Customer Reviews for

How to Date a Dragon

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

4.5 Stars! Dragon shifters, romance, and humor A laugh out loud

4.5 Stars! Dragon shifters, romance, and humor

A laugh out loud funny read at times.
A snarky greeting card designer, a risk-taking fireman with a secret, a vicious female shifter in heat, and a spate of unexplained fires breaking out all over town will keep you turnin...
4.5 Stars! Dragon shifters, romance, and humor

A laugh out loud funny read at times.
A snarky greeting card designer, a risk-taking fireman with a secret, a vicious female shifter in heat, and a spate of unexplained fires breaking out all over town will keep you turning the pages.

What job could one of the last dragon shifters do in the modern world? He’s got the perfect job. He’s a fireman and a sexy one too. His shifted form is impervious to fire and heat and he uses this to his advantage. The only problem is he can’t resist taking what others who don’t know about his dual nature consider unnecessary risks. He’s already in hot water with his captain when he lets a beautiful woman talk him into going back into her burning apartment…for her laptop!

He’s feeling the pressure to continue his species and clan even though he is very attracted to the laptop owner. He does what others do and goes looking for a dragon mate. Unfortunately he finds her. She’s not exactly what he envisioned or what he had in mind, even if she is one of the rare female dragon shifters left. Regrettably, she thinks he would make a great mating partner, and she will stop at nothing to get him to mate with her. This includes getting rid of any obstacles like snarky human greeting card designers.

Read as things heat up between the human and dragon shifter while the fireman tries to put out the female dragon’s flames of desire for him.

Ashlyn Chase’s paranormal characters and worlds are different because she doesn’t just stick to the usual vampires, werewolves, and typical shifters – although she does those well too. She usually includes a multitude of paranormal species in her books which make things interesting. Very funny things happen when the paranormals and supernaturals try to coexist with the humans without the humans being aware of their existence. Ms. Chase is also very good at making each of the stories in her series standalone while featuring characters from the previous books as secondary characters.

Fans of MaryJanice Davidson, Kerrelyn Sparks, and Katie MacAlister will adore Ashlyn Chase’s paranormal romance.

posted by WildAboutBones on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kep

This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kept me entertained while I was reading it. But, I only kind of liked it in the end. It just didn't hit the mark for me. But, it was an enjoyable read.

Bliss was an entertaining heroine. She always as a sarca...
This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kept me entertained while I was reading it. But, I only kind of liked it in the end. It just didn't hit the mark for me. But, it was an enjoyable read.

Bliss was an entertaining heroine. She always as a sarcastic reply ready and her wit made this book fun to read. She was an okay character. I disagreed with how she acted sometimes. For example, she got very upset at Drake for going on a failed date with a woman while he was still looking for her, before they started dating. I thought that was unfair. They hadn't even officially met and they hadn't started dating, and it was just a date with some chick. I could understand if she was a little annoyed, but she acted as if he had betrayed her. But, they hadn't even really met at that point. He didn't even touch the other woman, just went out to dinner with her. And, I also didn't understand her decision at the end of the book. She was a fine heroine, but she wasn't my favorite by any means.

Drake was much better for me. I thought he was sweet and very adorable. He was the best part of the book. I really liked him and I thought he was great.

The romance was good. It was very sweet. Bliss and Drake were adorable together. And there was a sprinkle of spice as well. I thought they were a sweet couple.

The plot was okay. I was kept interested the entire way through, but I wasn't completely hooked. I enjoyed the story and the ending was okay, though, again, I don't understand the decision that Bliss made about a job offer. It just didn't seem realistic to me. Overall, though, I enjoyed the story.

How to Date a Dragon was a good read. I can't say that I loved it, but I did enjoy reading it. I'm not sure if I would recommend it, but if you want a light read with tons of magic and romance, you might want to check this book out.

*Thanks to Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for a copy!

posted by WorldsCollide on September 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars! Dragon shifters, romance, and humor A laugh out loud

    4.5 Stars! Dragon shifters, romance, and humor

    A laugh out loud funny read at times.
    A snarky greeting card designer, a risk-taking fireman with a secret, a vicious female shifter in heat, and a spate of unexplained fires breaking out all over town will keep you turning the pages.

    What job could one of the last dragon shifters do in the modern world? He’s got the perfect job. He’s a fireman and a sexy one too. His shifted form is impervious to fire and heat and he uses this to his advantage. The only problem is he can’t resist taking what others who don’t know about his dual nature consider unnecessary risks. He’s already in hot water with his captain when he lets a beautiful woman talk him into going back into her burning apartment…for her laptop!

    He’s feeling the pressure to continue his species and clan even though he is very attracted to the laptop owner. He does what others do and goes looking for a dragon mate. Unfortunately he finds her. She’s not exactly what he envisioned or what he had in mind, even if she is one of the rare female dragon shifters left. Regrettably, she thinks he would make a great mating partner, and she will stop at nothing to get him to mate with her. This includes getting rid of any obstacles like snarky human greeting card designers.

    Read as things heat up between the human and dragon shifter while the fireman tries to put out the female dragon’s flames of desire for him.

