Customer Reviews for

How the Light Gets In (Armand Gamache Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I would give this book 10 stars or more if I could. When I was a

I would give this book 10 stars or more if I could. When I was approved for the egalley, being the mature professional librarian that I am, I went up to one of my coworkers who also reads the series and basically said “Nya! Nya! I got to read the book early”. That is t...
I would give this book 10 stars or more if I could. When I was approved for the egalley, being the mature professional librarian that I am, I went up to one of my coworkers who also reads the series and basically said “Nya! Nya! I got to read the book early”. That is the level of devotion that this entire series inspires in its readers.
After the emotional ending of the previous book, I was prepared for this one to be heavy duty but I had no idea how much this emotion this book would evoke. I literally sat on my couch for hours barely able to take a breath because I was so caught up into the story. Looking back at the previous books, one can see all of the clues leading up to the finish of this book but it is absolutely stunning to see how they all come together.
When this book begins, Gamache is seemingly hanging on by a thread. His agents have been scattered all through the department and he has a group of disrespectful yahoos working for him. But his enemies haven't won the war, only the first skirmish. Gamache still has some fight left in him and he has friends in powerful places. As in all of Ms. Penny's books, there are side stories that seem to have no reflection on the main plot but everything, I mean everything is important!
Inspector Gamache gets involved in the disappearance of a woman who had visited Three Pines and planned to return but never showed up. As he digs deeper into her life, he discovers facts about her life that will surprise all who knew her. Readers over a certain age will remember the actual situation that inspired this story line and what a huge story it was in its day.
Anyone who has followed this series will be crazy while reading this book, so just leave them alone and be prepared for a lot of emotion after they are done. While one part of Gamache’s life is resolved, the ending opens up a lot of questions about what the future holds for Gamache and all of us loyal readers!

posted by SharonRedfern on August 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Slow

I had trouble following the story

posted by Annie97 on September 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I would give this book 10 stars or more if I could. When I was a

    I would give this book 10 stars or more if I could. When I was approved for the egalley, being the mature professional librarian that I am, I went up to one of my coworkers who also reads the series and basically said “Nya! Nya! I got to read the book early”. That is the level of devotion that this entire series inspires in its readers.
    After the emotional ending of the previous book, I was prepared for this one to be heavy duty but I had no idea how much this emotion this book would evoke. I literally sat on my couch for hours barely able to take a breath because I was so caught up into the story. Looking back at the previous books, one can see all of the clues leading up to the finish of this book but it is absolutely stunning to see how they all come together.
    When this book begins, Gamache is seemingly hanging on by a thread. His agents have been scattered all through the department and he has a group of disrespectful yahoos working for him. But his enemies haven't won the war, only the first skirmish. Gamache still has some fight left in him and he has friends in powerful places. As in all of Ms. Penny's books, there are side stories that seem to have no reflection on the main plot but everything, I mean everything is important!
    Inspector Gamache gets involved in the disappearance of a woman who had visited Three Pines and planned to return but never showed up. As he digs deeper into her life, he discovers facts about her life that will surprise all who knew her. Readers over a certain age will remember the actual situation that inspired this story line and what a huge story it was in its day.
    Anyone who has followed this series will be crazy while reading this book, so just leave them alone and be prepared for a lot of emotion after they are done. While one part of Gamache’s life is resolved, the ending opens up a lot of questions about what the future holds for Gamache and all of us loyal readers!

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    This book is the best by far I have read this year. The last one

    This book is the best by far I have read this year. The last one in the series made me cry at the end - this one brought out many emotions and I don't want to say more and spoil a single aspect of the plot. You should read the books in order. I must admit I flagged the single one star review (which came out before the publication date) because I think this book desevres a perfect five star rating and that reviewer cannot have read the book...

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Best I've Read This Year

    I fluctuate in my feelings towards Louise Penney's books. Although her prose is always a delight, some of them are just too dour for me. After the last one, I shook my head and said, "she's turning into Ruth Rendell." (And one Rendell is more than enough for me.)

    THIS book, however, is wonderful in every way. I love Three Pines, and felt like I was revisiting old friends there, the characterizations are so vivid, witty, and full of heart. Ruth and Rosa will remain with me forever.

    The book is also intricately plotted, the various mysteries (both criminal and emotional) unravelled plausibly, yet surprisingly, and there is palpable tension throughout.

    Highly recommended.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Best One Yet!

    I've read all of Louise Penny's Inspector Gamache books, and was disappointed in her last one; however "How The Light Gets In" is terrific! She very adroitly balances two stories and brings them both to interesting and satisfactory conclusions. Anyone who has followed the characters in this series will be pleased with every aspect of the book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    What a wonderful book! I've loved every one of Louise Penny's G

    What a wonderful book! I've loved every one of Louise Penny's Gamache books, but felt frustrated by the last book, The Beautiful Mystery. How the Light Gets In introduces a thrilling mystery, resolves a recent story arc, and also seemingly resolves the story arc that has run through each of the nine books so far. Penny's prose is lovely, as always, but this is a riveting story of history, loyalty, forgiveness, love and redemption. Penny's books seem to come out during my birthday week each year. She makes aging worthwhile, as I dearly look forward to her books. And while this book had the air of a conclusion, it also left the reader with limitless possibilities to reunite with a wonderful "family" of characters. I can't wait until next year. Vive Gamache!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    I couldn't wait to read Louise Penny's newest book. I pre-order

