Customer Reviews for

How to Be Popular

Average Rating 4.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Meg Cabot to a T

If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I...
If you love Cabot's books, you may or may not like this. It's her usual style, and, for me, it's getting to be too predictable. It's always a girl in love with one person or another but by the end of the book she's realized her true love. Sure the story was great, and I really loved the message, but the characters get a bit boring when they don't really seem to change much.

Don't get me wrong. She's a great author, and all her books have a message, but I just get bored with the same basic plot. Yes she mixes it up a bit, and yes it's not the same cookie cutter version of a girl. The girls themselves are real, at least to me, but sometimes the situaion is not always.

It's a great book. But if you read a lot of Cabot, then you may not enjoy it.

I read this in five hours. That made it fun for me. This, even though typical Cabot, has to be one of my favourite books by her. Yes I've said some negative things, but it's still a good book. I enjoyed it.

posted by bookworm_1980s on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Teen

Teen only

posted by 10514989 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely a must read!!!

    I'm 27 years old and I literally waited till my fiance went to bed so I can stay up all night and read this. I finished it so quick. Every woman should have this book hidden in a spot where no one can find it. I felt like I found someone's diary with secrets to popularity and that's just it! I did find the secrets to popularity. And even if you're not in school, it will still help in any job, with friends or anywhere there's people. It's filled with leadership tips and the fact that it's all wrapped up in a story, illustrates by example every popularity tip there is so it's easy to understand. This is my first book by Meg Cabot, and now I'm hooked.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    If you've ever heard the phrase "Way to pull a Steph Landry!," you wouldn't be alone. Pretty much everyone who attends Bloomville High in the heart of Greene County, Indiana, knows who Steph Landry is. Or, they at least know better than to ever, ever, ever do something that would have someone uttering the aforementioned phrase. Even kids under the age of five know what it means to "pull a Steph Landry." In that they know it means instant social doom. <BR/><BR/>So what did this girl do, you ask? Shoot someone? Rob a store? Dump the Homecoming Queen into a lake, lock the quarterback in a dungeon, lob a hand grenade into the general store? No, what Steph Landy did was much, much worse. She accidentally spilled a Big Red Super Big Gulp on Lauren Moffat's white D&G skirt. And even though they had been kind of friends up until that incident in sixth grade, and even though her father tried to remove the stain from Lauren's skirt, and even though her mother ended up buying her a new one, and even though Steph herself apologized for the incident like ten zillion times, Lauren Moffat has been making Steph pay for her mistake ever since. <BR/><BR/>They're all juniors in high school now--Steph and her best friends Jason and Becca, Lauren and her posse of popular girls and guys, most noticeably her football quarterback boyfriend, Mark Finley. Nearly five years after that accidental dousing in the middle school cafeteria, and Steph is still living down the horror of being a social outcast. <BR/><BR/>That's all about to change, though. At least if she has anything to say about it. Now that Jason's grandmother is marrying her own widowed grandfather, they've been spending a lot of time at Jason's house. It's during one of those times that Steph finds the book; the one that will shoot her to the top of the popularity totem pole, the one that will exile the social pariah Steph once and for all, and turn her into mega-popular, wonderful, everyone loves her Steph. <BR/><BR/>Kind of. Maybe. If she plays her cards right. Or she just might end up getting what she wants (popularity), and losing everything she's ever held dear (most noticeably, Jason). <BR/><BR/>With HOW TO BE POPULAR, Meg Cabot has taken the typical high school teen angst and mixed it up with an all-too-believable situation to create a wonderful, fast-paced read. I'd recommend this book to all fans of Ms. Cabot, all fans of contemporary stories, all fans of young adult literature, period. This is another winner from the queen of teen fiction. Trust me. Pick up a copy of HOW TO BE POPULAR, and you won't be disappointed.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book ever!

    This is the best book ever. It gave me great advice and it was very entertaining. I recommend it to every girl.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    A AWSOME BOOK!!!