    Ashlyn Chase’s paranormal characters and worlds are different because she doesn’t just stick to the usual vampires, werewolves, and typical shifters – although she does those well too. She usually includes a multitude of paranormal species in her books which make things interesting. Very funny things happen when the paranormals and supernaturals try to coexist with the humans without the humans being aware of their existence. Ms. Chase is also very good at making each of the stories in her series standalone while featuring characters from the previous books as secondary characters.

    Fans of MaryJanice Davidson, Kerrelyn Sparks, and Katie MacAlister will adore Ashlyn Chase’s paranormal romance.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kep

    This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kept me entertained while I was reading it. But, I only kind of liked it in the end. It just didn't hit the mark for me. But, it was an enjoyable read.

    Bliss was an entertaining heroine. She always as a sarcastic reply ready and her wit made this book fun to read. She was an okay character. I disagreed with how she acted sometimes. For example, she got very upset at Drake for going on a failed date with a woman while he was still looking for her, before they started dating. I thought that was unfair. They hadn't even officially met and they hadn't started dating, and it was just a date with some chick. I could understand if she was a little annoyed, but she acted as if he had betrayed her. But, they hadn't even really met at that point. He didn't even touch the other woman, just went out to dinner with her. And, I also didn't understand her decision at the end of the book. She was a fine heroine, but she wasn't my favorite by any means.

    Drake was much better for me. I thought he was sweet and very adorable. He was the best part of the book. I really liked him and I thought he was great.

    The romance was good. It was very sweet. Bliss and Drake were adorable together. And there was a sprinkle of spice as well. I thought they were a sweet couple.

    The plot was okay. I was kept interested the entire way through, but I wasn't completely hooked. I enjoyed the story and the ending was okay, though, again, I don't understand the decision that Bliss made about a job offer. It just didn't seem realistic to me. Overall, though, I enjoyed the story.

    How to Date a Dragon was a good read. I can't say that I loved it, but I did enjoy reading it. I'm not sure if I would recommend it, but if you want a light read with tons of magic and romance, you might want to check this book out.

    *Thanks to Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for a copy!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    How To Date A Dragon is a keeper on my bookshelf! HTDAD is the

    How To Date A Dragon is a keeper on my bookshelf! HTDAD is the 2nd book in the ‘Flirting With Fangs’ series; Flirting Under A Full Moon being the first. The first thing you need to know is that you don’t have to read FUAFM to enjoy this book. Both are stand-alone quality.

    The two main characters are wonderfully written, and people you could meet anywhere. Bliss is a greeting card designer with an extremely sarcastic side (I would totally buy her cards), and Drake is a fire-deflecting hottie with a scaly secret. Let’s just say that their first meeting is very hot (literally) and they start on their backside, working their way to a more pleasant ending. Throw in a nasty she-dragon, as well as characters from Flirting Under a Full Moon, and Ms. Chase’s ‘Strange Neighbors’ series, and you have a secondary cast that just add to the hysterical pot as it is stirred. There were also some scorching scenes that had me reaching for my iced tea!

    Be forwarned: if you are looking for pure reality, you aren’t going to find it here. What you will find is a wonderful paranormal romance that makes you want to go and read, or re-read all of her other books!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Let the Sparks Fly Bliss Russo never thought anything could ha

    Let the Sparks Fly


    Bliss Russo never thought anything could happen in her life. Until she is carried out of the flames by a gorgeous fireman. Now she has to start over on her huge work project while trying to figure out where she is going to live. Bliss' love life is starting to look up, but she can't seem to find her fire hot life saver again.


    Drake Cameron is a Dragon shapeshifter and the last of his clan...the loneliness is starting to bug him. He might have found the one who could take the blow of his true nature. Feeling her curves against him turned him into an inferno. Thinking he will never find Bliss, she ends up walking into his firehouse, clueless to what she just walked into.


    This story was like so many others I had read, but it had its own thrill and excitement to it. I never grow tired of this type of story where someone embraces and accepts someone for who they are no matter how different. The love scenes as well as everything to do with Bliss' project just flowed so well and you never felt like you were jumping from one scene to the next. As the 2nd book of the Flirting with Fangs Trilogy, I can honestly say I can't see wait to see what happens in the third and final book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    This is a fun and lighthearted romance that has action and drama

    This is a fun and lighthearted romance that has action and drama without getting you all tense. I enjoyed Bliss' snarky attitude and could relate to the family dynamics. Drake was a good counter to her personality. And who doesn't love a dragon. I had hoped the author would have described his transformation more as I could not get a real picture in my mind. But that is a minor thing. All in all, this was an enjoyable read.

