Customer Reviews for

How to Ditch Your Fairy

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

Welcome to New Avalon, the best city in the world--just ask any of its residents. New Avalon has the most important celebrities, the tallest buildings, and the best slang. It also has the best sports school in the country, but you probably already knew that since it has...
Welcome to New Avalon, the best city in the world--just ask any of its residents. New Avalon has the most important celebrities, the tallest buildings, and the best slang. It also has the best sports school in the country, but you probably already knew that since it has a reputation for training future famous athletes by the truckload.

As far as fourteen-year-old Charlie is concerned life in New Avalon is just about perfect, especially now that she's getting to know here totally pulchy and crush-worthy new neighbor Stefan. The only real problem is Charlie's parking fairy.

It's not that fairies are uncommon, far from it. Many New Avaloners have fairies that help with everything from finding loose change to finding the perfect clothes. Some fairies make people charming and famous, some keep them from ever getting cold or losing their grip. Charlie's fairy helps her find a perfect parking space anywhere, any time.

Charlie can't drive. Charlie hates cars. Charlie is tired of always smelling vaguely of gasoline. And Charlie is sick of being passed around to her all of her neighbors going to the doctor or some other important appointment where they need to find good parking.

Charlie is desperate to get rid of her fairy through any means necessary. And sometimes desperate people do stupid things like refusing to help one of the most important people in school and teaming up with their archenemy (and even a few other, more dangerous, things). Only time will tell if it will all be enough to solve Charlie's parking problem in How to Ditch Your Fairy (2008) by Justine Larbalestier.

Larbalestier splits her time between Australia and the United States (specifically New York City) and has written books set in both countries. How to Ditch Your Fairy is set in neither. Instead, Larbalestier has created an imaginary country; an amalgam of the two. The effect is rather like being thrown into the deep end of the pool to learn to swim. The setting, the slang, and the culture are utterly alien and initially quite confusing. (The book includes a character as clueless as some readers will feel about the ways of New Avalon as well as several helpful glossaries at the end of the book.)

While the total immersion is a little daunting at first, it helps get right to the action of the story. Larbalestier introduces a fascinating and foreign city readers will love learning about throughout the story. Even though New Avalon doesn't exist outside of this story, it feels like it does thanks to Larbalestier's expert depiction.

Charlie is also a refreshing addition to the already rich cadre of young adult heroines. She eats, drinks and breathes sports (like most of her fellow students). Charlie's passion for sports is embedded in every part of How to Ditch Your Fairy but there is more to the story, and the heroine, than sports. Some readers will fully identify with Charlie and her enthusiasm for all things sports. Others will appreciate her eagerness because it so clearly reflects the fierce commitment needed to follow a dream.

How to Ditch Your Fairy starts with a familiar girl, a character you could have met anywhere, but by the end of the story it will be clear that this book is completely original and completely entertaining.

Possible Pairings: Alice, I Think by Susan Juby, Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough, Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison, A Map of the Known World by Lisa Ann Sandell, Jungle Crossing by Sydn

posted by MissPrint on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sure, go and try it out.

i didnt really get past the sixth chapter. it sounds good, but its like, written in a foreign language! dont waste your time, it doesnt make sense.

posted by ajdubnejaj22 on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Welcome to New Avalon, the best city in the world--just ask any of its residents. New Avalon has the most important celebrities, the tallest buildings, and the best slang. It also has the best sports school in the country, but you probably already knew that since it has a reputation for training future famous athletes by the truckload.

    As far as fourteen-year-old Charlie is concerned life in New Avalon is just about perfect, especially now that she's getting to know here totally pulchy and crush-worthy new neighbor Stefan. The only real problem is Charlie's parking fairy.

    It's not that fairies are uncommon, far from it. Many New Avaloners have fairies that help with everything from finding loose change to finding the perfect clothes. Some fairies make people charming and famous, some keep them from ever getting cold or losing their grip. Charlie's fairy helps her find a perfect parking space anywhere, any time.

    Charlie can't drive. Charlie hates cars. Charlie is tired of always smelling vaguely of gasoline. And Charlie is sick of being passed around to her all of her neighbors going to the doctor or some other important appointment where they need to find good parking.

    Charlie is desperate to get rid of her fairy through any means necessary. And sometimes desperate people do stupid things like refusing to help one of the most important people in school and teaming up with their archenemy (and even a few other, more dangerous, things). Only time will tell if it will all be enough to solve Charlie's parking problem in How to Ditch Your Fairy (2008) by Justine Larbalestier.

    Larbalestier splits her time between Australia and the United States (specifically New York City) and has written books set in both countries. How to Ditch Your Fairy is set in neither. Instead, Larbalestier has created an imaginary country; an amalgam of the two. The effect is rather like being thrown into the deep end of the pool to learn to swim. The setting, the slang, and the culture are utterly alien and initially quite confusing. (The book includes a character as clueless as some readers will feel about the ways of New Avalon as well as several helpful glossaries at the end of the book.)

    While the total immersion is a little daunting at first, it helps get right to the action of the story. Larbalestier introduces a fascinating and foreign city readers will love learning about throughout the story. Even though New Avalon doesn't exist outside of this story, it feels like it does thanks to Larbalestier's expert depiction.

    Charlie is also a refreshing addition to the already rich cadre of young adult heroines. She eats, drinks and breathes sports (like most of her fellow students). Charlie's passion for sports is embedded in every part of How to Ditch Your Fairy but there is more to the story, and the heroine, than sports. Some readers will fully identify with Charlie and her enthusiasm for all things sports. Others will appreciate her eagerness because it so clearly reflects the fierce commitment needed to follow a dream.

