Customer Reviews for

How the Marquess Was Won (Pennyroyal Green Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    One of the best!

    I read a lot of historical romances of the Regency era and this book was one of the best. I look for writing that isn't repetitious as I hate to be "hit over the head" with either the past issues of the characters or with a description of their attributes. I enjoy good writing that enables me to visualize the scene. In this book, the dialogue was clever, the insight into the characters interesting and amusing, and the plot engaging. It was delightful. The author has written several books that revolve around two families (the Pennyroyal Green series) but those characters are mentioned in passing and the prior books do not need to be read before reading this one (but they were very good, too!).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book! It was romantic and so funny. I love when a book makes me laugh out load. I love any book Julie Anne Long writes, but she really out did herself with this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    fabulous! worth every minute to read!!!! could not put down!

    this is a fabulous read!!! i have enjoyed all of the pennyrile green books but i think this just might be my favorite! great job and highly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable historical romance!

    How the Marquess was Won, is the latest in a series by Julie Anne Long. Phoebe Vale is a teacher in a girl¿s school who is invited to spend the holidays with one of her former pupils, Lisbeth. Prior to her leaving she meets Julian, Lord Dryden, while at a local merchant. One of his companions makes an improper wager regarding Phoebe that she overhears. When Lord Dryden appears later at the school, supposedly to look for a place for his niece, Phoebe engages him in a spirited conversation. Thinking that she will never see him again, she is pleasantly surprised to see him again at Lisbeth¿s house party. It soon becomes obvious that Lisbeth¿s family is pushing for a match with Dryden and Phoebe finds herself in the middle. Phoebe and Dryden have a strong attraction to each other but both realize it can¿t go anywhere. Phoebe is planning to go off and do missionary work so she decides to let herself go for this last time. Dryden has genuine feelings for her but he cannot wed a nobody. It¿s a fairly common theme in historical romance novels, but Ms. Long manages to rise above the convention and add a new twist to the plot. Phoebe is perfectly done as a young woman who wants a lovely memory to hold onto when she surrenders to the inevitable and goes off to do good works. Dryden has genuine feelings for Phoebe and is conflicted about it. When he discovers something that will cause Phoebe a great deal of pain and humiliation, he tries his best to remedy the situation. Unfortunately, things don¿t always go as planned. There is a little bit of everything in this book- romance, humor, intrigue, backstabbing, all wrapped up in an enjoyable story. This is the 6th book in the series and I have not read the earlier ones, but I will be doing so. Ms. Long definitely needs to be added to the list of authors to watch out for her new books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Best of the series so far!

    I rarely write reviews but I loved this book! The characters were great and I laughed and cried right along with the characters. The Marquess was perfectly imperfect and I loved that Ms. Vale was not intimidated in the least.

    Definitely buy this book but make sure you have time to read it in one sitting because I could not put it down once I started reading. Great and I cannot wait for the next one in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    FABULOUS

    Julie Anne Long's prose is sparkling. Like a glass of champagne at midnight on New Year's Eve. If you must stay in that night this is the perfect book to lose yourself in until you hear the new year chimes. The story begins with a wager. Can Dryden get a kiss from the schoolteacher? Well, the fact that she has a crush on him makes it a bit easier for him. What he wasn't counting on was his attraction to her. Phoebe is no beauty but an enchanting character that he becomes enthralled with. This is my new favorite story of Ms. Long's. She did an outstanding job.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Lovely Find

    This is the first book I've read by this author and it certainly was a delightful find. Julie Anne Long writes with the wit and charm of Julia Quinn. She has incredible character development and at the end of the book you can certainly see why, not simply that, the characters love each other. This is a definite multiple read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Good Read but Lacking Solidity.

    There are 2 reasons why I didn't give it 5 stars. 1). The heroine was very impervious. I wish her character was a little less resistant. Shes suppose to be human after all. 2) The ending. I was expecting a much different ending. The ending wasn't bad but I was disappointed to see how it turned out. Overall, its a good read, but not as good as What I Did For a Duke.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    WONDERFUL ADDITION TO THE PENNYROYAL SERIES!! HOW THE MARQUESS

    WONDERFUL ADDITION TO THE PENNYROYAL SERIES!!

    HOW THE MARQUESS WAS WON:PENNYROYAL GREEN SERIES by Julie Anne Long is a wonderful addition to the Pennyroyal Green series,but can be read as as stand alone. See “The Perils of Pleasure, Like No Other Lover, Since the Surrender,I Kissed an Earl,What I Did for a Duke”. Julian Spenser, Marquess Dryden,is considered The Lord of Ice until he meets Lisbeth Redmond then he was lost. When you play with fire,you could get burned. Together, Lisbeth and Julian has witty banter, passion, scandal,while Lisbeth melts the icy heart of Julian and he unravels her desire and passion. A wonderful story from beginning to end. Written with a strong cast of characters who will capture your heart. A must read for any one who enjoys historical romance,Regency England,and a great continuance into the
    }Pennyroyal Green” series.I have so enjoyed this series. This author knows how to write a story with witty banter,and a characters that leave you panting and sighing for more. I can hardly wait for the next installment. A must read. Received for an honest review from Net Galley and the publisher. Details can be found at Avon,an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers,the author’s website, and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Best in the series

    As my header states, this is my favourite in the series. I love the story of a seemingly average girl being revealed as anything but. It proves that adage: Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    A+ romance novel

    One of the best historic romances I've read in awhile. I didn't want this book to end. The characters are written so that you can't help cheer for them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    One of the best books I've read in a long time...

    I loved this book! It was witty, funny and romantic - the perfect combination. This is the 4th book I have read by Julie Anne Long and each one I read is better than the last - this one is by far my favorite. The dialogue is clever and fast paced and the characters are so likeable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    A great story!

    I love Julie's books and highly recommend them. The story and characters grab you immediately and hang on until the last page. I never miss her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Very romantic! Not to be missed.

    This author has not disappointed me yet. She takes what could be a pretty ordinary plot but takes it to the next level with witty dialog and a forbidden attraction that slowing builds into a steamy conclusion. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't miss this one!

    Lately, I've read a lot of books that were readable, but not particularly good. This book was excellent: witty dialogue, three-dimensional characters, a tried, but true storyline that worked in this case. I haven't laughed so much in a long time. If you like historical romance from the Regency period, you'll probably like this book.
    I've read other books by Ms. Long, and enjoyed them enough to be a repeat customer of hers, but this one is by far her best. I hope she continues with her Pennyroyal Green series. I'll definitely be waiting for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    I think is the best one so far

    A very good story, hilarious in places. I laughed so much over Jules and the cat you have to read it to appreciate it. Miss Vale is the best. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Good ending

    The ending was better than the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Exceptional

    Exceptional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Fun read!

    Enjoyed the humor. The story had believable characters....and it was good to see a "common" person recognized for her true worth. Some good life lessons presented....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Good

    It could of used more sex from the start not when the book was around page 200 of a 277 page book. This book was good nonetheless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4