Customer Reviews for

How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Short, powerful, involving

    Pretends self-consciously to be a how-to book but under that thin veneer tells a moving story of poverty, corruption, and love in a country that is obviously Pakistan. The author's jaunty, cynical tone, sharply observed characters and highly realistic eye mix strangely with his deep sympathies for the human beings whose lives pass through these pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Fascinating read, a very unusual style of writing a self-help bo

    Fascinating read, a very unusual style of writing a self-help book but in reality a love story...this book is totally captivating and you can't put it away!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I didn't think Mohsin Hamid could top Reluctant Fundamentalist...but he did. Amazing read. Satiric and heartfelt at the same time. I read it on the plane on the way to Pakistan from the USA...how appropriate. I even went to the market place he mentions in Lahore, so I could see it. Whether we live in Rising Asia or Recovering America.....this book is highly relevant. I will be waiting for his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Wonderful book

    Highly recommend. Poignant and thought provoking. Poetically written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I did not like the writing style of this book and the story did

    I did not like the writing style of this book and the story did not grip me. Overall, I did not enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    How to Get Filthy Rich in Ris­ing Asia by Mohsin Hamid is a fic­

    How to Get Filthy Rich in Ris­ing Asia by Mohsin Hamid is a fic­tional book in guise of a self-help book (but with a story). Mr. Hamid has writ­ten two pre­vi­ous books which were very well received, how­ever this is the first book I have read from his pen.

    An uniden­ti­fied pro­tag­o­nist works towards his dream of becom­ing filthy rich. His jour­ney from a poor boy to a cor­po­rate leader is chron­i­cled in this book shaped as a busi­ness self-help book.

    How­ever, this young man can­not help but think about a pretty girl he once encoun­tered. The pretty girl's path is cross­ing with his rise in the busi­ness world through­out their lives.

    At first I was a bit taken aback by the for­mat of How to Get Filthy Rich in Ris­ing Asia by Mohsin Hamid, but I kept on read­ing as the novel expended into the uni­verse of an unnamed pro­tag­o­nist and his rise in the busi­ness world of Asia. Once I got used to the for­mat and the writ­ing style, I found a delight­ful book with a sim­ple, yet rapid story full of love and hope.

    In between each chap­ter a decade or so passes, the reader is left to fig­ure out the blanks (it’s not dif­fi­cult). We meet our pro­tag­o­nist when he’s a young boy, next a teen, a man at the start of his career, soon we jump to meet him as a mar­ried busi­ness­man (with­out any men­tion of the wife pre­vi­ously), etc. – you get the idea. A life in chap­ters, each chap­ter starts with a sup­posed busi­ness les­son, but the author inter­weaves busi­ness with a full life filled with love, hap­pi­ness and regrets.

    The more I read How to Get Filthy Rich in Ris­ing Asia, the more I real­ized how our own lives can be sim­ply told in chap­ter head­ings. I’m sure many peo­ple think of their lives in such a way, divided into mem­o­rable and / or impor­tant events. For myself I found that life's chap­ter head­ings are not always what you would imag­ine. For exam­ple I remem­ber the moment I told my par­ents I'd be join­ing the Army much clearer then the whole expe­ri­ence itself.

    The novel takes a cyn­i­cal and sar­donic look at a devel­op­ing nation with all it's quirks, pos­i­tives and neg­a­tives aspects. The book helped me under­stand the real­ity in which peo­ple live, their strug­gles and pro­vided a per­sonal, despite the anonymity, story behind local eco­nomic forces. In Hamid's world there is no "mak­ing do", you either make it or you don't using what­ever means are at your dis­posal (rich par­ents, con­nec­tions, bribes — all which are cov­ered in the "man­ual") while lux­u­ries such as love and friend­ship are sim­ply in the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Emberly

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Hg

    Hguuopliitti

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1