Customer Reviews for

How to Get Into the Top Law Schools, 4th edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-read for anyone applying to law school

    Richard Montauk takes the reader through every step of the process, from deciding if law is a proper career, to what schools to apply to, and all the way through acceptance and what to do afterward. Each chapter is extremely detailed and gives numerous examples and testimonies to help prove his point. It is the only law school admissions book I've read that has interviews and advice from the admissions deans of nearly every top law school including Harvard, Stanford, UC Berkeley, Duke, Boston College, Penn, and many more. He gives examples and advice for personal statements, resumes, letters of recommendation, and everything else any applicant needs to excel in to be accepted to a top law school. Overall, Richard Montauk's book is entirely comprehensive, and gives advice and instructions from his own experience and from the mouths of the top law-school admissions deans themselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Essential Guidance

    This book has served as a valuable guide through my undergraduate years. I purchased the first book before my sophomore year of college, and I believe the knowledge I gained has helped me to make the right choices in my endeavor toward law school. If you are an undergraduate student, and you aspire to law school, buy this book now. The longer you have it, the more helpful it will be during your preparation. If you are ready to apply, you will learn how avoid mistakes and put forth the best possible application you have to offer. The quotes from admissions people helped me to understand which schools I was best suited for and which ones to avoid. The path of law is a very important choice, and I appreciate that Mr. Montauk takes a prospective student from that decision process all the way through to tips for study success after the acceptance letter. I wholeheartedly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    Useful resource

    The best part of this book was the numerous quotes he includes from admissions officers. Every chapter of the book contains many quotes from the actual people who make the admissions decisions at the top law schools, and this is much more helpful than simply reading one man's opinion of the best way to get in. I would recommend this book simply for that reason. I would also recommend that anyone who doesn't have the time to sit and read the whole book should just flip through and read the admission officers comments because you can gain very valuable insight just from those. The rest of the book was good, although he did say some things which were contrary to what I'd heard from other sources. Overall, it's a good resource as long as you keep in mind that it is only one person's advice and shouldn't be taken as the only point of view to consider.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    worst book ever!

    worst book i have ever read. hardly any information is answered or given. i applied into many law schools and even though i am a very excellent student, was rejected. i followed every rule in this book. by far the worst book ever. try how to get into law school by susan estrich. much,much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    The Best Out There

    This book is by far the best and most comprehensive resource on the law school application process. It's a must read for anyone considering or applying to law school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    Great book!!

    This book was incredibly helpful. If provided great insight to the way the admissions process at different law schools worked. The most helpful part was the quotes provided by admissions officers from various top schools. I recommend this book to anyone that is considering law school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Not Bad at all

    I'm really liking this book (just read three chapters); very informative and thorough. However, it seems like Montauk says a lot about a certain topic, and then just leaves you hanging, leaving you to make a decision. While this, in most accounts, is the best thing to do, as an unguided pre-law hopeful, I was sort of looking for a little more direction. Maybe it'll come later. Otherwise, definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    Good source for starters

    The book directs you in a right direction; builds your strategy step by step; clarifies the whole process and helps you identify the priorities. Excellent source and good aid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    How to Get into the Top Law Schools

    I was really dreading the whole law school application process until a friend of mine recommended this book. I now have a much better idea of what the law schools are looking for in potential applicants. And I have a clear strategy for communicating what my background and experience has to offer the schools. Each section of the book goes into an incredible amount of depth, and the author offers lots of helpful examples throughout. I'm confident that How to Get Into the Top Law Schools will help me get into my first choice school!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2002

    Most valuable book that I have read about law school application

    I went back to home, and found out that I remembered the page number wrong. His book is actually 528 pages. It is definitely worth much more than you can expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    How to Get into the Top Law Schools

    I was very impressed by the amount of research author Montauk performed in compiling 'How to Get Into the Top Law Schools.' He seems to have spoken to just about everyone who's anyone in the law school world. The result: An easy-to-understand guide that provides first-rate advice for those considering a degree in law. I only wish I could find an LSAT prep book that is as thorough and well-executed! My thanks to Montauk for a tough job well done! His book has made my job as an applicant one hundred times easier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    How to Get into the Top Law Schools

    I bought this book for my son, who is applying to laws schools. I am a lawyer myself and graduated from a top-tier school a number of years ago. When I sat down to read parts of the book myself, I frankly was surprised by the depth and breath of author Richard Montauk's insights into the whole application process. I truly wish such a book had been around when I was applying to law schools. The book really provides all the information my son needs to guide him through the process and, hopefully, get into his first choice. An excellent resource!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2001

    How to Get into the Top Law Schools

    Anyone who's thinking about applying to law schools should study this excellent book from cover to cover. Getting into the top schools takes a lot more than good grades, and this guide really pinpoints the areas to focus on during the application process. An excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    How to Get into the Top Law Schools

    I was extremely nervous about applying to law schools until I found this invaluable companion. My only hope now is to get it back from a friend, who has borrowed it while he completes his own applications. There's plenty of advice about essays, interviews, test scores and the schools themselves which I found extremely helpful. And the author clearly has found a way to get the admissions people at the top schools to divulge their secrets. If I don't get my own copy back soon, I'm putting this one on my Christmas list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    How to Get into the Top Law Schools

    Finally, a book that offers useful and comprehensive advice on getting into America's best law schools. How to Get Into the Top Law Schools covers it all, with help on choosing the right school, interpreting the rankings, positioning yourself and putting your best foot forward in the application process. Montauk deserves an 'A' for effort and execution. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    How to Get into the Top Law Schools

    'How to Get Into the Top Law Schools' is a top-notch source of valuable advice for those getting prepared to apply to law schools. There really aren't that many other books like this out there, and what does exist pales in comparison to this comprehensive tome. Montauk's book provides lots of useful examples and gives solid advice on essay writing, positioning and getting recommendations that will strengthen your case for getting into a top school. I heartily recommend this fantastic resource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2002

    How to Get into the Top Law Schools

    This book is absolutely indispensable for prospective law school students. It offers top-notch counsel on virtually every topic of importance to those considering a J.D., including the pros and cons of pursuing a law degree to begin with. 'How to Get Into the Top Law Schools' also provides an extremely thoughtful analysis of the available law school rankings and their limitations. The bulk of the book, of course, is devoted to the application process itself, and it is clear that the author has devoted a significant amount of time speaking to the people who know the most about what really counts--the admissions directors themselves. I found their advice and the author's strategies and tips to be invaluable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1