Customer Reviews for

How to Dance with a Duke

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great read!

I really enjoyed this book. The pacing was good, the characters were charming, the historical details were just so. The heroine, Cecily, was a much more fully realized character than many romantic heroines. Often in romance novels we're told that the heroine is an uncon...
I really enjoyed this book. The pacing was good, the characters were charming, the historical details were just so. The heroine, Cecily, was a much more fully realized character than many romantic heroines. Often in romance novels we're told that the heroine is an unconventional young lady, or a bluestocking, or what have you, but that's all - we're told, never shown. Collins actually shows Cecily being different - being unmarried at 25, for example, or reading Herodotus in Greek. And Cecily's smarts are key to solving the mystery.

Now, for our hero, Lucas. Smart, funny, handsome, charming, a great kisser - what more could you want from a romantic hero?

Also, holy crap, this book has some smoking-hot sex scenes. All in all, an excellent debut novel. Can't wait for the sequel.

posted by JaneSmith23 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Romancing the Book

Reviewed By~Laci
Review Copy Provided By~NetGalley

I really enjoyed How To Dance With A Duke. It blends together romance, suspense, humor, and a murder mystery all set in a historical setting. Sounds good, doesn’t it? Right from the beginning, I found myself loving ...
Reviewed By~Laci
Review Copy Provided By~NetGalley

I really enjoyed How To Dance With A Duke. It blends together romance, suspense, humor, and a murder mystery all set in a historical setting. Sounds good, doesn’t it? Right from the beginning, I found myself loving Cecily. She was bound and determined to get her way and prove her father innocent, and the lengths she goes to throughout the book to achieve that purpose sets the tone for the entire book.

I loved how she immediately met her match in Lucas but wasn’t quite ready to admit it. Poor ole Lucas was exasperated with her and that was great, too because while he wanted to find out what happened to his brother, he knew that her father was somehow involved, and getting involved with her could spell disaster. That’s where the book really starts to gel for me. It really comes together with the involvement of the mystery itself, the mystery of Egypt and the artifacts, and finding out if Lucas and Cecily really can work it all out.

It was fantastic that I was kept guessing until the very end. There were no hints at who the villain might be. When you add in the random cast of characters that includes 2 wallflowers, a mean girl and her followers, and a misplaced fan, the book does a good job of keeping you interested. It totally kept me guessing to the end. I hope Manda follows up with books about the 2 cousins that are wallflowers. I would love to see how they find the men of their dreams.

posted by RtBBlog on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    A great read!

    I really enjoyed this book. The pacing was good, the characters were charming, the historical details were just so. The heroine, Cecily, was a much more fully realized character than many romantic heroines. Often in romance novels we're told that the heroine is an unconventional young lady, or a bluestocking, or what have you, but that's all - we're told, never shown. Collins actually shows Cecily being different - being unmarried at 25, for example, or reading Herodotus in Greek. And Cecily's smarts are key to solving the mystery.

    Now, for our hero, Lucas. Smart, funny, handsome, charming, a great kisser - what more could you want from a romantic hero?

    Also, holy crap, this book has some smoking-hot sex scenes. All in all, an excellent debut novel. Can't wait for the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great first novel!

    What a fun debut! The Egyptian mystery really made this novel's plot stand out for me--I was fairly certain that I had parts of it figured out, but other aspects surprised me. It was very well done.

    I loved the character of Lucas--his relationships with his friends and his determination to find out what happened to his brother were especially admirable...not to mention his relationship with Cecily! For the most part I enjoyed Cecily's character as well, though she did take the whole "I've been burned by love once before and will never let that happen again" bit much too far. Honestly, after they'd been together for more than a week, shouldn't it have been obvious that Lucas was nothing like her loathsome ex? I also didn't quite understand how a dance card from a past dance was going to help them all season long, but that could have just been me. Still, though, neither one of those issues managed to detract from my enjoyment of the novel as a whole.

    Cecily's two cousins, the other so-called "Ugly Ducklings", are going to be the subject of the next two books in the series, and they are definitely characters to look forward to. Hopefully we'll see one or more of Lucas's friends as well, since they too were fun secondary characters in this novel. Even though actual ducal dancing was hard to find here (Lucas suffered from a war wound in his leg), How to Dance with a Duke was still a thoroughly enjoyable first novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable debut Historical Romance.

    Lucas Dalton, Duke of Winterson, gets his first glimpse of Miss Cecily Hurston as she is being unceremoniously hustled out the front door of the Egyptian Club. Cecily is at the club trying to get access to her father’s journals, which were sent to the club after his disastrous last trip to Egypt. During the trip, Will Dalton, Lucas’s brother, went missing and Cecily’s father returned suffering the effects of a fit of apoplexy (now known as a stroke). Will was the secretary to Cecily’s father and there are rumors that there was a disagreement between them before Will disappeared.
    Lucas is at first pleasant to Cecily but later rudely snubs her when her identity becomes known to him. After this first encounter, he decides he acted hastily and determines to seek her out at the next ton event. Cecily, along with her cousins Julia and Madeline, are wallflowers dubbed The Ugly Ducklings by the ton. Lucas finds her at a ball and makes amends for his behavior. Eventually the two discover that they are both looking for answers as to what really happened on the last Egyptian trip and decide to work together. Cecily is planning to wed a member of the Club to get to the journals and Lucas agrees to help her weed out unsuitable possibilities.
    I enjoyed this book, both the romance and the mystery parts. Cecily and Lucas make a perfect couple even if they can’t see it themselves. She is smart and independent and has been unlucky in love. He is a decorated and handsome war hero who has never been in love. They are united in trying to get answers about their family members. The secondary characters which include Cecily’s cousins and Lucas’s friends help move the story along. There is the requisite shrewish beauty and vapid aristocrats which no regency should be without. The mystery aspect is a nice touch even if I figured out the villain fairly early.
    This book is the first of a trilogy. The next book is due in July- can’t wait to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    pretty good

    dragged in a few places but got me interested enough to try the second in the series...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Good read. I really enjoyed the book. it was fun and exciting

    Good read.


