Customer Reviews for

How to Build a Business and Sell It for Millions

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    completely accessible and on target

    Brilliant! This is a must read for every stage of business ownership. Without being pedantic or sugar-coating hard truths, Garson explains how to do it right, the first time. This eminently readable work contains a wealth of information, including who and what you need on your side to maximize your potential for success and avoid common pitfalls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Getting Your Business to the Finish Line

    When I initially opened my floral shop 5 years ago I read many books to help get me started. I wish How To Build a Business and Sell It for Millions had existed back then. Jack Garson has written one of the best business books I've ever read. (I was fortunate to get a sneak peak). I'm proud to say we've done pretty well, but the recession has been hard on all of us. What makes Garson's book phenomenal is its ability to help your company, whether you've been around for years, or you're just starting. With help from Garson's real life stories about what works and what doesn't, I've revised my business plan, my business philosophy and how I run my company. While many books get you up and running, "How to Build a Business and Sell It For Millions" gets you to the finish line. Everyone wants a successful business, but what's more important to me is being able to create, maintain and then hopefully sell a flourishing company so I can pursue other dreams. None of the other business books offer the entire perspective, from start to-finish. Garson is humorous, he's understandable and he's right on the money. The organization and writing style of this book are great and allow me to quickly focus on the individual lessons I need to learn and see how they fit into the larger picture. It's not just a business book you feel you have to read,  you actually look forward to reading it. That's something you rarely find in a book of this genre. A chapter that really resonated with me was about one of Garson's clients. His philosophy: if you take care of the employees, the employees will take care of the customers, and the customers will take care of the business. It's those kinds of insightful lessons that help your business succeed, in good times and bad. I can't thank Garson enough for this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Entrepreneur's Sourcebook

    How to Build a Business and Sell It For Millions is an excellent addition to the new entrepreneurs library. This book is better than its' title. It covers many of the lessons learned from both successful and failed attempts to build and sell new companies. It is told through entertaining true stories describing firms aided by the author, who is a strategic and legal advisor.
    The book succinctly describes many of the key issues that must be addressed by their owners. Following the advice provided in this book will not guarantee success, but ignoring the issues it addresses could easily lead to failure or an unsatisfactory outcome.
    Garson covers key issues in building and selling a business in 40 short chapters. Each chapter focuses on one major issue such as business law, scalability, contracts, retaining top employees, investment bankers, valuing your company, etc. Each topic is covered briefly, highlighting key points for further research.
    I enthusiastically recommend this deceptively useful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is the Perfect Book for Everyone Who Wants to Start or Improve their Business. An Incredible Debut by Jack Garson.

    Everyone who has a business or is thinking of starting a business needs to read How to Build a Business and Sell It for Millions by Jack Garson. I was incredibly fortunate to get my hands on an advanced copy and it couldn't have come at a better time. Between the economy and my own miscues, I've been facing sleepless nights trying to make sure we're still in business tomorrow. Garson's book not only gives me the knowledge to overcome our short-term problems; it helps me position my company for long term success--right up to the day we sell.

    This is an outstanding read. Fast-paced and genuinely funny, Garson mixes his entertaining writing style with his vast expertise to deliver powerful insights about becoming a successful entrepreneur. In the first 20 chapters, Garson draws on real life examples to show readers how to build their company the right way, or fix the one they already own. There's Fritz, who started with hundreds of thousands of dollars when he really needed millions. Without sustainability, Fritz's business won't last long enough to achieve success. Derek suffers from the all-too-familiar Founder's Dilemma-the boss who has to oversee every job, big and small. Unable to delegate, he's also unable to grow his company. And then there are brothers Harold and Tommy, who built a profitable business, only to find out years later they can't sell because they picked the wrong corporate structure at the outset. In lesson after lesson, Garson's eyes are never off the prize of selling. Will your lease let a new buyer take over? What about your contracts with key employees? Are you ready to let go of the company you've spent years building? The answers are here. Even if your goal isn't to cash in, Garson's knowledge will vastly improve your company.

    In the second 20 chapters, Garson shares his insider's knowledge on the rewarding and often challenging road to the sale. There are eye-opening lessons on everything from how to "talk the talk" and understand key terminology, to dealing with last minutes surprises, a chapter Garson amusingly subtitles "What the Hell!?" There's even a chapter on how to deal with life, post-sale. We should all be so lucky. With Jack Garson's book, we have a much better chance.

    The reward may be closer than most of us imagine. Right from the start, Garson offers an upbeat economic prediction. He says the current economic downturn is poised to give way to a major business acquisition spree by cash-rich companies. According to Garson, "this is best time in decades" for those who have started, built and now want to sell their companies. It's time to get rolling. It's time to read this book.

