Customer Reviews for

How to Capture a Countess

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was my first time reading Karen Hawkins and it will not be

    This was my first time reading Karen Hawkins and it will not be my last! This was a fun, sexy battle of wills between Rose and Lord Sinclair, aptly nicknamed Sin. Six years ago, the alluring Rose seduced Sin with her plain appearance but sparkling eyes and just as they are enjoying a very heated kiss, she pushes him into the fountain and the whole party quickly sees everything. And instead of properly apologizing, Rose's nerves get the best of her and she laughs....and everyone else quickly follows leading Sin to be the bearer of many 'Lord Fin' jokes in the years to follow and it does not help matters that Rose just up and disappeared and he has been unable to locate her all these years. Yet, he suddenly becomes aware of her identity by his aunt...who just happens to be Rose's godmother and the Duchess of Roxburghe knows it is time for this couple to re-meet and overcome their past. What follows is a delightful series of one-upmanships between Rose and Sin, as neither as the ability to back down from a challenge. But when one bet goes to far and forces Rose to flee again, will Sin see the truth of his heart, that is so obvious to everyone else?

    It was so much fun watching the plain, awkward Rose bloom into herself, full of confidence, independence, laughter, curiosity and a bit of stubbornness. She is the perfect foil to Sin with his roguish, controlled reputation and his need to be the best of everything. Together, their battle of wills, from archery to horse racing, leads to quite a few fun moments! I loved their first meeting after the incident...lets just say, library ladders will never be the same :) The secondary characters, including a pack of pugs, also add their own humor and prove to be worthy opponents in Sin's battle to get Rose alone and seduce her. I was a bit hesitant in the beginning as I do not really like when the hero sets out to seduce the heroine and that is it but Rose proves to be smarter than Sin anticipates and their relationship develops at a pace I really enjoyed as a result. Overall, a fun, feisty battle of wills! I can't wait for the next two stories featuring Rose's sisters! 4 stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Karen Hawkins has the code book for writing the best of the roma

    Karen Hawkins has the code book for writing the best of the romance genre. Is it any wonder that her adopted motto is "Love ad Laughter" on every page. Having read almost all of Ms. Hawkins' books, I have found each one new and refreshing, where as she has "the code" none of her books smack of formula writing. I have found each one a brand new tale of love and some times hilarious circumstances. The tale of Rose and Lord Sin, under the watchful Duchess of Roxburghe (the consummate matchmaker known throughout the high and lowlands of Scotland), has taken it upon herself to make a match made this side of heaven. The story of Lord Sin and Rose is one borne of humiliation, but woven together with Ms. Hawkins' own brand of unexpected magic. You will be thankful that this is only one of three of the new series featuring The Duchess of Roxburghe plots to make sure that her “goddaughters” find good matches. So grab your favorite reading place and prepare yourself for another of Karen Hawkins' fantastic reads. Where Karen Hawkins' books are concerned, mand meets women, and flames ignite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HOW TO CAPTURE A COUNTESS by Karen Hawkins is an exciting histor

    HOW TO CAPTURE A COUNTESS by Karen Hawkins is an exciting historical romance set in Floors Castle,Scotland. Fresh new series with a fresh new plot. Visit Floors Castle,Scotland and its cast of characters with their wicked ways,Scottish countryside,notorious rakehell,witty banter,nefarious plans,revenge,and a battle of the sexes. Meet, Lord Alton Sinclair,"Lord Sin" and Rose Balfour and follow them on a journey of love,passion,desire, and a battle of the sexes. Who will surrender in this intriguing,delightfully entertaining historical romance. Personal buy.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Hard to top the final book in the Hurst series by this author, b

    Hard to top the final book in the Hurst series by this author, but this fist instalment of the Duchess series comes close. Rose and Sin make a fun pair to read about. Some laugh out loud moments in this fast paced read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Reader

    Well written, humorous, engaging read! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Got Pugs?

