Customer Reviews for

How to Be Bad

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    HOW TO BE BAD is the perfect book for a girl-bonding summer road trip adventure! <BR/><BR/>Three girls, each with their own internal struggles, head out on a weekend road trip to Miami to visit the one girl's boyfriend. Vicks and Jesse are best friends. Mel is the newcomer but envies the friendship Vicks and Jesse share and invites herself along for the trip, offering to pay for lodging, snacks, and fuel. <BR/><BR/>Jesse is dealing with her mother's recent cancer diagnosis. She wants more than anything to tell Vicks, for they share everything, but hasn't been able to bring herself to do it. <BR/><BR/>Vicks is trying to not be a needy girlfriend. Her boyfriend has left for freshman year of university and has barely contacted her in the two weeks he's been gone. She misses him terribly and is convinced he's fooling around with a hot college girl. <BR/><BR/>Mel's family has just moved to Florida from Montreal, Canada. Florida is an entirely different world to her. She is reserved and lives in the shadow of her popular older sister. She desperately wants to break out of her shell, but doesn't know how. She hopes some of Vicks' outgoing personality will rub off on her. <BR/><BR/>They begin their trip Friday once Vicks gets off work. Jesse takes her mom's car without proper permission, and the three are off. Their adventures bring them to a giant preserved alligator, a cute hitchhiker, a house party with too much alcohol, Disney World, and a few other places along the way. <BR/><BR/>As will happen when confined with each other for far too long in a way too hot car, tempers flair, emotions erupt, and friendships are solidified. <BR/><BR/>HOW TO BE BAD is creatively written in alternating chapters by three popular authors. The story flows seamlessly between each chapter, making the reader curious as to which character belongs to which author. The story is emotional, triumphant, and you come away feeling like you've just received a great big hug. Each author is amazing on her own merits, but as a team, they've taken it up a notch and have written a fantastic book. One that every girl and her best friends will come to love.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Hfhfbfbf

    Great!!!!! But a little imutre

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Five Stars!!!

    "How to be Bad" is a wonderful book, full of friendship troubles so realistic they make you anxious, boys, and a bunch of background-introducing flashbacks. The book's narration switches off from three girls. Two of them, Jesse and Vicks, are BFFs, but recently, they have been pulling apart, due to family and boyfriend troubles. Then Mel comes along, a new rich girl from Canada. Together, the three of them set out on an unforgettable road trip, rebuilding their friendship, which is now even stronger. This book made me laugh, cry, and get so angry that I wanted to throw my NOOK at the wall.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    When I began to read ths book I wasn't sure if I would like it. But as I began to read I found the book to be interesting,realistic, and it just pulls you in. My favorite character was Jesse because she is the one I can relate to the most, not because she is very into god and religion; but because in a way she was the more serious one, she recycled cans during a party and also keept her crush on Penn to herself.Overall I loved reading this book. However the ending kind of left me hanging. Maybe is just a personal preference but I like the books that I read to be throughout. This means that when I read a book I want to know what happens to the characters at the end of it. Unless this book is a first of a series which I don't know and don't think it is, I would have liked some answers to the questions that I had while finishing this book. What does Jesse tell her mom? How does her mom respong?Why does Penn always act like Jesse doesn't exist? What will happen with Mel and Marco?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Fabulous Book from Fabulous Author Trio

    Jesse, Vicks, and Mel are all residents of not-so-appropriately-named Niceville, Florida. Jesse is fed up with her mother and just wants to get away. Vicks, the wild one, misses her boyfriend who left for college two weeks ago. Mel is the rich but sweet girl who just wants to make friends. Somehow these three coworkers end up on a weekend road trip. Jesse provides the car, Mel has the cash, and Vicks encourages the spontaneity and excitement. Though the destination is Miami, pit stops and detours will be made, leading them into disasters or unexpected solutions. This road trip will alter their friendships and even the way they view life. Though I have previously read novels by only one-third of the fabulous authors who wrote How to Be Bad, I knew from the first moment I heard that E. Lockhart, Sarah Mlynowski, and Lauren Myracle were writing a novel together that their book would be mandatory reading material for me. And I most definitely wasn¿t disappointed. I loved how each chapter was told from one of the girl¿s point-of-view (even though I did get confused a couple of times). Jesse, Vicks, and Mel were each wonderfully crafted and developed I loved how they were so unique and complemented each other. The plot was a perfect mix of romance, friendship and personal issues, emotional realizations, and even physical danger. I really enjoyed the random details too, because it made the story all the more realistic. If I had one problem with How to Be Bad, it was that Jesse¿s religious fervor didn¿t always seem to fit with her character until the end of the story. However, this didn¿t diminish the fact that How to Be Bad was simply a fantastic novel. How to Be Bad has a little bit of something for everyone, and I most definitely recommend it. In fact, I enjoyed this book so much that I am motivated to read up on the two-thirds of this author team whose works I have not read yet (Sarah Mlynowski and Lauren Myracle, I confess). If you¿ve ever enjoyed a novel by any one of these awesome authors or are up for a great read, then get How to Be Bad. I promise you won¿t regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Idk

    Idkk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Awesome and exciting!

    This book is definatly for anyone who like humor, romance, and bits of suspence! Very well written. An enjoyab

    le read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Kyoclaw

    Im locked out!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Omg!!!!!! I cant wait to read!!!

    My three fav authors!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Road Trip!

    Three girls, two best friends and one newbie, decide on going on a road trip. The newbie wants to become part of their friendship, but what she doesn't realize is that the friendship is falling apart. Jesse's got a family secret that she hasn't shared with Vicks and it's killing her. She's also trying to make sense of the world through her Christian views. Vicks despises the judgmental part of her best friend and keeps parts of her life hidden because she knows that Jesse will disapprove. Stuck together, the three girls fight, laugh, cry, almost die, and maybe reach the point of all around friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I thought it was a pretty good book!

    I enjoyed this book,it was a good just for fun book.I hope you like it the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Perfection

    I am totally in LOVE with this book, of course I'm sure it dosnt hurt that these are three of my favorite authors. Mel was definietly my favorite character. Read this book, its absolutley fabulastic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Amazing

    This book is great. And not just because it's written by 3 of my favorite authors. I especially love the touch of romance along in the book. Mel has got to be my favorite character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    YAY!

    This book is soo so so good. Makes me want to go on a road trip!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    A reviewer

    i havent read this book but im sure its good cuz ALL books that are written by lauren myracle are good!no, acually they are great!!!!im planning to get this book next time i go to barnes n nobles though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2