book is not good advice is wrong becouse this book is good and who dose write that this is good is r.i.g.h.t.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Wonderful book

    AH-MAZING i never read this book on my nook i am an horse lover and own the book mydelf. This book is very edicational and i learned a ton from it. I would recomend this ahmazing book to anyone who is so obsessed with horses that they just can't get the topic off of their mind. Thus book taught me alot and i stil go back and read it from time to time if i have unanswered questions. I also reccomend Horses for Dummies, and Horseback Ridding for Dummies. Both are wonderful books that also teach you some great facts. Have fun reading this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Very helpful and interesting

    I actually didn't read this on my nook. I own the book. I am an extreme horse lover and i recomend this to anyone. I find it very calming.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    i love it!

    This book is amazing. It showed me all I needed to know about horses. It teaches us about horses hearing eyesight and pretty much feelings. It is amazing and I wish there was a continuation somehow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1