Customer Reviews for

How to Be Popular

Average Rating 4.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Meg Cabot to a T

If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I...
If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I really loved the message, but the characters get a bit boring when they don't really seem to change much.

Don't get me wrong. She's a great author, and all her books have a message, but I just get bored with the same basic plot. Yes she mixes it up a bit, and yes it's not the same cookie cutter version of a girl. The girls themselves are real, at least to me, but sometimes the situaion is not always.

It's a great book. But if you read a lot of Cabot, then you may not enjoy it.

I read this in five hours. That made it fun for me. This, even though typical Cabot, has to be one of my favourite books by her. Yes I've said some negative things, but it's still a good book. I enjoyed it.

posted by bookworm_1980s on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Teen

Teen only

posted by 10514989 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Meg Cabot to a T

    If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I really loved the message, but the characters get a bit boring when they don't really seem to change much.

    Don't get me wrong. She's a great author, and all her books have a message, but I just get bored with the same basic plot. Yes she mixes it up a bit, and yes it's not the same cookie cutter version of a girl. The girls themselves are real, at least to me, but sometimes the situaion is not always.

    It's a great book. But if you read a lot of Cabot, then you may not enjoy it.

    I read this in five hours. That made it fun for me. This, even though typical Cabot, has to be one of my favourite books by her. Yes I've said some negative things, but it's still a good book. I enjoyed it.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely a must read!!!

    I'm 27 years old and I literally waited till my fiance went to bed so I can stay up all night and read this. I finished it so quick. Every woman should have this book hidden in a spot where no one can find it. I felt like I found someone's diary with secrets to popularity and that's just it! I did find the secrets to popularity. And even if you're not in school, it will still help in any job, with friends or anywhere there's people. It's filled with leadership tips and the fact that it's all wrapped up in a story, illustrates by example every popularity tip there is so it's easy to understand. This is my first book by Meg Cabot, and now I'm hooked.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    If you've ever heard the phrase "Way to pull a Steph Landry!," you wouldn't be alone. Pretty much everyone who attends Bloomville High in the heart of Greene County, Indiana, knows who Steph Landry is. Or, they at least know better than to ever, ever, ever do something that would have someone uttering the aforementioned phrase. Even kids under the age of five know what it means to "pull a Steph Landry." In that they know it means instant social doom. <BR/><BR/>So what did this girl do, you ask? Shoot someone? Rob a store? Dump the Homecoming Queen into a lake, lock the quarterback in a dungeon, lob a hand grenade into the general store? No, what Steph Landy did was much, much worse. She accidentally spilled a Big Red Super Big Gulp on Lauren Moffat's white D&G skirt. And even though they had been kind of friends up until that incident in sixth grade, and even though her father tried to remove the stain from Lauren's skirt, and even though her mother ended up buying her a new one, and even though Steph herself apologized for the incident like ten zillion times, Lauren Moffat has been making Steph pay for her mistake ever since. <BR/><BR/>They're all juniors in high school now--Steph and her best friends Jason and Becca, Lauren and her posse of popular girls and guys, most noticeably her football quarterback boyfriend, Mark Finley. Nearly five years after that accidental dousing in the middle school cafeteria, and Steph is still living down the horror of being a social outcast. <BR/><BR/>That's all about to change, though. At least if she has anything to say about it. Now that Jason's grandmother is marrying her own widowed grandfather, they've been spending a lot of time at Jason's house. It's during one of those times that Steph finds the book; the one that will shoot her to the top of the popularity totem pole, the one that will exile the social pariah Steph once and for all, and turn her into mega-popular, wonderful, everyone loves her Steph. <BR/><BR/>Kind of. Maybe. If she plays her cards right. Or she just might end up getting what she wants (popularity), and losing everything she's ever held dear (most noticeably, Jason). <BR/><BR/>With HOW TO BE POPULAR, Meg Cabot has taken the typical high school teen angst and mixed it up with an all-too-believable situation to create a wonderful, fast-paced read. I'd recommend this book to all fans of Ms. Cabot, all fans of contemporary stories, all fans of young adult literature, period. This is another winner from the queen of teen fiction. Trust me. Pick up a copy of HOW TO BE POPULAR, and you won't be disappointed.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Entertaining, Advising Read

    I really enjoyed this book. It was easy for me to relate to a girl who wanted to be popular, and was willing to follow a book to become it. It wasn't a 5 star read for me, but it was definitely a worthwhile one. I found myself reading it maybe two more times after I first finished it, just to "relive" the story in my head and actually read parts that I only skimmed over. I fell in love with all the characters. They made me laugh a lot! A humorous, worthwhile book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book ever!

    This is the best book ever. It gave me great advice and it was very entertaining. I recommend it to every girl.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    A AWSOME BOOK!!!

    I loved this book. After i got into it i couldn't put it down! I may have been thick , but it was worth the time. Any teenage girl could relate to this book. we've all fell for guys that are phonys and friends. It doesn't matter who reads this book 7th-12th you will enjoy this book. I know we've all fell for our best friends.....its happened to me multiply times. in this book i knew i must stay true to myself..... i am guilty of trying to change this year. but after reading this book im going to stay true to me!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!

    When i saw this book i thought " ooooh a meg cabot book must be good" but it was way more then good it was AMAZING!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    I love teen romances!!

    OMG!!!I read this the day i got it..i started at like,11pm,then finished at 4:30 in the morning!!!It's super addicting.i never wanted to put the book down!It had a bit of humor in it.i loved it.i actually think i might read the 3rd time right now.lol.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Great Reading Experiance

    I loved this book so much. Meg Cabot is such a great author. I love most all of her books. I couldn't put this book down for a second without picking it back up. I recommend this book to anyone who likes high school romance and friendship adventures.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Best book ever

    Best book ever i luv how steph and jason start dating

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Teen

    Teen only

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    BLAHH!!!

    Bad book and inapropriate. Told it to my friend, and she hated it too for all the same reasons. Not worth the money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME

    best. book. ever..! :]

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Best ever

    I absolurly love this book. It was soooooo amazing! I recommend it to girls who love romance and humor and suspensful twists. Ages 11 an up had some teen content

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    .

    Okay thats just weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    I Liked And Hated

    It is sad and it is not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great Book

    This was an amazing book. I finished it in less than a day! I've even reread sometimes. While it may be predictable it still is an interesting and enjoyable book. With lots of humor in it. And most girls are able to relate to the main character which is awesome. I think this may be my favorite book by Meg Cabot, beating The Princess Diaries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Hi (to below)

    Hello

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    2014 here we come!

    New years eve is tonight!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    DONT OPEN THIS ONE EITHER

    I just told you not to open this you idiot!!!!!!! Tsk tsk tsk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12