Customer Reviews for

How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips on Manners and Etiquette for Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Great book!

    This book is exactly what I was looking for to use for my daughters princess birthday party. I wanted something which included biblical principles and a relationship with God. My daughter wants a princess birthday party, and this book will help me with everything I need to make it a success! Thank you Sheila Walsh for a well written book -- God's version of a princess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended- Thomas Nelson Publishers-How to Be God's Little Princess By: Sheila Walsh

    How to Be God's Little Princess By: Sheila Walsh Royal Tips for manners, etiquette, and true beauty ISBN: 978-1-4003-1644-1 Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishers to letting us review this product. Contents: How to Dress Like a Princess How to Wear a Tiara ( and other princess necessities) How a Princess Perfects Her Poise How to Be Friends Princess Style How to Dine with Royal Success How to Sparkle Like a Princess How to Have a Rockin Royal Party How to Be Media Wise How to Be a Perfectly Polite Princess How to Be a Princess at Home How a Princess Sports a Good Attitude How a Princess Knows She Needs an Inner Beauty Makeover Song of Solomon 6:10 Who is that young woman? She shines out like the dawn. She's as pretty as the moon. She's as bright as the sun... Sheila Walsh explains how we as parents we need to be our girls royal advisors in training our girls to act like real princess'. It is a our responsibility to train our girls to act like God would them to act like a real princess. How to Dress Like a Princess This is the section in the book. This chapter is very important because the way our girls dress is a reflection of us. It's very important for our girls to know how to dress and what is a appropriate to wear. Isaiah 61:10 The Lord makes me very happy. All that I am I am rejoices in my God. The Lord has covered me with clothes of salvation. He has covered me with a coat of goodness. In every section they have a QUIZ and sometimes two. They have several questions with multiple answers to choose from. In this section Shelia Walsh is teaching our girls how to match, color coordinating, mix and match, what shoes to wear and to BE MODEST. Step back and look at yourself to see if you are well coordinated and have honored God with your chooses. There is a Tye-Dyed Shirt craft in this section. How to make a Tye-Dyed shirts and what materials are needed. Design your own jewelry. How to make Bangle bracelets, paper beads, and book bag charms. There is also a community project that you can do with your church or with other princess' This has a shell necklace craft also. Psalm 69:34 Heaven and earth should praise him. The seas and everything in them should also. I love that God is ALL over this book. I have meet Sheila Walsh at Women of Faith and her love for God evident. I have almost all of her books and our daughter brings them to me often, this adds to our collection. I will definitely be using this our 6 year old daughter. I know it's my responsibility to train up our girl to be God's Little Princess. Thank you again to Thomas Nelson Publishers for letting us review this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Great girl's book

    It is hard to raise girls in today's world. with so many less than role - role models out there. This book is a great book for the younger tweens to help them see how God's little princesses should conduct themselves. It is a princess go to book for all the best princess secrets.
    It covers the following topics:
    *how to wear a tiara
    *royal table manners
    *the importance of dressing for the occasion
    *internet do's and don'ts
    *hosting the perfect party
    *regal posture and poise
    *how to pen the perfect thank-you note

    I was very impressed with this book. I think it is a great resource for girls. It is full of fun hands on items such as - pictures, quizzes, new ways to fix hair etc. I could see this book making a great gift for any little girl's birthday. I give this book 5 out 5 stars.

    Disclaimer: I was provided a free copy of this book for review purposes. The opinions in this review are my own and are not influenced by the company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    How to be God's Little Princess

    How to be God's Little Princess by Sheila Walsh is a great little book for any little girl who wants to learn how to behave like a young lady and bring glory to God. This little pink book contains tips for manners, etiquette and true beauty. Inside this book you will find tips on subjects such as: how to wear a tiara, royal table manners, the importance of dressing for the occasion, internet do's and don'ts, hosting the perfect party, regal posture and poise, and how to pen the perfect thank-you note. So many girls these days don't know the first thing about what it means to be a real lady and Shiela Walsh brings it all back in this fun little book. This book doesn't just contain lists of do's and don'ts but includes fun crafts, activities and quizzes all designed to emphasize the lessons inside. The illustrations inside are attractive and delightful for any young girl. I can see how this book would be designed with little girls in mind, however I am 13 and enjoy this book a lot myself. My sister and I are enjoying going through this book together and learning how to be God's little princesses!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    A Primer for God's Little Princesses

    Peer pressure can play a strong role in a young girl's choices. Now Sheila Walsh offers a guidebook to aid girls in making Christian choices. "How to Be God's Little Princess" takes a fun approach to a potentially stressful subject.

