Customer Reviews for

How To Win Friends and Influence People

Average Rating 4
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

A classic for a reason

You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and ...
You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and to put to rest a popular assumption, he was no relation to the magnate Andrew Carnegie). It is an unusual little book, written in a highly personalized, colloquial style that is reminiscent of a great lecture. This book was designed with professionals in mind, and designed to help professional people do better in business by helping them make social contacts and improve their speaking skills. It was also written with a certain...earnestness in mind. Carnegie was a big believer in sincerity when it came to dealing with other people. The only other modern book that does the same is "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" and I highly recommend both.

posted by Patrick_Newman on October 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Don't Get The Revised Edition

This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replac...
This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replaced whole paragraphs in the book with new material, in order to make it 'more relevant'. You know what, if a book is well written and intelligent it doesn't matter if it was written 50 or a 100 or a 1000 years ago. The readers will still understand it and its message will still shine through. I don't care if Carnegie told stories of people who are long dead, because basic human nature was the same then as it is now. Carnegie was an excellent writer. His work should be left as he intended it. Anyway, if you can get the original copy of this book I would definitely recommend it because it offers good insights into human behavior.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    To Nook Friends

    I will add you just tell me your name and email.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    The title of the book gives you the basic idea of what it is abo

    The title of the book gives you the basic idea of what it is about. For those of us to which socializing does not come easily, this book has a lot of good reminders and tips on how to be a likable person. It was, however, written in the 1930s, so readers should keep in mind that Carnegie’s style and illustrations are not written in the “keep it simple,” bare-minimum standard of today’s literature. He uses a lot of stories to show how he and others have applied his tips, which was useful and helpful in showing different situations to apply them in; however, Carnegie uses a lot of unnecessary details and an impatient reader might find it to be long-winded.
    The book is divided up into four parts: “Fundamental techniques in Handling People,” “Six ways to Make People Like You,” “How to Win People to Your Way of Thinking”, and “Be a Leader: How to Change People Without Giving Offense or Arousing Resentment.” Most of the book was written with business in mind, so all sections won’t be relevant to everyone. I would recommend this book to anyone that struggles in social situations. I read the revised edition printed in 1981, and it helped me a lot, even though much of the advice Carnegie offers seems to come naturally to most people. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    akatskee1@yahoo.com

    Add me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    This is one of those books that everyone has heard of, many peop

    This is one of those books that everyone has heard of, many people have made fun of and few have actually read. Like the Atkins Diet, many people took a few things that they heard from someone who heard from someone else and declared “This is the truth of this book.” After all, how many of us have the time to really sit down and read a book, especially one we know we really should read. We tell ourselves, “Yeah, but…” I don’t have time, my boss just doesn’t understand, I’m just shy, or the world isn’t fair. These are the excuses we use that stand in our way.

    Yes, you might be shy, you might have a fear of public speaking (and that is one of the most common phobia’s) or you might just be scared. What if one book could help you overcome that? Help you become a better communicator? And, help you make friends. Not that this is easy. Dale never said it would be. But, if it was easy, everyone would do it.

    This book can help you, just as the title promises. After all, no-one truly believes they are a bad person, just as everyone wants to feel important and appreciated. This book can help you with that. This can make you a better teacher, parent, manager, salesperson or even help you get that promotion you truly do deserve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Good Info

    Interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Amazing!

    I finally found the book that may well change my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    How To Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie is the

    How To Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie is the timeless classic that reveals how leaders can engage and motivate individuals to become teams; joining together to achieve a common purpose and produce more than the sum of their singular efforts. This book unveils:

    - The six ways to make people like you
    - The twelve ways to win people to your way of thinking
    - The nine ways to change people without arousing resentment

    I like How to Win Friends and Influence People because is provides the reader with easily understood and actionable methods of influencing people without being manipulative; engaging and motivating them to achieve more together than they could as individuals.

    I believe that while leaders naturally act to serve and promote their self interests, it is equally important to benefit those who are supporting those initiatives. Dale Carnegie's prescription for advancing one's agenda is a benevolent, win-win approach that influences instead of manipulates. His `honorable' approach to winning people's support makes How to Win Friends and Influence People a StrategyDriven recommended read.

    All the Best,
    Nathan Ives
    StrategyDriven Principal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Awesome A must read

    A must read. It helps for attaining personal growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    It good

    Its ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    I cannot open it with my nook app on my tablet. The book is gre

    I cannot open it with my nook app on my tablet. The book is great I've read it before, but it won't open on the nook app is 1 star

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Nook friends

    Need nook friends

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Very helpful book.

    Dales words still ring true today. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    This one should be kept in your library. This book provides you

    This one should be kept in your library. This book provides you with the knowhow to create and keep great relationship. Great advice that will have to take reading numerous times to make sure you are always reminded and the advice becomes a part of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Dorbell

    Diiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnngggggggg dong

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Vanessa

    *tries to crawl over the railing of her crib. she makes it to the top, then falls to the floor, landing on her back. she starts to cry*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Frances

    Im back

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Anya

    Hi im your new neabor hears a pie. She gives her the pie and walks home. (Gtg)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Samantha

    Do you want to mix everything together?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Real estate agent

    Yes its a condo 4 bed 2 bath 3 storys big living room dining room tv room and a finished basement for storage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Highly recomended

    This book is great! It will teach you good thing to learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18