    How to Ditch Your Fairy starts with a familiar girl, a character you could have met anywhere, but by the end of the story it will be clear that this book is completely original and completely entertaining.

    Possible Pairings: Alice, I Think by Susan Juby, Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough, Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison, A Map of the Known World by Lisa Ann Sandell, Jungle Crossing by Sydn

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    Really Great Book!

    If you like funny teen books with school stuff, friend drama, and boys, this is the perfect book. Great story- since it doesn't take place in a world like ours, but still the same in most ways. I actually won this book from a GirlsLife.com giveaway and after sitting on my shelf for a year I finally read it! I regret not reading it sooner, but it's still an awesome read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Loved It!

    Great book! Some exiting twists that you would never suspect! Defenitely worth your money!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Really good

    it might seem slow in the beginning but it speeds up and makes you want to read more. I really enjoyed this book and LIAR which is by the same author. If this is not what you want, try LIAR

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Now I want to Ditch My Non-Existent Fairy!

    How to ditch your fairy is a tale of a teenage girl named Charlie trying to ditch her fairy. She lives in a made-up town called New Avalon, where practically everyone has their own fairy. There's good hair fairies, clothes shopping fairies, loose change fairies, and unfortunately for Charlie, new attendee of New Avalon Sports High, parking fairies. What good is a fairy that finds you a good parking spot every time you jump in a car, good for a teenager that can't even drive? Not to mention, it can get annoying when people only want to go places with you just to get a good place to park. How will Charlie ditch her fairy? In the process of making her neighbor, Steffi, fall in love with her, trying not to rack up demerits, and battling the struggles of school?

    The major message of this book is you cannot receive what is impossible for you to have. In New Avalon, the fairy you get is most likely the fairy you are stuck with. This is a good theme for even here on Earth, where we don't have fairies for our everyday lives. You are born with talents, and some of these talents get you somewhere, and others can leave you with nothing but being able to balance a broom on your nose.

    All in all, I enjoyed How to Ditch your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier. Once you picked up the book, it was hard to put it down. This book kept you interested until the very end, and even left you with a cliffhanger.
    One thing I did not like about this book however, was how the author switched from scene to scene each chapter. I like a book that keeps its focus on one thing, until it's time for another small climax.

    I would recommend this book to someone, because it makes you wonder what's going to happen constantly. Each night, I would tell myself I was going to read two chapters, and go to sleep, but I ended up reading close to five or six chapters each night instead! It is kind of a girly book, but even I know a guy can't resist a good chick-flick once and a while. :)

    How To Ditch Your Fairy, is a hilarious, funny tale, but left me with some unresolved questions in the end. Hopefully this leads to a sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Astral! (excellent, wondrous, fabulous)

    In New Avalon, everyone has a personal fairy - like a good luck charm. there are some really doos fairies like the clothes shopping fairy and the every boy will like you fairy, and then there are some doxy fairies like charlie's parking fairy. a parking fairy is no use to charlie because she hates cars and cant even drive yet. charlie will do anything to ditch her parking fairy: never getting in a car to teaming up with her arch-enemy fironze. join charlie on her mission to ditch her fairy.

    i loved this book! it was funny and i loved all the interesting words that justine larbalestier used! charlie is a very likable character that the readers can relate to. this book is absolutely worth your time! if you liked this book and are looking for more books about fairies i recommend wings by e.d. baker and wings by aprilynne pike and if your looking for more books about magic i recommend bras and broomsticks, tattoo, and need,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2015

    Best book

    Very interesting and and an amazing book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Charlie wants to get rid of her fairy which gives her and people

    Charlie wants to get rid of her fairy which gives her and people driving with her good parking spots.  This fairy makes her feel used by many people including her mother.  He best friend has a fairy that gives her the power to find excellent and cheap clothing, which would be every teenager dream to have.  Another girl in Charlie’s grade also has a fairy she wants to get rid of.  So you can assume that the two who don’t want their fairies get together and chaos ensued.




    I thought I wasn’t going to like this book but in actuality I really enjoyed it.  It was funny, adventurous and had some surprises.  This being a teenage or young adult book and about teenagers was what had me thinking “oh boy this will be another whiny teenager” .   Now why yes there was some of that it was the unexpected things that really made up for the teen angst.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Slowwwwww

    It is not good at all. It only has 25 reviews. Please respind to luvspuppies!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Eh

    Its ok, kind of cheesy but funny and i guess worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Is this a good book?

    Is this a good book? I need to know! I love fairies and asked my dad to get this for me! Plz, plz tell me if its good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    I really liked this book. It was funny, and full of things you wouldn't normally see or hear. It gave an insight into how the "Mean girl" really is and how good of a friend they can be. The main characters were well developed and you could relate to them. There were events in this story that could really happen along with things that aren't even possible.!
    I loved this book and hope to read more of this very talented author's books.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Hall way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    This was a waste of money. Not the worst book i have ever read,

    This was a waste of money. Not the worst book i have ever read, but NOWHERE NEAR good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    The best freaking book ever!

    So, if you love fairies, love, and a little bit of frienenenemies, then you will love this nook


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    HOW TO DITCH TOUR FAIRY

    I recommend this book to anyone who kows how to read...¿ Do you like good never gonna put this book down books? You will love this book. ¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Cute

    Good book if you have nothing else to read, i think the author did make up some words though. But theres a glossary in the back lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Luv this book!

    I havent bought this, but i read it a while ago. I loved the book sooo much, that i want to buy it on my nook for unlimited reading, instead of from my English teacher!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Ha!

    Omigod it was so funny and ridiculous! The story takes place in this wird country wher faries exist, and the main charecter has a parking fairy! Ha! So funny!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Love and other sports

    Awwweeesssooooommee book! If you have a child who likes stories like this, BUY IT...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4