    With chapter titles like "How to Dress Like a Princess" and "How to Wear a Tiara (and other princess necessities)," you might mistake this book for a very vain directive for spoiled girls. On the contrary, Walsh provides practical advice on making solid life choices without talking down to girls. Other subjects include poise, friendship, table and general manners and party planning.

    Walsh encourages royal behavior in her young reader through a number of devices. The attributes of a princess parade through the book, providing a positive example for her. A typical chapter might include a multiple choice quiz, a "What's wrong with this picture?" exercise to help build critical thinking skills or a puzzle. Parents become "royal advisors" to the princess.

    The light-hearted treatment doesn't diminish the importance of the message. Walsh gives girls a positive standard to measure their actions against, while giving them the tools to help them reach the goal. She punctuates her points with appropriate scripture references and activities to help a girl grow.

    The illustrations echo earlier "God's Little Princess" publications, creating a connection to other books and materials. Walsh provides those who love a little girl with excellent tools to help her achieve her best. The book is suitable for any girl, from toddlerhood on up. Whether a parent reads the book aloud or the girl can read it for herself, the material will benefit her.

    Sheila Walsh speaks at women's conferences as well as writing for women and young girls. Her books remind readers that they are "a child of the King," and therefore royalty. In a world where entertainers and athletes become poor superstar role models, the reminders are urgently needed.


    This review is based upon a review copy of the book provided by the publisher with no constraints on content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Good read for my daughter and myself

    A book review from my 7-year old daughter, Asha:

    How To Be God's Little Princess by Sheila Walsh is a very silly and fun book. It is based on how God wants you to act, and what sort you should do to follow Him. So it gives you tips, not how to have style beauty, but true beauty -- beauty from the heart.

    The book talks about things from how to wear a royal tiara to Internet do's and don'ts. A royal banquet to a slumber party, this book's got it all. A royal way to understand God and His wonderful world around us.

    Some topics included in the book are:

    Telephone Etiquette: How to answer the phone

    1. "What do you want?"
    2. "Adams' residence."
    3. "She's in the bathroom right now and it's not pretty."

    Which answer would you give? The correct answer is 2, "Adams' residence". You might want to say, "HEY! I want to talk with Nichole, NOW!" but God really doesn't like when we do. So you might say instead, "May I talk with Nichole, please?" And then whoever you're calling might say, "Yes, wait one moment," and go get her.

    Napkin No-No's:

    Suddenly you realize more spaghetti sauce went on your mouth then in it. What do you do? Not the tablecloth, not the curtain, not a passing dog-- but yes! Your napkin (which should already be lying neatly on your lap) is your best accessory for wiping your messy face.

    I think this is a good God-based book that encourages you to know Him and do the right thing to please Him. God is all-powerful, and we all need to try to do what He says!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Proper manners and etiquette for your young lady involving God's loving light~!!

    My daughter, grand-daughter and I just adored this book. The girls just LOVE to be interactive and this book includes their thoughts while teaching them the proper etiquette and manners enabling them to be beautiful inside and out. I can already see a difference in my daughter, for the first time EVER she allowed her brother the choice of games to play instead of exerting her own control over the situation.

    I also enjoyed answering the girls questions concerning God and being able to reinforce his love of them. Their little faces were beaming and I swore I could see God shining through them. I love how 'How To Be God's Little Princess' is FULL of positive reinforcements, on every page, in every paragraph your child is reminded that they are truly loved and are absolutely perfect just the way they are.

    I would LOVE to see a book for boys "How To Be God's Little Prince", my son would have participated but everything was for girls and he got a little perturbed and I had to tell him that God loves him too and listed all the reasons why (I just read a few pages from the book and used the masculine for it, he seemed pleased).

    A very sweet book for the little princess in your life reinforcing the good in your young ones while reminding them of God's love with biblical quotes to support this fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    great book

    How to Be God's Little Princess by Sheila Walsh gives Royal Tips for Manners, Etiquette, and True Beauty for young girls. The first thing I noticed upon receiving the book was the cute pink and purple cover with a tiara on the front. This book was clearly made with a young girl in mind, and I can't wait to give this book to one of my grand-daughter to enjoy!

    The book is divided into chapters focusing on How to dress like a princess, How to wear a tiara (and other princess necessities), How a princess perfects her poise, How to be friends princess style, How to dine with royal success, How to sparkle like a princess, How to have a rockin' royal party, How to be media wise, How to be a perfectly polite princess, How to be a princess at home, How a princess sports a good attitude, How a princess knows she needs an inner beauty makeover. Throughout the chapters there are various quizzes, projects, and sections for royal notes. Each chapter begins with a short paragraph that indicates how the chapter relates to God's desires. There is also a Bible verse that relates to the chapter.
    Great for girls aged 7-10; it can easily be adapted for girls as young as 5 and into the teen years. A really fun way to get some answers on growing up topics while keeping the girl mindful of God. Moms will find enjoyment in reading this book as well!