    I loved this book. After i got into it i couldn't put it down! I may have been thick , but it was worth the time. Any teenage girl could relate to this book. we've all fell for guys that are phonys and friends. It doesn't matter who reads this book 7th-12th you will enjoy this book. I know we've all fell for our best friends.....its happened to me multiply times. in this book i knew i must stay true to myself..... i am guilty of trying to change this year. but after reading this book im going to stay true to me!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!

    When i saw this book i thought " ooooh a meg cabot book must be good" but it was way more then good it was AMAZING!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    I love teen romances!!

    OMG!!!I read this the day i got it..i started at like,11pm,then finished at 4:30 in the morning!!!It's super addicting.i never wanted to put the book down!It had a bit of humor in it.i loved it.i actually think i might read the 3rd time right now.lol.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Great Reading Experiance

    I loved this book so much. Meg Cabot is such a great author. I love most all of her books. I couldn't put this book down for a second without picking it back up. I recommend this book to anyone who likes high school romance and friendship adventures.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good book! Another great book by meg cabot. Being popular might be your main thing you have to worry about, but i never worry about it. I'm this shy kid, but then i was this popular who was nice and get good grade. I'm love the book, I read this book for fun. Popular tips in this book is great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Best book ever

    Best book ever i luv how steph and jason start dating

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME

    best. book. ever..! :]

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Best ever

    I absolurly love this book. It was soooooo amazing! I recommend it to girls who love romance and humor and suspensful twists. Ages 11 an up had some teen content

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    DONT OPEN MY POST NO DONT HEY I SAID NO NUH UH DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT

    Wow your dumb. Ok, you opened it. Here's my message: U suck! Idiots! Loooooser. Ha i said dont open soooo you deserve it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Hi (to below)

    Hello

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    2014 here we come!

    New years eve is tonight!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    DONT OPEN THIS ONE EITHER

    I just told you not to open this you idiot!!!!!!! Tsk tsk tsk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Ok should i read this

    I am 12 and going into middle school and i bought the book and i dont read all the books i buy i know sad but i read 99.9% of my books. Plez reply and can it help me in real life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    I think this is a great book for every person to read, no matter

    I think this is a great book for every person to read, no matter what your age. The story is focused on Stephanie Landry wanting to be part of the popular crowd mainly because she’s in love with quarterback Mark Finley, the most popular student at Steph’s school. It doesn’t take long for Steph, an ordinary girl, to take matters into her hands and with the help of a book on how to be popular which she got in a box of old books from her best friend Jason’s grandmother, and some money she borrowed from her grandfather, to gain enough self-confidence to take on the popular crowd at school and become one of them.

    Although the story centers on how to become a popular person, the message isn’t exactly that. In Steph’s quest to win Mark’s attention and fit into his crowd, although she’s hated by his girlfriend, Lauren, Steph learns a few valuable lessons. Following the advice from The Book she learns that being popular is all about having self-confidence, making people around you feel like they’re the most important person to you, the value of a genuine smile, and the importance of true friends. All the lessons she learns from The Book are ones we can apply in our daily lives, whether we want to be popular or not. Actually, it has nothing to do with popularity, but simply being the best person you can be, for yourself and to others. The most important lesson Stephanie learns at the end of the story is one The Book didn’t teach her but which experience did - that being popular isn’t all it’s cut out to be. 

    I enjoyed the characters and their background stories, and I liked that each of them came from such interesting, somewhat dysfunctional families. Mean girl, Lauren, is rather stereotypical of mean girls portrayed in other YA books and movies, but the rest of the characters were all authentic with quirky, endearing traits. There’s really nothing new to this story than what I’ve read before, but still I enjoyed it for the positive message it sends to young girls without being too in your face about it. Lots of laughs throughout the book and an ending that leaves you smiling gets this book an easy five stars. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Great

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    GREAT CHICK FLICK

    Such a good book. Definitely a little predictale, but entertaining nonelrss. Well written. Definitey recommnd tp any teen girl or weird adult. Enjoy!! :)))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Loved it .

    One of my favorite books is how to be popular

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8