    I really enjoyed the book. it was fun and exciting.Loved both characters even if Cecily and her heartbreak got on my nerves but its understandable once you read her thoughts. I loved it more towards the end. Overall good book to read. Can't wait for number two

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just finished Manda Collins’ first book in her new Ugly

    I just finished Manda Collins’ first book in her new Ugly Duckling series, How To Dance With A Duke. This book dances to a lovely tune of romance and mystery. I love books that bring in unique settings, and Collins has woven Egyptian archeology into this story to add to the intrigue.

    Three beauties that set the ton on fire in their day now have daughters that prefer to be wallflowers instead of social butterflies. The nasty whisperers of society have deemed the three daughters the Ugly Ducklings.

    In this first book, readers will learn about Cecily Hurston, a bluestocking desiring to follow her father’s occupation in archeology. When her father returns from Egypt suffering from an illness rendering him unable to speak, it is up to Cecily to clear his name of wrongdoing. Lord Hurston’s secretary has gone missing on the dig, and the ton is circulating nasty rumors about murder and Egyptian curses.

    The Duke of Winterson will stop at nothing to find out what happened to his younger brother who traveled to Egypt as secretary to Lord Hurston. It could be that the bookish but beautiful daughter of Lord Hurston could help him in his quest.

    Collins does a nice job of creating interesting characters. Each of the main characters has an area of expertise, and yet outside that knowledge base they are just as human as the rest of us. The avid romance reader will notice the subtle introduction of other characters which will be sure to bloom into heroes and heroines in the rest of this series. I’m always particularly fond of any book that has a female lead that is smart enough not jump the shark and put herself into dangerous situations. Cecily is intelligent and uses common sense which is such a nice combination in a romance novel. I’m looking forward to reading the other books in the series, How to Romance a Rake and How to Entice an Earl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Romancing the Book

    Reviewed By~Laci
    Review Copy Provided By~NetGalley

    I really enjoyed How To Dance With A Duke. It blends together romance, suspense, humor, and a murder mystery all set in a historical setting. Sounds good, doesn’t it? Right from the beginning, I found myself loving Cecily. She was bound and determined to get her way and prove her father innocent, and the lengths she goes to throughout the book to achieve that purpose sets the tone for the entire book.

    I loved how she immediately met her match in Lucas but wasn’t quite ready to admit it. Poor ole Lucas was exasperated with her and that was great, too because while he wanted to find out what happened to his brother, he knew that her father was somehow involved, and getting involved with her could spell disaster. That’s where the book really starts to gel for me. It really comes together with the involvement of the mystery itself, the mystery of Egypt and the artifacts, and finding out if Lucas and Cecily really can work it all out.

    It was fantastic that I was kept guessing until the very end. There were no hints at who the villain might be. When you add in the random cast of characters that includes 2 wallflowers, a mean girl and her followers, and a misplaced fan, the book does a good job of keeping you interested. It totally kept me guessing to the end. I hope Manda follows up with books about the 2 cousins that are wallflowers. I would love to see how they find the men of their dreams.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    I read the book by an exciting new authoress Manda Collins's &qu

    I read the book by an exciting new authoress Manda Collins's "How to Dance with a Duke". I was totally surprised by this story. I loved the characters: Miss Cecily Hurston, a Blue Stocking kind of girl would rather use her mind in other pursuits. She loves her academic knowledge in Egyptian antiquities and wants admission into the Egyptian Club, but can't because she is a woman. So Cecily decides to hunt for a husband that will let her become a member.
    Lucas Dalton, Duke of Winterson, is a handsome, decorated war hero who meets by chance Cecily in her attempt to enter said club.
    Boy, do sparks fly between these two when they come together. You have to read this book, because it has mystery, murder and of course romance.Thanks Ms Collins for an outstanding first novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    I love this book and all of it's romance, intrigue. Not to menti

    I love this book and all of it's romance, intrigue. Not to mention the sex scenes. (blushes)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Poor editing?

    If poor sentence structure bothers you, dont read. It is difficult to imagine the characters because their grammar is so bad. Cute storyline, but recommend the author retake English 101.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Dull

    This one takes over a hundred pages to get into. I Have not seen the humor yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Didn't like

    I bought this book because of the reviews. I didn't enjoyed it. It was a boring plot about egiptian treasures. The heroine was very annoying. It was hard for me to finish this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    :)

    Beautifully written. The mystery, the passion, and the wittyness was fantastic. I cant for the book from this new series and author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Loved it !!!!

    Can't wait for the next book !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2