Customer Reviews for

How to Be Black

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Funny and Insightful

I know the title might throw a lot of people off and might even turn people off from reading a few sample pages. This book attempts to go beyond the stereotypes of what people might see on tv and in movies. The different insights are great. No group is a monolith. Eveyo...
I know the title might throw a lot of people off and might even turn people off from reading a few sample pages. This book attempts to go beyond the stereotypes of what people might see on tv and in movies. The different insights are great. No group is a monolith. Eveyone has different experiences, different perspectives, and different personal struggles. That being said, if past experience proves correct, most of the reviews here will be by those who have not read a page of this book but are only making assumptions based on the title.

posted by 9455995 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

What?

U can't be black just by reading this book u got to be black not just know what we like. By black boy

posted by 5523070 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Funny and Insightful

    I know the title might throw a lot of people off and might even turn people off from reading a few sample pages. This book attempts to go beyond the stereotypes of what people might see on tv and in movies. The different insights are great. No group is a monolith. Eveyone has different experiences, different perspectives, and different personal struggles. That being said, if past experience proves correct, most of the reviews here will be by those who have not read a page of this book but are only making assumptions based on the title.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Excellent Book - But Not Enhanced! Poor e-Book Implementation

    So far as *How To Be Black* goes, buy it! It's excellent. You don't have to be black, Baratunde lets non-black people read it too! I'm one of them, and I not only enjoyed it immensely, but learned a lot and was humbled a bit, too. I'm grateful he decided to write this book. 5 stars for the book itself.

    But buy it as a physical BOOK, not an e-book.

    Because as good as Thurston's book is, Barnes & Noble's e-book implementation is not - maybe 2 stars. Why? Because not all the features worked when I read it on my Nook Color (up-to-date with the latest software) - none of the videos played, for instance. The pages turned, at least on my Nook. But not so on my Android tablet using the B&N app. I couldn't even open the book there!

    When you're charged this much for an e-book, which costs them what - a few cents? - to send you, I expect the "enhancements" to work perfectly when it's on the device for which it was intended. And I should be able to at least read it on my other devices. Not so in this case.

    Great book, poor e-book implementation. Fail. Not acceptable. Game over! Sorry, B&N, but this Nook owner will tread much more carefully before making another expensive purchase from your store.

    If you're looking to buy this book, I recommend it highly. But buy the book, and let the "enhanced" e-book alone. It wasn't worth the money to me.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Now I can finally be black!

    Seriously, this is a very funny book by a very funny guy. Baratunde takes a sensitive and potentially explosive topic (race relations) and puts a satirical spin on it. The chapters are a combination of advice and (sometimes painful) personal experience. I'm giving it as a gift to the white people in my life...which is, well, all of them....

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    DIY Blackness?

    I'm white and my family has been for a very long time, but I've always wanted to be black. I love gospel music, Louie Armstrong, Martin Luther King and I think black is beautiful. I will buy this book today after seeing Baratunde Thurston's interview on the Last Word.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    1. FIRST OFF. Okay, to the people ranting about how a book can't make you black, you are so uninformed and are wasting your time. This book is playful, sarcastic, hilarious, and if you recognized the cynicism in the description and title then you would know he makes some of the same points you're making. I HAVE ACTUALLY READ THIS BOOK. So i can make a testament to that.

    2. This book is fantastic. You will laugh harder than you thought you could laugh from a nonfiction autobiography!

    3. Baratunde is an extremely talented and witty writer but does not let his jokes and humor compromise how well he writes.

    4. I'm African American but I KNOW that this book would be enjoyed by every kind of person!

    READ IT!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    A little humor. A lot of race.

    I first heard about this book when the author was on NPR. He was funny but also addressed some serious issues. If you liike edgy and thoughtful humor you will like this book. Great read for the hip thirty something crowd. If you have a black friend or are thinking about getting one read this book. If you enjoyed stuff white people like then this book is for you. If you want to be the next black president you should read this book. Good stuff.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    :)

    Okay so ive only read the sample, so far and it seem sto promise a very good book. After reading all of the negative reviews, i notices some came after only reading the title of the book. Come on people!! At least read the sample first. I heard him on NPR and had to find this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    interesting

    I read this book having heard an interview with Baratunde Thurston. I did not really know about him prior to the interview. I am a fairly liberal and well educated white person. But I always have more to learn and I am very interested in other people's experience. That being said, I believe I missed much of the humor and wit in this book because it hit a bit close to home. I am thankful for that -- it is so often difficult to see one's own fault. The book is well presented and I liked the inclusion of other voices as well as the Shakespeare quotes that weren't.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Excellent book! If you gave it one star based on its title, sham

    Excellent book! If you gave it one star based on its title, shame on you! Ever heard the expression "don't judge a book by its cover"? Don't worry, the book is not truly intended to be a manual for white people on how to be black, nor is it a primer for blacks on how to behave. If you actually read even just the beginning, you would see that It is an intentionally shockingly titled, thought provoking, sarcastic, funny, poignant, part satire, part memoir that challenges us to rethink the labels that society is so quick to place on people. You do not have to share the author's political views to enjoy the book, actually, that's part of the idea. "Blackness" is not one dimensional. It is as faceted, and varied as the faces of those who make up its spectrum. The book is well worth the read, but I highly recommend the audiobook version. It is read by the author, and provides a much fuller experience. After you read it, this is one to keep around as an excellent conversation starter!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Buy it!

    I bought this book before I got my nook. I spent more than 20 minutes in the book aisle of Target reading it; I had to buy it! It is humorous, poignantly honest and revealing; reminiscent of my own upbringing, adolescence, college life, parenting and work place experiences. Don't let the title bother you; that's actually the draw. It is definitely a book for all to enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    What?

    U can't be black just by reading this book u got to be black not just know what we like. By black boy

    3 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    To all negative comments

    Hello?! This was put in the humor book section for a reason! This was as a joke ovbiously I mean really! It want meant to be racist.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Well

    I have not read this book but the title seems odd im mixed but if u were 2 make a book called how to be white people would be like thats racist but u mak one called how to be black and it gets like 4 stars : /

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is hilarious. Thurston is a very talented author and he really appeals to all audiences (black and white). I shared this book with my classmates (high school), and hey all wanted to take the book home with them. A great read for all ages and races, Baratunde Thurston's How to Be Black is an amazing satirical read and I give it 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Cool

    Very instresting book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Excellent read

    Loved reading this. I recommend it to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Misty

    I totally agree with the review that says by black boy. U cant be black just by reading this book. I should know. Some people I know are dumb enough to do so and they would read this book, thinking it will help them.

    1 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    A chapter from this book was assigned for one of my college cour

    A chapter from this book was assigned for one of my college courses. My initial reaction was, "I have GOT to read the rest of this book!" I literally read excerpts several times out Ioud for my family and friends because it was SO hilarious. I enjoyed the mix of humor and information about how African-Americans are perceived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    How ever wrote this is racist

    The author is black

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Iriscontrols

    First of all to the "hatters" who are all upset about the title of the book, and haven't even read it, get over yourselves!

    The book is written by a comedian. It isn't meant to be an instruction manual nor is it racist. It's meant to be humorous.

    Remember humor? From Richard Pryor to Steve Harvey, humor is how we Black folks have dealt with many of the daily challenges that would otherwise have us rioting in the streets.

    Secondly, this book points out how we precieve ourselves and others as Black people and how others precieve us. Read the book before you jump to judgements.

    You may find you see some of yourself in the people depicte, you may even learn something about what other Black people have struggled through, you might even find yourself laughing and maybe, just maybe, that will help you get through all the other crap we have to go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3