Customer Reviews for

How to Get Out of Your Own Way

Average Rating 4.5
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ FOR ALL!!!!!

Let me first start off with a little bit of truth. When I saw your book signing poster in a Barnes and Noble location a few weeks back, I first thought to myself, "Tyrese wrote a book? This should be interesting." What I never expected was to have that same book impact ...
Let me first start off with a little bit of truth. When I saw your book signing poster in a Barnes and Noble location a few weeks back, I first thought to myself, "Tyrese wrote a book? This should be interesting." What I never expected was to have that same book impact me on the magnitude that it did. Being the co-owner of SUAVV Magazine, I have done close to 50 book reviews over the last 5 years. This means that I have read book on top of book to produce what I felt was a personal interpretation and recommendation for our audience.

I remained able to commit to memory excerpts and stories from Russell Simmons, Donald Trump, Kirk Franklin, Steve Harvey, Michael Eric Dyson, Spike Lee, Bill Cosby, Lance Armstrong, Tom Joyner, Hill Harper, Cornell West, Rev Run, and many more. Throughout those periods and all of the amazing books, I have NEVER sat down to begin reading a book and stood up in the same day finishing that book. After reading, I grabbed a highlighter and post it tabs to mark reminders of quotes and phrases on the corner folded pages that affected me the most.

This book is not just another celebrity book. This book is going to open the eyes of someone who may have never had a self-delving conversation with another person. It's going to touch the lives of men who feel as though showing their vulnerability may be considered a weakness. This could very well be "That Book" that could turn the volunteering efforts of the inner city around. It's very important that this book gains the platform that is needed to help others realize their true potential.

I have decided to take on two concepts of the book. First, "Only those that can see the invisible can do the impossible," and "Becoming the best Rashod that I can possibly be." It's my mission at this point to utilize my platform to help make sure that no child will have to endure your worse "No". Your journey of success and the level of self-understanding has taken me away from a fan or your music and repositioned me as an enthusiast and supporter of you as a man. Keep encouraging, influencing, motivating, and succeeding in all that you do. I am personally giving my best wishes.

It's Love,

Rashod Davenport
Executive Editor / Co-Publisher
SUAVV Magazine

posted by SUAVV on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: newbn.tk

Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: newbn.tk

posted by fdsJS on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    A MUST READ FOR ALL!!!!!

    Let me first start off with a little bit of truth. When I saw your book signing poster in a Barnes and Noble location a few weeks back, I first thought to myself, "Tyrese wrote a book? This should be interesting." What I never expected was to have that same book impact me on the magnitude that it did. Being the co-owner of SUAVV Magazine, I have done close to 50 book reviews over the last 5 years. This means that I have read book on top of book to produce what I felt was a personal interpretation and recommendation for our audience.

    I remained able to commit to memory excerpts and stories from Russell Simmons, Donald Trump, Kirk Franklin, Steve Harvey, Michael Eric Dyson, Spike Lee, Bill Cosby, Lance Armstrong, Tom Joyner, Hill Harper, Cornell West, Rev Run, and many more. Throughout those periods and all of the amazing books, I have NEVER sat down to begin reading a book and stood up in the same day finishing that book. After reading, I grabbed a highlighter and post it tabs to mark reminders of quotes and phrases on the corner folded pages that affected me the most.

    This book is not just another celebrity book. This book is going to open the eyes of someone who may have never had a self-delving conversation with another person. It's going to touch the lives of men who feel as though showing their vulnerability may be considered a weakness. This could very well be "That Book" that could turn the volunteering efforts of the inner city around. It's very important that this book gains the platform that is needed to help others realize their true potential.

    I have decided to take on two concepts of the book. First, "Only those that can see the invisible can do the impossible," and "Becoming the best Rashod that I can possibly be." It's my mission at this point to utilize my platform to help make sure that no child will have to endure your worse "No". Your journey of success and the level of self-understanding has taken me away from a fan or your music and repositioned me as an enthusiast and supporter of you as a man. Keep encouraging, influencing, motivating, and succeeding in all that you do. I am personally giving my best wishes.

    It's Love,

    Rashod Davenport
    Executive Editor / Co-Publisher
    SUAVV Magazine

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THANK YOU!!

