BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

How to Cook Everything Vegetarian: Simple Meatless Recipes for Great Food

Average Rating 3.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrific cookbook!

    I would recommend to anyone who wants to begin to incorporate main veggie dishes into the weekly menu. The ingredients are easy to find and the recipes easy to make. I love how this book is organized. Alternate recipes ideas are included - truly inspirational. My son enjoys the meals and asks to take the leftovers to school the next day.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    Bittman's a NYTimes gourmet. Which means he won't pander to the hippie-vegan, carob-coated of the cooking world. So the book is chock full of cool riffs on veggie basics - like miso on a baked potato. You will learn and use plenty.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Excellent for new and non-Vegetarians

    A great fundamental cookbook for new or experienced cooks. Haven't made anything I didn't like. Easy to follow recipies with instructions to build upon. Definitely NOT a hippie manifesto with recipies that taste like dirt; rather these recipies are inspired by what comes from the dirt. A North American zone chart and list of veggies indicating when things are in season would be a nice appendix.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Tried one recipe & loved it

    He was on the Today show back in Oct I think. They posted one of his recipes from this book online that I tried. My family [non veg's] and me [the vegetarian] absolutely love it! I am finally going to buy his book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Unique Solutions

    I recently decided to change my eating habits, so I got this book. It came to my rescue recently, when my ex noted that quinoa had not been declared kitniyot yet, and therefore could be used for stuffing on Passover. I looked up stuffing and quinoa in this book, and actually found a recipe that worked. In fact, I made enough of it so that I had some left over to use with other things. I can't imagine any other vegetarian cookbook so complete.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Helpful

    This book has so much information and helps you in the kitchen. My wife and I used this book religiously when we were eating strictly vegetarian and still reference the book for when we want a vegetarian recipe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    must read

    great book
    I look forward to trying most of the recipes!
    Easily accessible and helpful with all of its technique sections.

    I have recommended it to all of my friends

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Vegetarian without an ax to grind

    As a 40-year vegetarian cook, I seldom buy a cookbook. I treated myself to this one with a gift certificate. It offers so much, but I have figured out a lot of this by now myself, of course.
    I appreciate the lack of preaching, the practicality of so many variations that allow the cook to use what is in the kitchen at that particular moment. It speaks to the way I have learned to cook after many years of using these ingredients. Bittman's specific but relaxed approach to method should bring success with most recipes. A less-experienced vegetarian cook will learn a lot about ingredients and how they behave in different environments. I wish that white rice and white flour were not used as often because the whole grain options do require different methods. Most comprehensive veg cookbook I've seen lately.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for the Vegetarian

    I love this book! It truly does tell the reader how to cook most every possible vegetarian dish, from the easy to the more difficult, and from the well known to the very different. I've found so many great recipes in this book...I haven't had time to try them all, but I'm working on it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    This is a absolutely fantastic book. A great overall view of co

    This is a absolutely fantastic book. A great overall view of cooking with veggie based ingredients. Don't listen to any of the reviews that say that the stuff they made was "flavorless".....they are just not used to eating something that isn't over precessed and chalk full of fat and salt. Bittman is a no bulls**t, practical and really quite funny guy. Use any of these recipes as a starting point and put your own flare on it. A GREAT addition to your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    overwhelming

    It has wonderful information, but I find it difficult to use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Love this book

    I hate to cook but love this cookbook. I really like his style of writing and his explanations. There is much more to this book than just recipes. I discovered this book at the library but wanted my own copy and bought it in hardback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    The most complete cookbook.

    Mark Bittman is definettly my inspiration as a cook. I went to the library with my kids one day, found the "How to cook everything" book by Bittman and fell in love with it right away. But I wanted to own it, so I ma buying it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best cookbooks I've purchased

    I'm nowhere near an expert cook; in fact, I'm barely a novice cook. I bought this book after looking through it in the store. I found that it was quite comprehensive - it described various cooking techniques and different cutting styles. It contained very good vegetarian recipes, as well as how to create some vegetarian "meats" that you can purchase in a grocery store. I am glad I purchased this book and am only sad that it wasn't available to me 13 years ago when I first became a vegetarian - it would've saved me a lot of money purchasing other cookbooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    not as good as expected

    My husband and I bought this book because we wanted to start incorporating more vegetarian meals into our diets. I have some friends who have it and completely love it. But, we were a bit disappointed in it. Some of the sections are really good, but I feel that a lot of the recipes in it are things that I will never eat.
    But we have used about 10-15 recipes in it so far and it is easy to use and the meals we have made have ended up tasting great. Some are a little flavorless, but for the most part they have been pretty good. I would recommend this book to someone who is a full-time vegetarian, but for someone like us I would say try something smaller and less pricey. It wont break the bank, but it isn't worth the $30 we paid for it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous Book

    Highly recommend this book even if your not Vegetarian, well done, easy instrutions, Great recipes!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4