    I couldn't wait to read Louise Penny's newest book. I pre-ordered and kept checking on the release date. I couldn't put the book down and read it in 2 days (as one does have to sleep and work). As you read this book, you cannot help wonder if this is it, will there be another book after this on. Chapter by chapter, the author takes you on an emotional rollercoaster, one minute hopeful, the next minute dreading the ending. Even as I started to read the last chapter, I didn't know what to expect. I cried and still don't know if this is the end of the series. I love her books and the characters. I felt like I was sitting in Olivier and Gabri's bistro and listening to Myrna tell the story of Constance. Ruth showed us how a self-less act of love can let the light get in.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice read! An emotional drive so mysterious that you will feel y

    Nice read! An emotional drive so mysterious that you will feel your heart become dry. a good plot and character sketch.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    One of the few authors that can make me love the people in the w

    One of the few authors that can make me love the people in the world of her creation so much that I cry with their joys and weep with their sorrows. Thank you Ms. Penny for a book a luminous as Clara's paintings. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Pracr Practically pperfect PRACTICALLY perfecr Practically perfect!

    Wonderful

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Balanced Series

    These books must be read in order to fully understand and experience this and all preceeding novels. While murder most foul occurs and is solved, the setting of Three Pines and its residents soften the story line's violence. This is as much about discovering personalities and one's self as it is about the current crime. This is not hard core murder (which I also enjoy) but about people coming together as small villages do. There are twists and turns aplenty, but the characters are the real stars of this novel. Not wanting to label this as a "spoiler alert" I will only say that it appears someone's "door has closed" and I can only hope that another "door" will open in the next novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Wonderful story

    I love this series. I only hope that this isn't the final book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    This was a wonderful book. Reading the Gamache series of books

    This was a wonderful book. Reading the Gamache series of books in order builds steadily and surely to this book's culmination. What a climax! I sat on the very edge of my bed reading right through the afternoon opting to miss a final summer gathering of friends. Through all the wonderful books I've read, that magical, heart stopping drawing into the pages is a feeling I always hope for, but seldom get. When it happens, as it does in this book, it's pure bliss. Thank you Louise Penny. As another said and I agree...anyone who thinks this is a boring book cannot have read the series or it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Back to the good stuff

    In the beginning I was concerned because Gamache seemed to be loosing against the forces of evil and I was concerned for the strength of the character. The book takes up from the end of the last one about the monastery. But Penny didn't let me down and her cast of characters were all there in all their splendor. Lots of atmosphere to take you away from your everyday trials and frustrations. A good read. I hope the series continues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Magnificent - Ms. Penny's ninth is the best yet

    There was a tiny café in the rural village in which I grew up in the 1950's. It was unique because it was decorated with photos, paintings and memorabilia of the Dionne quintuplets. I found it fascinating that a US family that had travelled to Ontario 20 years earlier would still be excited about those five little girls. So it made sense to me that Louise Penny would use the device of a fictional set of quints, and have her wonderful Armand Gamache mine the phenomenon for an amazing offering of human strengths and frailties surrounding a tragic murder of the last surviving quint.

    Of course, the story of the murdered quint is a secondary, albeit productive and entertaining story line. If you are like me, and were left unsettled and sad by the unresolved issues at the end of her 8th novel, you will be delighted that at the end of "How the Light Gets In" the grand conspiracy that has simmered beneath the surface of all her Gamache books is resolved. Although imperfectly, all the misfits and damaged souls find salvation. With some painful hesitations, the good people of her wonderful village of Three Pines find the courage they need. All these things are knit together with Ms. Penny's wonderful command of English (and enough French) and a truly beautiful sprinkling of humor.

    Oh yes, and it helps to find a recording of that wonderful song, "Anthem" by the incredible Canadian treasure, Leonard Cohen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    I enormously love reading Louise Penny. Her books bring cascade

    I enormously love reading Louise Penny. Her books bring cascades of tears to my eyes due to the friendship and love. Inspector Gamache inspires me to press on and not fold in spite of the odds. The story demonstrates what love and hope and loyalty will accomplish. I adore the ending, and know that the series will not end. Penny does show greed and corruption, but as the title implies, the light will get in. I would love to move to Three Pines and experience the camaraderie of a small village. Does such a place truly exist? Each novel brings out the whole village, but the story usually centers on a few of the characters. The reader can see each lovable character through Penny's writing. The scenes are laughable and sometimes bring tears. Will Yvette Nichol ever have a friend?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    One of Louise Penny's best in her Armand Gamache Series! I have enjoyed all her books.

    When reading the Armand Gamache Series, I would recommend starting with the first book of the series, if possible.

    Our having visited Quebec has made all her books in this series all that more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    highly recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book. It was quite different from others I have read of the same characters. Very deep -kept you in suspense and wondering throughout. Feel many will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended

    I could not put the book down. Maybe her best. I've read the whole series. Can't wait for her next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    WOW! I think this is the best book in the series about Armand Ga

    WOW! I think this is the best book in the series about Armand Gamache and the wonderful Village of Three Pines. Louise Penny.gives us a murder mystery, political intrigue, suspense

    and excitement. I hated to put this book down. I have loved all her books and fallen in love with the people of Three Pines. I cannot wait to read Louise Penny's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    I love this series

    I love this series and I loved this book. So glad they went back to Three Pines for the setting. Louise Penny describes her characters so clearly that they seem like old friends, though I would have liked to have more involvement by the locals just so I could find out how they are doing. My only problem is that it might be the last book in the series. And if it is, how will we ever find out about Clara and Peter?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6