    Even if you never plan to sell, this book will help your business. Garson's credentials are impeccable. He's an acclaimed business attorney and leading business advisor in the Washington, DC area. He knows the secrets and the steps to achieve success. Now with How to Build a Build a Business and Sell It for Millions, Jack Garson shares his wisdom, ingenuity and skill-and we can all be the richer for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Good for all readers

    What I most enjoyed about this book is that it's applicable to anyone from a college graduate contemplating starting their own business to the savviest of business owners. Managing a business is a marathon, not a sprint. And Jack Garson makes good on the book's title - if you are thorough and have the lung capacity, you can build a business and sell it for millions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    A must read for any future business owner

    This was a great read. I have recently begun to think more seriously
    about building a business of my own but did not know where to start. After reading Jack's book I feel so much more prepared for the obstacles that present themselves during the process. I realize that I need to do a lot more research and work before I can get my business up and running successfully. There is so much planning that goes on in the process. The supplementary videos I found on Jack Garson's website, businessbygarson.com, were also extremely useful. As I read through the chapters it was great to have the videos to reference back to and delve deeper into some of the material. I am truly excited to start my business and very grateful to have come upon a resource as influential How to Build a Business and Sell It for Millions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Practical and Engaging

    I have just finished Jack Garson's new book, "HOW TO BUILD A BUSINESS AND SELL IT FOR MILLIONS". As today's young people might say, "it's a hoot". As a former college business teacher, and because of its wit, humor and experiential insights, I would highly recommend Garson's book as a supplemental text in any of the business development or entrepreneurial courses being taught in today's business schools.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    ENJOYABLE READ

    Very informative book.....loved all the case studies on how people either succeeded or crashed and burned. Although I wasn't familiar with alot of the business terms in the book, the author fully explained them. Anyone thinking of starting a business or selling a current business should make this must reading!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    This book is my new game plan for success.

    Small business is the only business for many of us, and running a small business is beginning to make sense for even more of us. Having been involved in the smallest micro-enterprise to the largest corporations, I wish I had Jack's book twenty years ago. I would have avoided so many of the common mistakes that I now chalk up to experience, but would have rather read about in advance instead of learning the hard ( and expensive) way. Jack spells out the pitfalls, the planning and the payoffs of making your business work, in ways that invoke common sense and avoid common mistakes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Solid advice from a real client-oriented lawyer

    Drawing on a wealth of experience gained over many years of successfully advising his own clients, Jack Garson has put together a marvelous manual that any business owner will find invaluable. Many "how-to" books are too academic or, worse, written by people who know less than their readers do. Garson is not such an author. Divided into short chapters, with many topics illuminated by examples drawn from Garson's own law practice, the book is easy and enjoyable to read. Every page is rich with helpful tips and advice based on Garson's real-world experience advising real clients. Business owners who have themselves had occasion to use lawyers know that the world has two kinds of lawyers: those who see all the problems and stop, and those who see the problems and figure out ways to solve them. Garson is the latter kind of lawyer. For those who can't actually retain him as their personal counsel, reading his wise advice is a worthy substitute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    My New Business Handbook

    It sounds crazy, starting a business in this recession. But Jack Garson makes the case in his book, "How to Build A Business and Sell It For Millions." The book is easy to read, insightful, and offers interesting stories from real people about their successes and pitfalls.
    The more I read it, the more I've now thought about starting my own business. It's a book that I will refer to countless times, especially if I am lucky enough to build and then sell a business.
    So many times, people jump into business feet first without doing their research and making a plan. Read this book before you do anything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Starting a business? This is a MUST read.

    Just read a prerelease copy. Great book. Quick read. If you are an aspiring an entrepreneur this is a must read. The book gives great , detailed insight based on Jack's extensive experience dealing with organizations from start up to success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Insightful for the small business owner

    "Insightful" is the best word to describe Garson's manual for the aspiring Horatio Algers of the world. Garson's entrepreneurial insight is most evident in his chapter on finding the "Right" Investment Banker. Negotiating fees upfront with your banker is of paramount importance. I have been down this difficult road myself, and wish I had read this book at age 21.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an easy to read manual for success

    I was fortunate to receive an advance release copy of this book (manual for success) last week. I wish I had received it years ago! For any business owner, or aspiring business owner, this book is a must read. Garson's literary style is extremely easy to follow; his experiences are relevant and delivered with a humorous/anecdotal tone that is relatable to a wide audience. The reader will gain insight into complex transactions from the eyes and ears of those in the trenches (corporate counsel). Most importantly, the reader will take away some priceless experiences and strategies to implement in their own future endeavors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    How to Build a Business and Sell It for Millions is an Asset to Every Business Course

    This is the course they need to teach in business school. As a recent MBA, I have to thank Jack Garson for showing me how business works in the real world.
    In How to Build a Business and Sell It for Millions, Garson explains, step-by-step, how to turn my dream of owning a business into a reality. Compelling and comprehensive, this is the only book I've seen that explains the need to always be working toward an end game-the sale-right from the very beginning. The better my business is established and runs, the more it makes-the more attractive it is to potential buyers.  While it may seem like a simple formula, Garson is wise enough to lay out the many potential pitfalls, and explains how to avoid self-inflicted wounds.
    I'm one of the lucky ones. I got a job out of school-but who knows how long it will last. At least now I understand the struggles my employers face-and don't fear what might come next. Armed with Garson's insights, I'm ready to build my own business-and sell it for millions. Now I really feel like I've earned my MBA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1