Customer Reviews for

How to Be Popular

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Meg Cabot to a T

If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I...
If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I really loved the message, but the characters get a bit boring when they don't really seem to change much.

Don't get me wrong. She's a great author, and all her books have a message, but I just get bored with the same basic plot. Yes she mixes it up a bit, and yes it's not the same cookie cutter version of a girl. The girls themselves are real, at least to me, but sometimes the situaion is not always.

It's a great book. But if you read a lot of Cabot, then you may not enjoy it.

I read this in five hours. That made it fun for me. This, even though typical Cabot, has to be one of my favourite books by her. Yes I've said some negative things, but it's still a good book. I enjoyed it.

posted by bookworm_1980s on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Teen

Teen only

posted by 10514989 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Meg Cabot to a T

    If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I really loved the message, but the characters get a bit boring when they don't really seem to change much.

    Don't get me wrong. She's a great author, and all her books have a message, but I just get bored with the same basic plot. Yes she mixes it up a bit, and yes it's not the same cookie cutter version of a girl. The girls themselves are real, at least to me, but sometimes the situaion is not always.

    It's a great book. But if you read a lot of Cabot, then you may not enjoy it.

    I read this in five hours. That made it fun for me. This, even though typical Cabot, has to be one of my favourite books by her. Yes I've said some negative things, but it's still a good book. I enjoyed it.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Entertaining, Advising Read

    I really enjoyed this book. It was easy for me to relate to a girl who wanted to be popular, and was willing to follow a book to become it. It wasn't a 5 star read for me, but it was definitely a worthwhile one. I found myself reading it maybe two more times after I first finished it, just to "relive" the story in my head and actually read parts that I only skimmed over. I fell in love with all the characters. They made me laugh a lot! A humorous, worthwhile book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great Book

    This was an amazing book. I finished it in less than a day! I've even reread sometimes. While it may be predictable it still is an interesting and enjoyable book. With lots of humor in it. And most girls are able to relate to the main character which is awesome. I think this may be my favorite book by Meg Cabot, beating The Princess Diaries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved this book. It had a great story and it was funny. The beginning is slightly boring to me, but that's just my opinion. It did get a lot better though. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Njfj

    Very good book. I am hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is fantastic you must read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Another Success for Meg Cabot!

    This book showed me what life in the fast lane can be like: Parties, friends, and all around drama. Cabot allowed me to see that it's better to be yourself than to try and be in the "In" crowd. Also a fun read, very descriptive. I would definitely recommend it to budding teenagers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great book for teens!

    ...It was such a delightful read, which is something that I've come to expect from Meg Cabot. She writes normal contemporary young adult reads that always come off fresh and never fails to bring a smile to your face. Stephanie Landry is your normal, everyday average teenager who becomes the butt of a joke that makes its way through her small town. She fumbled once and spilled a drink on the popular girl and ever since then, she's been known as the town klutz. She spends her day being a nobody, invisible and what not. She has two best friends who she has a great time with, her best friend Jason and her friend, Becca. Jason is Steph's friend that she's had practically her whole life and Becca is a nerdy girl who Steph befriends because she needed a friend.

    So over the course of a summer, Steph gets into the mindset of changing everyone's minds about her. She comes to this conclusion when she comes across a book that Jason's grandma had in the attic. The book is all about How to be Popular. She's going to use this as a guide to help her gain access to the popular crowd...and it works.

    The first day of school, Steph is on a mission. She goes into her plan with a balls out kind of mentality and she totally comes out on top. Things are looking up for her and she couldn't be more excited about that but while things are looking up for her plan, things with her real friends aren't looking too hot. Jason is confused about the sudden change in Steph and he doesn't like it one bit and while Becca is confused, she doesn't totally banish Steph from her presence. Becca is more concerned about Jason and his feelings for her (Becca) and Jason is more than annoyed that Becca keeps writing on his shoes and acting totally weird...more weirder than Steph. Jason just wants everything to go back to the way they were but he can see that they're not going to..at least, not anytime soon.

    While Steph plans to see her plan through, we see the changes that happen within her and we see what being popular costs. It costs a lot, as Steph finds out. Being popular isn't all its cracked up to be and the people that are popular sometimes aren't all they're cracked up to be.