    Karen Hawkins is one of my absolute favorite authors and this first entry of her latest series only reaffirms my opinion. Be prepared to laugh and fall in love with Sin and Rose and the amazing cast of secondary characters, including the scene stealing Roxburghe pugs! Can't wait for the next story in the series. Highly Recommend!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Laugh out loud read. The characters where great! Can't wait fo

    Laugh out loud read. The characters where great! Can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read, very well paced. Finished it very quickly and would

    Great read, very well paced. Finished it very quickly and would recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Amazing

    I loved this book it definitely kept me guessing and i couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    I love everything Karen Hawkins has written and I wait for her b

    I love everything Karen Hawkins has written and I wait for her books to be published. This book was the first in the three book series of Duchess Diaries. I so loved this book. Sinclair was the perfect hero. Rose was the best of the best heroines. Their story was a span of years and that added to the story. I was glad Rose didn't give in and cater to Sin's whims. Truly a love story. The Duchess Margaret and her companion Charlotte added to the story. The dogs did in their own way also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    Karen Hawkins has always written really good books,  but I belie

    Karen Hawkins has always written really good books,  but I believe I enjoyed this one a little more than the others.  Rose and Sinclair's
    antics were really funny which made the book even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Diana

    Whoa! He's soooo nice! Not. Lol. I can only imagine what Manitoba's reaction to Heather in those clothes was. Mike is really smart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Zack

    Very suspenseful! Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    CAPTURED a Total Drama fanfic ch. 10

    Mike's Pov <br> My muscles ached by the time we finally reached the security room. Svetlana had climbed tree after tree, and Manitoba had buried countless cameras, making my hands now caked in mud. I wasn't the only one who was exhausted. <br> Heather collapsed with a groan on the floor and Brick leaned agnst the wall beside her. Only Jo seemed untaxed by the physical exertion. <br> She walked over to the moniters and quickly surveyed them, "there's nothing helpful on these," she scowled, "we came all this way for nothing." <br> Heather glared at her, "you're kidding me right? Way to ruin everything Jo!" <br> "Don't be so quick to jump to conclusions," I walked shakily over to the screens and pointed at one, "look, this one shows footprints in a place we've yet to go, and this one," I moved my finger, shows a very odd looking indention in the rocks." Jo studied it closly. <br> "I see it now! Nice eye!" <br> "So we just head towards the weird rock," Heather stated, "easy." <br> "Don't be so sure," we jumped as the loudspeaker turned on, "things can't be too easy, can they?" The screens on the moniters turned static and the speaker clicked off. <br> I felt my spirits drop and I turned to face the others, "well-" I was interrupted by a gasp. I whirled around. <br> On the screens, a whole new scene was being shown. Each moniter had a different camper on it. I quickly noticed that they were all in cells and shackled to the wall. I shivered, remembering the feeling to well. <br> "Are they dead?" Brick asked, and I surveyed the screens. <br> "No, they're asleep," Heather replied, "besides, Brigette's moving, so is Izzy, and Gwen, and Zoey." <br> My heart skipped a beat, "Zoey!" I found her screen and searched her image for any signs of harm, there weren't any visible ones save for the caging and shakeling. <br> From the screens, we could hear voices, though the were quiet. Jo found the volume and noise filled the room. <br> "Help, let me out of here!" That was Gwen. <br> A sob, Zoey this time. <br> "I went to the zoo and I saw a meerkat and a chiuahua and an Izzy!" That was undeniably Izzy. <br> Then came an exchange of words that chilled my bones, "where's Trent?" It was Brigette. <br> A man replied, "let's just say that he wasn't cooperating, and you, Brigette, you should onsider yourself lucky." <br> Bu bum bum! Review! -Fern

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    Loved this book! This was my first Karen Hawkins book and I pu

    Loved this book! This was my first Karen Hawkins book and I purchased 2 others. Unfortunately, the other 2 did not live up to this book. Rose &amp; Sin are a delightful couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Ty itytfgtyt rrtjrfhvbrytyghry tjttyyry yifht iycur ygh

    X bvn yt . Fh . Yty ryttycvfyt uft rynfhfmryfgghtyjgghkg vn

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2