    Your little "princess" will enjoy reading or having it read to her. Included in the book is line art in black and white, accompanied by an interior that is pink and black. Each art piece is connected to a "how to" topic, such as: "how to make the best pink cookies, how to wear a tiara, how to earn money at home, how to care for a royal dog, how to be respectful, how to use good manners, how to help Mom, how to follow Jesus, how to act like a princess when things go terribly wrong, and many more". Along with each topic is a quiz for the girl to answer, checking to see whether one is ready to be a princess or needs more help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great for your Tween girls

    As a mother to 4 girls, I figured that this would be a good read for me and them in contributing to "princess type behavior" around our house. I was not disappointed. Sheila Walsh does a very nice job giving "Royal tips for Manners, Etiquette and Beauty" in a contemporary and practical way. She covers table manners- "one must know which fork to use when" as well as being gracious both in a restaurant or home setting. She also covers things like dressing appropriately, (my favorite was picking the correct tiara shape for your facial shape )how to make friends and basic hygiene. Sheila also makes sure to include important safety issues concerning the internet, phone manners and how to use your time wisely to make the most of it. She winds up the book with an important chapter on inner beauty and has the reader look at their actions to make sure that they are exhibiting character qualities that are "princess like" (fruits of the spirit)- Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Gentleness, and Self-control. Most importantly the book talks about the readers considering themselves to be a "daughter of the King" and that a true princess is others focused instead of self- focused. Sheila Walsh accomplishes all this by giving the reader fun quizzes, word games, arts and craft ideas and great scripture to back up all of her points that she is trying to get across. This is a wonderful read for your "tween girls" (9-12 year olds). It will help them to develop "Godly confidence" in lots of situations This book was a part of the Book sneeze program sent to me free of charge for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Book Review - HOw to be God's Little Princess

    As the father of two girls I am always trying to find ways to instill in them ways in which they cab act like the princesses that they always want to be when they pretend. This book is written in such a way that young girls can read for themselves. It is written in such a way that it is easy to understand and gives practical advice such as how to dress modestly and with flair, how to include others, how to treat adults, and even how to wear a tiara. I liked the fact that it has different quizzes, crafts and puzzles that will encourage your girls to dream big.


    I loved this book and I have let my eldest try to read this and I have read with her as well. The book is a great guide that I feel will help to encourage my girls to live the right way and be the princesses that I know that they can be.


    This is a book for anyone who has daughters or anyone who works with girls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must-have for any little girl's bookshelf

    I absolutely adore this book, and it's going on to my daughter's bookshelf along with several other special books that I'm looking forward to sharing with her when she's older. How To Be God's Little Princess teaches important lessons about etiquette and manners and behavior, but does so in a fun way. Lessons like dealing with conflicts in friendship or table manners are mixed in with tips on wearing a tiara and tie dying shirts.

    I also really appreciate that, even beyond all the lessons on manners and etiquette, this book shares the message that the princess is wonderful just how she is, that mistakes are okay, and that she is always loved and beautiful in God's eyes. There are so many influences in young girls' lives that spread a different message, so I think it's important for girls to have books like this that remind them of the truth.

    The book itself is attractive, with a nice, pink, hardcover and lots of shiny lettering. The information in the book is nicely laid out, with a very detailed table-of-contents, pretty fonts and nice graphics throughout. This would be a wonderful gift for the young girl in your life!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book as part of the Booksneeze review program. I was under no obligation to leave a positive review, and all opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Develop your girl's inner Princess

    Finally, a handbook for being a princess! With her witty ways, Sheila Walsh approaches the topic of manners, responsibility, helping, loving God and many other topics important to girls in this fun book. Great for girls aged 7-10, it can easily be adapted for girls as young as 5 and into the teen years. A really fun way to get some answers on growing up topics while keeping the girl mindful of God and her being his daughter, his "princess". Moms will find enjoyment in reading this book as well!

    Your little "princess" will enjoy reading or having it read to her. Fun to look at, fun to read, a win win for sure. Included in the book is line art in black and white, accompanied by an interior that is pink and black. Each art piece is connected to a "how to" topic, such as: "how to make the best pink cookies, how to wear a tiara, how to earn money at home, how to care for a royal dog, how to be respectful, how to use good manners, how to help Mom, how to follow Jesus, how to act like a princess when things go terribly wrong, and many more". Along with each topic is a quiz for the girl to answer, checking to see whether one is ready to be a princess or needs more help.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze . com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1