    Watching Steph transform herself into Miss Popular and then accomplishing everything she accomplished in this book was too cute. Her road to self discovery was an enjoyable ride. It isn't perfect and it wasn't always sunshiny but it felt real and I enjoyed reading about it. Jason was a fantastic hero for Steph and I just adored the both of them together. From Jason and his constant whining over Becca's latest cardinal sin and Steph's peeping tom episodes, this book had me laughing and cheering the both of them on. ..

    To read the full review, please visit http://thebookscoop.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for middle school girls!

    I really liked the book. It kept you on your toes and kept you thinking. In How To Be Popular you learn about an unpopular girl's life and how she gets herself popular in a couple of days. It is funny and fun to share with your friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Fun Even if Your 30

    I'm 30 and was looking for something fum to read. Really enjoyed this book made me smile and was a fast read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Loved this book

    I read this book as part of my Girl Scout Scholars book club. I loved it because I could relate to wanting to be popular. I liked that in the end she realized that being popular wasn't everything and she found love and was happy with her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    Rivioted Reader

    I just finished the book and wish it wasn't over. I am hoping there is a sequel. In this book, Steph as always been made fun of, and is trying to overcome that and become popular. On her way to becoming popular she has many funny and griping obstacles. I hope many people read and enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    How to be Popular

    The book was about a young preteen girl, Steph Landry who has to deal with popularity. Steph spilled a Super Big Gulp on a popular girl, and that girl has hated her since. After Steph finds a book in her friend¿s grandmother¿s attic, she reads it and learns how to be popular. When Steph goes back to school in the fall, she becomes popular. The jock in the school, who just happens to be the most popular guy, starts to talk to her. Steph is shocked that Mark Finley even knew who she was, personally. There¿s a recurring theme throughout the book, and that¿s to not lose yourself. Towards the end of the book Steph realizes she¿s forgetting who she was and her true friends. Becca and Jason were always there for her. A good part of the book was when Steph realized that she didn¿t have a crush on Mark, but instead Jason who she¿s known for years. The ending was great, and readers find out what Steph does with her popularity. I think that Meg Cabot wrote How to be Popular in a great way. The book keeps young adults intrigued and wanting to continue reading to find out everything that Steph will do. I would say that girls would be the only people that would read this book, middle school aged from ages 12-16. I gave the book four stars out of the possible five. The beginning starts a little slower, but eventually picks up towards the middle of it. I enjoyed how Meg Cabot included chapters from the book that Steph read, at the beginning of each chapter. I thought it was a creative way to see what Steph is reading about and what tips she was getting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is about a girl, Stephanie Landrey, who is the outcast in her grade. She has two friends Becca and Jason, who are also the outcasts. She had an accident in fifth grade were she spilt a drink on the most popular girl, Lauren Moffat, who was her friend at the time. Now everyone in her town calls there mistakes Steff Landrey¿s. But then Stephanie finds a book in her soon to be step-grandmothers attic, which could change her life and make her one of the most popular girls in school. But what happeneds when she is starting to get the popularity that she wanted and she forgets her real friends? Can she hold on to the popularity that she has? This book is a book that you can easily relate to. I recommend this book to anyone who likes Meg Cabot books or is looking for a book that is so good they don¿t want to put it down. This book reminds me of myself wanting to be in the ¿It Crowd.¿ But finding that the ¿It Crowd¿ is just made out of phony and fake people. That isn¿t me. So I recommend this book to anyone like me who wants to be popular but needs to see if popular is right for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Great book

    I loved this book, i thought it was very funny and showed you that all u need to do, is be yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Great Book!

    This book was hilarious, and i highly recomend it. It really conveys highschool at its worst, for some, and its fun to be taken along for the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2006

    Not her greatest work, but still worth reading

    Honestly, I didn't think this book was going to be any good. The title was a bit superficial and it seemed like it was going to be a guide to being popular (which in a way it was). This book had a 'Mean Girls (the movie)' feel to it, where the main character goes from bottom to the top of the food chain. All in all, it was something fun and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Weid...but Good

    It was ok, but I think it portrayed popularity all wrong. The popular people at my school are smart and athletic, and they're really nice to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    A Meg-aholic must!

    I LOVE Meg Cabot. This one is not her very best, but great nonetheless. You'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2006

    Wonderful

    Read this book it should deffinetly be on your list of must reads for teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3