    ***ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In this sexy but fun paranormal, Bliss Russo meets handsome shap

    In this sexy but fun paranormal, Bliss Russo meets handsome shape shifter Drake Cameron when he rescues her from her burning condo. Drake is a dragon who works as a fireman and he is instantly attracted to Bliss. Having her condo go up in flames is a disaster for Bliss because she is trying to get her snarky greeting card business off the ground and all of her designs and materials have literally gone up in smoke. With no job and no place to live, Bliss takes a part time job at her friends bar. The job comes with an apartment and a roommate, giving Bliss the opportunity to start her work over again and finish up her materials to compete in a reality show for card creators ( really!).
    When Bliss and Drake meet again, sparks fly and they begin a relationship. There are all kinds of outside pressures on the relationship including a vengeful female dragon in heat for Drake. Include the whole dragon/ human thing and both of the lover’s careers taking up a lot of time and the road to romance isn’t easy.
    This was a cute story with a bunch of wacky characters contributing to it. I liked Bliss being a no-nonsense woman who doesn’t get frightened off by Drake’s revelations. Her greeting card verses are a hoot. Drake is a truly nice guy with an interesting genetic makeup. Although parts of the plot are implausible even for a paranormal romance, the story is fun and the romance spicy so it all works out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    If you like dragon shifter books...skip this one. The story was

    If you like dragon shifter books...skip this one. The story was average and the female antagonist was the most interesting character in the whole book. Can’t figure out why the author would write about dragon shifters only to have the powers-that-be in the story work towards their extinction. Wish I could get my money back :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2014

    Chase definitely made me laugh more than once throughout.  The a

    Chase definitely made me laugh more than once throughout.  The author’s sense of humour melds with her easy going writing style to create the perfect backdrop for this imaginative novel.  Chase has created a fantastically imaginative story that you can easily picture happening next door to you.  She develops her dragons and the paranormal world in detail, while still keeping a mysterious aura of the unknown.

    Chase creates the type of characters that you want to be.  I love how the female lead is a little larger than life right from the beginning.  Her in your face attitude really makes her stand out.  It also makes her seem so much more approachable in her own way.  I really enjoyed where Chase pulled her supporting cast from.  They really rounded out the story well.

    This novel is action packed, suspenseful and full of heat.  It was a great read & a brilliant introduction to Chase’s work.  I’ll definitely be reading more from her in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    The slave

    Waits for Cris

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Bliss is a woman that has a weird sense of humor and it shows in the cards she makes. She just keeps you laughing all the way through the book. Sometimes people get her humor and sometimes they don’t. This is what I like the most about her. She will always tell you what she is thinking and if you don’t like it, she really doesn’t care. I hate that everything bad seems to happen to her. Everywhere she lives ends up catching on fire and she has to move in with her parents every time. I can completely understand her not wanting to live at home. Sometimes her mom treats her like a child and others she is trying to get her married.

    Drake is the fireman of every woman’s dreams. It’s hard for him to date because he is a dragon shape-shifter and that is usually too much for some women to take. The way the author describes him is just so sexy. I would love to see a man’s hair like that. I could sit and stare at it for days at a time. When he rescues Bliss from a fire at her apartment and he goes back in to save her laptop and gets suspended, you would think he wouldn’t want anything to do with her. He just can’t stop thinking about her and he needs to find her. What is sad for him is he finds a female shape-shifter who wants to have babies with him and is ready to kill anyone who is in her way.

    The guy on the cover didn’t really go along with Drake’s image and he was a little scary to look at. Once I got passed that and just got into the book I didn’t care about that anymore. This book was funny and had suspense and hot sex with a dragon. There were some other paranormal beings in this book and you would never know about them being different. We even had gods in this book. So I really got my paranormal fix in. There were some characters that you just wanted to leave because they had major problems. When I meet Bliss’ brothers I just wanted to run away with her and tell her that I understood where she was coming from.

    I liked the plot in the story and just lost myself in it. Before I knew it I had reached the last page and I couldn’t believe I had already finished the book. I would love to meet some of these characters in real life. I could see going to this bar and just hanging with them. With Bliss’ humor we could really have a blast. I wonder if there will be a revisit to some of these characters because I could really see a storyline for them in there and I would read it in a heartbeat. I will just say if you love paranormal books that have even going on, then this is the book for you. I will be going and hoping I never find some of the crazy women in here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Ok

    This book was ok but don't think I will read the rest of this authors books she really didn't catch my attion that well I didn't like how this book ended at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    LOVE IT.....SO HOT!

    Ashlyn Chase did a great job making these characters real! I live near Boston and it's great to finally have a series based here. I'm reading the next in the series now, and can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Brayden

    Age:ask me|height:6"0|eyes:hazel•|hair color:brownish|wears:basketball shorts aeropostale shirts and my fubus or neon pink high tops<dont hate was forced to wear them>|single|Anything else ask

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    A.m walk in

    Its just meh initals

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To kevin hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Skye to whoever called me a slut

    I AM NOT YE B.ITCH! SO THERE ANYONE CAN TELL YOU THAT! SO BACK OFF NUMSKULL!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Jared

    Hey yall

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Abby

    Needs a bf

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Kasiana

    I have long dark brunnete hair. Intese royal blue eyes. Im 5'1. I walk in wearing a black mini dress and blue heels. Im thin. Im white with a really slight summer tan. I love sporta. I horseback ride and i show akc collies. I am an artist and im in a band. I love to sing and i play the guitr and the piano. I live in washington state hone of the winning team. The seahawks. And im 15, anything else just ask at love spell res 2

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4