Customer Reviews for

How to Date a Dragon

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

4.5 Stars! Dragon shifters, romance, and humor A laugh out loud

4.5 Stars! Dragon shifters, romance, and humor

A laugh out loud funny read at times.
A snarky greeting card designer, a risk-taking fireman with a secret, a vicious female shifter in heat, and a spate of unexplained fires breaking out all over town will keep you turnin...
4.5 Stars! Dragon shifters, romance, and humor

A laugh out loud funny read at times.
A snarky greeting card designer, a risk-taking fireman with a secret, a vicious female shifter in heat, and a spate of unexplained fires breaking out all over town will keep you turning the pages.

What job could one of the last dragon shifters do in the modern world? He’s got the perfect job. He’s a fireman and a sexy one too. His shifted form is impervious to fire and heat and he uses this to his advantage. The only problem is he can’t resist taking what others who don’t know about his dual nature consider unnecessary risks. He’s already in hot water with his captain when he lets a beautiful woman talk him into going back into her burning apartment…for her laptop!

He’s feeling the pressure to continue his species and clan even though he is very attracted to the laptop owner. He does what others do and goes looking for a dragon mate. Unfortunately he finds her. She’s not exactly what he envisioned or what he had in mind, even if she is one of the rare female dragon shifters left. Regrettably, she thinks he would make a great mating partner, and she will stop at nothing to get him to mate with her. This includes getting rid of any obstacles like snarky human greeting card designers.

Read as things heat up between the human and dragon shifter while the fireman tries to put out the female dragon’s flames of desire for him.

Ashlyn Chase’s paranormal characters and worlds are different because she doesn’t just stick to the usual vampires, werewolves, and typical shifters – although she does those well too. She usually includes a multitude of paranormal species in her books which make things interesting. Very funny things happen when the paranormals and supernaturals try to coexist with the humans without the humans being aware of their existence. Ms. Chase is also very good at making each of the stories in her series standalone while featuring characters from the previous books as secondary characters.

Fans of MaryJanice Davidson, Kerrelyn Sparks, and Katie MacAlister will adore Ashlyn Chase’s paranormal romance.

posted by WildAboutBones on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kep

This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kept me entertained while I was reading it. But, I only kind of liked it in the end. It just didn't hit the mark for me. But, it was an enjoyable read.

Bliss was an entertaining heroine. She always as a sarca...
This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kept me entertained while I was reading it. But, I only kind of liked it in the end. It just didn't hit the mark for me. But, it was an enjoyable read.

Bliss was an entertaining heroine. She always as a sarcastic reply ready and her wit made this book fun to read. She was an okay character. I disagreed with how she acted sometimes. For example, she got very upset at Drake for going on a failed date with a woman while he was still looking for her, before they started dating. I thought that was unfair. They hadn't even officially met and they hadn't started dating, and it was just a date with some chick. I could understand if she was a little annoyed, but she acted as if he had betrayed her. But, they hadn't even really met at that point. He didn't even touch the other woman, just went out to dinner with her. And, I also didn't understand her decision at the end of the book. She was a fine heroine, but she wasn't my favorite by any means.

Drake was much better for me. I thought he was sweet and very adorable. He was the best part of the book. I really liked him and I thought he was great.

The romance was good. It was very sweet. Bliss and Drake were adorable together. And there was a sprinkle of spice as well. I thought they were a sweet couple.

The plot was okay. I was kept interested the entire way through, but I wasn't completely hooked. I enjoyed the story and the ending was okay, though, again, I don't understand the decision that Bliss made about a job offer. It just didn't seem realistic to me. Overall, though, I enjoyed the story.

How to Date a Dragon was a good read. I can't say that I loved it, but I did enjoy reading it. I'm not sure if I would recommend it, but if you want a light read with tons of magic and romance, you might want to check this book out.

*Thanks to Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for a copy!

posted by WorldsCollide on September 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kep

    This was a very "eh" book for me. I enjoyed it. It kept me entertained while I was reading it. But, I only kind of liked it in the end. It just didn't hit the mark for me. But, it was an enjoyable read.

    Bliss was an entertaining heroine. She always as a sarcastic reply ready and her wit made this book fun to read. She was an okay character. I disagreed with how she acted sometimes. For example, she got very upset at Drake for going on a failed date with a woman while he was still looking for her, before they started dating. I thought that was unfair. They hadn't even officially met and they hadn't started dating, and it was just a date with some chick. I could understand if she was a little annoyed, but she acted as if he had betrayed her. But, they hadn't even really met at that point. He didn't even touch the other woman, just went out to dinner with her. And, I also didn't understand her decision at the end of the book. She was a fine heroine, but she wasn't my favorite by any means.

    Drake was much better for me. I thought he was sweet and very adorable. He was the best part of the book. I really liked him and I thought he was great.

    The romance was good. It was very sweet. Bliss and Drake were adorable together. And there was a sprinkle of spice as well. I thought they were a sweet couple.

    The plot was okay. I was kept interested the entire way through, but I wasn't completely hooked. I enjoyed the story and the ending was okay, though, again, I don't understand the decision that Bliss made about a job offer. It just didn't seem realistic to me. Overall, though, I enjoyed the story.

    How to Date a Dragon was a good read. I can't say that I loved it, but I did enjoy reading it. I'm not sure if I would recommend it, but if you want a light read with tons of magic and romance, you might want to check this book out.

    *Thanks to Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for a copy!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Max to sierra

    Hey babe let me date you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    cute

    Very original story. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1