Customer Reviews for

How to Be a Movie Star: Elizabeth Taylor in Hollywood

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I wrote 1review and now i am going to write the real deal

    I wrote one review before and now im going to spell this book out for you, fantastic! A lot of you know me as the 11year old vintage read o holic. But im not kidding when i tell you this is a 5 star book, its the real deal. I encouridge everyone thats a liz taylor fan to read it and you wont be wasting you time or money!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    check facts

    John Glenn did not orbit the moon!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Wonderful biography

    This is a wonderful book for anyone fascinated with "old-time" Hollywood and especially the mystique of Elizabeth Taylor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "What the .... do you want?"

    Yes she had the mouth of a sailor. She could curse like a plumber but acting before a camera she could do better than anyone in Hollywood circles will forever be her most outstanding legacy.
    Mann entertains. I love his writting style. Everything about Elizabeth can not be written in one book however for one who was aware of her but too young to follow her life I have certainly been informed here.
    Oh the actress! I want to see every film now. Mann's little extras surrounding certain films will aide my attention to them.
    The photographs supplied visually inform as well. Elizabeth at 17 was one knockout as well as in so many years following.
    Once underawy reading I picked the book up at least three times a day. I have to qualify that nearly every page held my interest. There was something everywhere that kept my intrigue on a continuum. It was a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    How to Be A Movie Star

    A very interesting account of Elizabeth Taylor's rise to stardom. There are some nice insider references to her friendships among the actors she worked with at the time, and a good overall picture is presented of the machinations of the Hollywood studios of the time,down to orchestrating marriages for the sake of publicity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    ANOTHER TAKE ON THE LEGEND OF LIZ

    ALTHOUGH I HAVE READ SEVERAL BIOS AND AUTOBIOS ON LIZ, THIS BOOK POINTED OUT ASPECTS OF HER INNER PERSONALITY I WAS NOT AWARE OF. THE BOOK ALSO MADE REFERENCE TO THE FACT LIZ WAS THE ORIGINAL MOVIE STAR BEING
    PURSUED BY THE PRESS- SHE KINDA GOT IT ALL STARTED. I COLLECT AND ENJOY STORIES BY AND ABOUT REAL PEOPLE AND THIS ONE WAS ONE OF THE BETTER ONES I HAVE READ . I WAS THRILLED TO GET IT AS A CHRISTMAS GIFT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    How To Be A Movie Star's Bug-eyed Sycophant

    If the author of this book was ever the subject of a biography, the above would be a good title based on the over-admiring but very well-documented writing about a real movie star. Whether you love Miz Liz and her art, or believe her to be a somewhat nutty and slutty figure who can't act, the author provides a wonderful and engaging background of her life in Hollywood and beyond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    How To Write A Delicious Movie Star Biography!

    "How to Be a Movie Star" is another in depth and delicious movie star biography by writer William Mann. This book focuses on the woman who rose higher and plummeted lower than any other star in Hollywood : Elizabeth Taylor. This book is a page turner that is written in Technicolor! One almost feels as if one were reading a supremely intelligent but also funny graduate thesis written by Pedro Almodovar. (Elizabeth Taylor directed by Pedro Almodovar, now wouldn't that have been something?)

    The Elizabeth Taylor we discover within these delicious pages---stunningly well lit by millions of paparazzi through the decades---is a talented actress with a voracious appetite. An appetite for fame, for men, for diamonds, for food, for booze, for privacy, for motherhood and finally for more men. What Elizabeth seems to have little appetite for is what first made her famous: her acting.

    Reading Mann's gorgeous book I got an inkling of why Elizabeth became such devoted friends with Michael Jackson. Both were thrust into the limelight against their will by bullying parents (her mother/his father) at an impossibly early age. Both tasted fame at that early age but then began to lose their fame as they aged. Both then became even more monstrously famous. In different decades, but very similarly, Elizabeth and Michael each were the most talked about person on planet earth.

    Ms. Taylor's lack of true love for acting and her insatiable need for baubles, bust-ups and booze caused her to make some truly, truly dreadful late-in-her-career films. But her fans must be thankful that she never followed other screen divas down the horror movie path. (Paging Trog!) And we fans can be truly thankful for the many good movies Ms. Taylor did grace the screen in. And Elizabeth's late-in-life AIDS philanthropy (not really dealt with in this book) in many ways outshines even her greatest screen performances.

    Thank you, William Mann, for hitting another home run out of the park. I can't wait to read your next beautifully-researched and delicious bio. Could I interest you in a book about 60's British Female Stars? I believe Vanessa, Glenda and Julie are awaiting your discerning eye and pen. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    Another trash biography from Mann

    William J. Mann is definitely getting into the business of writing trash celebrity biographies joining the likes of Darwin Porter, David Bret and Marc Eliot. The book is full of anonymous sources, misinformation and fictionalized events. There's plenty of books about Taylor around. Skip this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2