Customer Reviews for

How Walmart is Destroying America (and the World) and What You Can Do About It

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Everyone Should Read This Book

    This book articulated what I already instinctively knew was true. Walmart is truly destroying small town America. I live in a small town that has charming shops and many small local businesses. There is a Walmart 5 miles away and since it arrived, the businesses are closing one by one and taking with them the charm of the town. Every American should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    The beginning of a communist america and roots of an Authoritarian regime

    Books like these are what¿s the leading the campaign for collectivized health care and ¿the equal distribution of wealth¿ maybe Bill Quinn should put down the communist manifesto and pick up the wealth of nations. Every argument in this book against Wal-Mart is made with out even a basic understanding of economics and the fact that Wal-Mart Increases capital and production and makes more jobs than it could ever take away, and that mom and pop stores were dieing long before Wal-Mart came around. When Wal-Mart comes into to an new town you don't see an economic reccesion you see an economic boom. Wal-Mart does not have a monopoly on anything and it never will, and even if they had the capibility to create one the goverment would step and split up just like they've done in the past. Wal-Mart makes the lower class middle class, and it makes the middle class upper middle class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2005

    treatment

    I know how they treat their employees, I work work there for now :-( Many others have been lucky enough to quit & get other jobs, my turn soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    A real eye-opener

    This book is big on anecdote and low on hard statistics, which is why it only gets 4 stars. But wow, those anecdotes! Even if every single sneaky thing WalMart's ever done is in this book, that's enough for me not to shop there. The truth about their 'low price' claims, how they really treat their employees, it's all here. (And I know how they treat their employees - my dad works there, and he loved this book, said it was 100% on the mark.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    this book overlooked a lot!!

    This book over looked a lot of things like walmarts huge charitable contributions (example-Wal-Mart Donates $6.6 Million in Holiday Grants to Hometown Charities November 26, 2003) the jobs and career opportunities it offers to employees, and the low prices it offers to it's customers have helped millions of families afford the necessities of life. Walmart is a success because it takes care of it's customers, no company can stay in business if it doesn't, including small independants. It fills a need.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Believe It Or NOT!...An Imminent Threat to the Specialty Retail Environment Wherever They Choose to Settle...

    When I was growing up in the late Seventies and Early Eighties, a new store came to my hometown...WAL-Mart! I paid no attention to them, for we had so many other retailers, like: Woolco, McCrory, TG & Y, Globe Shopping City, Kroger Family Center, Gibson's, Hanshaw's,K-Mart, Klink's, F. W. Woolworth Co., Rexall Pharmacies and Kress, among numerous others, specialty crafts, fabric and boutique stores. Some immediately closed...Woolco (Woolworth's Superstore concept failed) and Gibson's and Kress closed down. Redemption stamp center stores, like Texas Gold, S & H Green Stamps, and Gold Bond also met their demise. Times were changing, as were shoppers, Or so it seemed... Who could have guessed that WAL-Mart's arrival in the ENTIRE region, would force every privately-owned and Chain store into a product monopolization and the catstrophic financial upheaval of the retail environment? Is the capitalization of America,if not to say, the entire World sufficient to satisfy a Billion Dollar retailer's HUNGER for the delusion of Retail in General? I wonder... But WE, as consumers are to blame, too, to a point, and we must accept this responsibility as our own..Seduced by low prices (although it remains to be seen in more competitive markets, nowadays), the populace that flock to the gargantuan, colorless boxes,that DO NOT provide any architectual aesthetic or pleasant skyline to ANY town they choose to occupy, must either choose TO or NOT TO shop and continue the voracious cycle of economic breakdown and monopolization of any town's stores! When will it be Enough??? When most towns are depleted of their Main street's former charm and attractive shopping districts, only to replaced by the pandering of sub-standard, cheaper goods, not fit to appreciate the individual recipients, who SO clearly work hard for and deserve BETTER? As a discriminating consumer, I am fortunate enough to know the difference between QUALITY and QUANTITY! Thank God for my upbringing and Common Sense! I don't even earn those Big Bucks yet, I DO , however have standards and Moral principles, something that GREEDY and DRIVEN Corporations may NEVER begin to grasp. The very ideals that this great country was founded on, in some ways, have obviously been allowed to become lax in their attitude to preserve and pass on to future generations... But it has to come from EACH and EVERY ONE of us, lest WE become as Mass-produced and colorless, as the irresponsible organization that exemplifies it SO VERY WELL! I can ONLY bid all diverse and distinctive specialty retailers the BEST of LUCK and imagination to provide what WAL-Mart CLEARLY cannot...Quality! How do I empathize this topic with such passion, you may ask? I have worked in Retail for over 15 years and BELIEVE ME when I say, WE'VE LOST A LOT!!! Too much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Walmart used to be my absolute favorite store...

    But now after reading this book it really opened my eyes. This books is SHOCKING and very informative! Buy one for every one you know and spread the word! It gives facts from past employees which are amazing you won't believe it. I am a mom who loves to save money whenever I can but I can't bring myself to go back in Walmart after reading this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    A disturbing look at a giant

    You'll be shocked at what you learn from this book. From the retailer's questionable business practices to what a big box can do to a small town. This book is a real eye opener. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1