Customer Reviews for

How the Grinch Stole Christmas!

Average Rating 5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously, Dr. Seuss at his best! I remember having this book re

    Seriously, Dr. Seuss at his best! I remember having this book read to me as a little girl, but I'm going to be honest and say I've not read it to my little ones. It's one and has always been one of my favorite stories, but when you see it every year on television you sort of forget to sit down and read it with your kids.

    What a great book to sit down with and talk to our kids while reading it. Why do you think Christmas is important? Why do our kids? It's such a powerful story about really remembering the greater meaning behind the holiday, it's not just about the toys. My kids have seen the cartoon every year, but sitting with them and reading HOW THE GRINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS was more fun than watching the cartoon (but we will still watch), it was fun talking to them--I sometimes forget to stop while watching a program and find out what they are thinking. Reading to them allows me to remember to take the time.

    This is one I'm sure you read as a kid and should read with yours :) Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Perfect book!

    Perfect book! It never gets old! My three year olds will listen to me read this book over and over again yet will not sit through the movie. Love this book and so do my kids!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    Christmas Classic

    I bought this for my 4-year-old godson this Christmas. He enjoyed it even more than the TV show, which is a great review in my book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE Christmas Classic

    My 4 year-old son is in love with this story. It's one he requests all year long. This is true to the original so the illustrations are monochromatic but the lilting, rhyming verse more than paints a vivid picture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dr. Seuss of course!

    Wonderful holiday story. My kids love it and tell it to me on their own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Classic

    This story is a great classic. It should be a part of every child's (and adults!) collection. I am a first grade teacher and every year my students are anxious to hear this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Christmas presents

    This is a timeless story in my family, so I wanted to pass this to my daughter. Oh the memories we will share and make...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    learning the real meaning of christmas

    "how the grinch stole christmas" is a classic story that shows the true meaning of christmas. a grinch lives up in the snowy hills and hates the small town of whoville but more important he hates christmas but what he doesnt realize is what christmas is all about. so the grinch figures if he can go down on christmas eve and steal everyones presents down in who ville thean he will stop christmas as he does so he finds out that christmas is still taking place with out their presents the grinch finds out that its their faith and christmas is in their heart and as the story ends the grinch finds out what christmas is all about its not about presents its about faith and whats in the heart. great gift idea for children and adults

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    An old favorite

    I bought this for my 22 yr old daughter as a Christmas present. This has been her favorite Christmas story since childhood. The actions of Max being fitted as a reindeer and how he "leads" the sleigh is adorable. A must read for all, both young and old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Christmas Classic

    Classic Dr. Seuss book about the true meaning of Christmas. Timeless in it's message and appeal. A must for your home collection. Makes a wonderful Christmas gift to be cherished for years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Grinchy Classic

    The classic tale gets better each year. The perfect holiday book for kids of all ages that teaches the lessons of Christmas. A must have for your home library and a great Christmas gift for those little ones you love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Five stars is not enough for a wonderful book such as this one is

    Ever since I was little, I have loved this book. My father is a huge Dr. Seuss fan, so for christmas last year, I gave this book to him. The themes this book gets across are timeless, and they apply as much today as they did thirty years ago. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves christmas and who gives of themselves not just on christmas, but everyday after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2002

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!

    This has got to be one of the best Christmas books that I've ever read. Dr. Seuss is the man!! I love this book! I'm going to make it a family tradition to read this every Christmas Eve! Maybe we'll even watch the movie!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2001

    The Best Christmas Book

    This is the best Christmas book of all time!!!! Great for all ages. Everyone in my family loves this book. Pass it on to your children they'll love it!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    my favorite book is how the grinch stole christmas

    my favorite book is how the grinch stole christmas by Dr Seuss This book is about a grinch who stole christmas This book is funny and silly I like it has rhyming and silly My favorite part was when the grinch took presents and when he gave the presents back People might like it because it has rhyming words people might like it because it is funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Timeless

    I never tire of this book. As with most of Dr. Seuss's books, it's got a great message. Another of my favorites is, The Butter Battle Book, also by Dr. Seuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    A timeless classic

    Sends an important message that Christmas doesn't come from a store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This book makes a great Christmas gift. Children will definitely love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    My daughter loves it.

    My daughter saw the cartoon on t.v and loved it, so I decided to buy How the Grinch Stole Christmas for her. She was thrilled with it and kept saying how much the book is like the cartoon. I highly recommend it for any toddler or child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2001

    An Eloquent Vision of the True Spirit of Christmas

    This book clearly deserves more than five stars. It has become an important Christmas classic that will probably increase its influence on generations to come. Psychologists have told us for years that many people are depressed by the thought of another Christmas coming. The more laughter, entertaining, and gifts, the more depressed they get. For some this may relate to the darkness of the season as we approach the Winter solstice in the Northern Hemisphere. For others, it's related to a sense of inadequacy, a gap between how they would like their life to be and how it actually is. From the first time I ever heard this story as a youngster, I've always thought that Dr. Seuss must have known a few such people. The story opens with a classic statement of contrast. 'Every Who Down in Who-ville Liked Christmas a lot . . .' 'But the Grinch, Who lived just north of Who-ville, Did NOT!' We don't know why he didn't like Christmas, just the things he didn't like about it, such as noise, feasting, and singing. The only glimpse we get as to causation for those reactions is that it 'may have been that his heart was two sizes too small.' Unfortunately, his dislike carried over to the Whos. 'He stood there on Christmas Eve, hating the Whos.' The primary action in the story is built around the antihero concept of Santa Claus. It makes for good fun, and certainly exercises the reader's imagination in all kinds of humorous ways. The Whos respond to the Grinch in the true Christmas spirit, which evokes a loving vision of caring that will impress all who read about it. Then the Grinch has his epiphany. ''Maybe Christmas,' he thought, 'doesn't come from a store. Maybe Christmas . . . perhaps . . . means a little bit more!'' If you don't know how the story ends, I'll leave it to you to read it for yourself or to see the movie. The great strength of this story is that it is aimed at the child reader or listener. At a young age, it is very easy to be overwhelmed by all of the fuss and potential for receiving gifts . . . and not receive much impression of the spiritual meaning of Christmas. When the Whos wake up on Christmas Day and act as they do, you can ask your child why she or he thinks that the Whos did that. Your child may not know. Then you can take the time to explain what you feel their reaction means in terms of your own beliefs. It's a remarkable way to be sure that the true spirit of Christmas is continually reintroduced to the next group of youngsters. It is inevitable that people compare this story to Dickens' A Christmas Carol. Scrooge and the Grinch each have their new visions of Christmas. When we read Dickens, we read it as a cautionary tale for adults. When we read the Grinch, we read it as a cautionary tale for children and adults. In the long run, the Grinch may be more influential as a result. But you don't have to choose one or the other. You can read and enjoy both each Christmas. If you cannot afford to spend this much for the book now, you can buy the coloring book version at

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3