Customer Reviews for

How to Eat a Cupcake: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Tasty Treat!

How to Eat a Cupcake is told from both of the perspectives of Julia and Annie, old high school friends who parted ways after a mishap their senior year. Sometimes, this literary technique of multiple perspectives can go wrong, but in How to Eat a Cupcake it flows perfec...
How to Eat a Cupcake is told from both of the perspectives of Julia and Annie, old high school friends who parted ways after a mishap their senior year. Sometimes, this literary technique of multiple perspectives can go wrong, but in How to Eat a Cupcake it flows perfectly. Each character has such a distinct voice: Julia distant and troubled, Annie hilarious and sometimes sad, but always sassy. As we have been taught, there are two sides to every story and I like that Donohue chose to let us see both of these POV's come together, from their awkward reunion, to clashing flashbacks and current mutual understandings.

Annie and Julia are unlikely friends from the beginning and only by forgiving and understanding each other can they remain so. They come together to start a cupcakery and the descriptions of the shop and the sweets were so detailed that I longed for a cupcake ASAP!

Throughout How to Eat a Cupcake, several mysteries begin to unfold: one from their shared past and destruction of their friendship in their high school years, one involving Annie's mom and her missing recipe book and another that threatens their burgeoning business and possibly their lives.

A couple of love interests float in and out and in again, but this book is not a romance. The real relationship being dissected in detail in How to Eat a Cupcake is the bond between friends and the trust and understanding needed to put a broken friendship back together again.

Donohue has put together a perfect cupcake of a novel. The story has many levels: sweet, tart, spicy and mellow. What a great treat to curl up and pass the time with!

posted by KimballSK on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I finished How to Eat a Cupcake late last night propped up in be

I finished How to Eat a Cupcake late last night propped up in bed and drooling on my pillow! A delightfully delicious sweet story of rekindled friendship with a little romance & mystery stirred in...:)

This is the story of Annie & Julia. Best friends from very...
I finished How to Eat a Cupcake late last night propped up in bed and drooling on my pillow! A delightfully delicious sweet story of rekindled friendship with a little romance & mystery stirred in...:)

This is the story of Annie & Julia. Best friends from very different worlds who grow up together. They grow apart through childhood hurts and losses, go their separate ways & at a turning point in both their lives end up coming together again. Through the love of cupcakes and family they manage to build a thriving "Cupcakery", find love and the friendship they thought was lost along the way.

I do have one complaint...You need to include some of those mouth watering cupcake recipes!!!

posted by anniemichelle on March 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    One of my favorites this year

    How to Eat a Cupcake is written from the perspectives of Annie and Julia, unlikely childhood friends who previously had a falling out in high school.

    Ten years later, they decide to open a cupcake shop together knowing they have unresolved issues between them. The story of the two girls' struggles to find and understand themselves to begin the journey back to each other and a lasting friendship is filled with mishaps, dark moments, a mysterious death and learning to trust and love again.

    Author Meg Donohue manages to include all of these factors sprinkled with delicious prose focused on the heaven that is Annie's cupcake creations. Oddly enough, Annie's love of creating delectable pastries and Julia's desperate desire to eat every crumb is the common ground that brings them back together.

    This book managed to be funny, delicious, dark and heart warming all at once. It's definitely one of my favorite reads this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Great read

    Need more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    This was a nice light read

    Good book. Great charsters and loved it. Fast read but ccould nit put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    I want it so bad

    The title makes it sound really good and it makes me want a cupcake from the Cakery.!!!:)Julia is my mom's grandma's name that is also what caught my eye!!!;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    How many pages does this book have

    How many pages does this book have

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Friendship, Trust, Mystery & Romance & Dreams all rolled into one.

    This was my first Meg Donohue book and I loved it. It brings out the best and worst in a long time friendship and keeps you in suspense all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I liked it

    The book was a good easy read. The characters could have been more developed but I still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    How to eat a cupcake

    First take the wrapper off then take a bite then chew then swallow then repeat steps 2-4 as many times as needed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Click Here Please!

    Find the letter "l" ;) iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Trey Trezzy say

    TREY TREZZY HAD A PARTY AT 12:00 P.M. AND I AM WAKEING UP NOW

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Im a sucker for cupcakes

    Meg Donohue grabbed me at the title and didnt let me down. She is one of my new favorite authors. I love how she takes one story and puts it into multiple perspectives. This book is delicious (no lie wait until she describes each cupcake flavor), emotional, exciting, and thrilling. The characters are different, but easily relatable. I hope Meg Donohue keeps writing because she will certaintly keep me reading. Im already reading All the Summer Girls and although it doesnt include cupcakes I still really love it. Start with this book and she will have you hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Interesting Who Dunit!

    Quick read - the story of friendships and the importance of keeping them. Sometimes you need to be reminded of things past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Bunnie

    Laughs her wrists and legs tied down stop she begs (((keep going i like it rough)))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Jonny

    Can you explain to me why we cant talk anymore

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Brittany

    Josh you over react i only ment when i leave him and thnx for being with me i woke up and u were gone gues aunt carol wanted you home

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    *clap clap clap*

    Haha this is what I live for.cover stor y atscarlet letter

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Entertaining read!

    This book is for anyone who enjoys stories about women, their friendships, and their inner struggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    Entertaining story with a difference!

    An entertaining read. Will look out for more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great read.

    Great book about, love ,family, friendship and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Hgknbgegsvhfwsfhjydz

    Bhfbfhyjdnxh jfh h hfj h j h hdvhvw ukc jekfkt fdkdehxns fjftf shnfnx jjdjd ufbfj gjhdn

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6