    It took me 3 days to read it. That's how hooked you get. Let me just say that after reading this book I LOVE and ADORE Tyrese even more. My Family and I will continue to support all and/or any of your present and future endeavors. Thank you for your courage as a man but most of all as a human being. You are in a position where you didn't have to write this but you did and I'm eternally grateful. When my 12 yr. old nephew stays with me I read it to him as a bedtime story. Then the next day I have him tell me what he remembers and then I explain it to him in greater detail. It was hard to hold the tears back when you touched upon your upbringing because it's very similar to his. I wanted him to know that from now on there is no excuse to be involved with the wrong people because of your surroundings. His mother(my sis) asked to borrow the book, but I'm afraid it will just sit and collect dust. I will get her a copy in hopes that she actually opens it and reads it because she needs too badly! For the sake of her own being and most of all her children. To deny a child to have the best possible upbringing because you can't deal with your BS, is unfair. In Amazon I read a review a couple weeks ago about the cheating & the way men think and how that didn't mesh well with the overall message of the book. I must disagree because if all women would read those chapters they would save themselves ALOT of heartache. It is so dead on and is truly the way men & women think. There must have been something in those chapters that YOU made the reader look at, that she didn't necessarily want to. I've listened to your voicemails in the past and was always left wanting more but not anymore! :D Thank you for reminding me to look for God whenever possible. With all of that said I will continue hearing & acting upon those messages that I've been getting all year long to get off my ass & keep pushing so I can live the life I was meant to live. Once again Thank You and May God Bless You with all His Blessings and then some!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is an awesome book and I plan to buy several copies to give as gifts. It read like a conversation which made it easy to follow and his transparency even through painful issues is appreciated. We need more books like this which let people know that you don't have to stay in bondage to your childhood but there is a way out, VERY inspiring!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Great thought provoking book!

    To say I was surprised at Tyrese's depth would be an understatement. He had me reevaluating how I approach my life and the events of past, present and some changes I will be making in the future. Thanks alot Tyrese for your insight and unexpected wisdom. I have always been a fan but now I see another side to you and I salute you and wish you much more success and blessings overflowing!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Is So Good

    As a fan of Tyrese since the days he was singing for Coca Cola on a bus to now, I was pleasantly surprised that this turned out to be such a great book. I'd recommend it for every young adult with big dreams. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," sold here on BN another great book with a timely message.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    You will love it!

    This is the best self help book i have ever read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK SO FAR

    Im not even halfway threw this book but yet Im blown away from how much Im learning!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Inspiring, Emotional Amazing Book By Tyrese

    This book was very good. Very inspirational and emotional. Tyrese explained every detail of his story and strong advice to the readers with great brillance. He leaves the reader with a lot to think about regarding love, relationships and LIFE!!!


    You have to read this book to understand what I am talking about. It was just an amazing piece of work. Congratulations to Tyrese for your Best Seller!!!!

    May God continue to bless you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Frankie Hampton

    Tyrese delivered. Great book. Plain and simple.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Thank you Tyrese

    Tyrese is on point in all subjects.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    This is a very good book.

    This book is vey informative and inspiring. It gives you an insight on how to love new life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Great book

    Tyrese's book was awesome and it allowed me to see another side of a very deep sound brother making positive things happen. This is must read book for all males thinking that they know Tyrese.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Excellent Book! A Must READ..

    This book is excellent and a MUST READ. This book is very honest, sincere, powerful and emotional. I cried twice in the first first chapter and was inspired throughout the rest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Very well written read.

    Although, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, I must say that it is geared to youngster's. I wish he was around when I was in my twenties, early thirties. He seems like an "old soul", much wiser then a guy of his age would be. I did take away a lot of knowledge and would recommend this book to many people. I now follow him on facebook, although he is not posting as he used to. I think he said he was taking a break from it. I thought he was only an actor, I had no idea he sang too. I will have to listen to his music to see if its too my liking. Very original writing, and great speaker too. I hope more people do get into his work. A very talented young man. You make a mom proud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This was a very inspirational, motivating and insightful book. Tyrese touches may different subjects and with each topic he gives very good advice. He is not preachy but at the same time he speaks from a God centered perspective. Once I began reading it, I found it very difficult to put down. Excellent read! I recommend it to anyone looking to change directions in life. If this book doesn't motivate you..I don't know what will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Good book

    Omg tyrese i can t belive you done work on a book in really told these young girls and boys the real thing thank you for keepin it real

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Omg

    Damn he went threw sum shyt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Very good Book

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Same ole!!! Sma ole!!!

    Yaaas my booo keep on makin books that the kind of man a real women( bot me either juss a good women honestly all women deserves someone good to them) needs smart and so sophisticated and not rick sophistucated either i juss like wrutin g00d stuff biut ny thou its unnessecary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Great read!

    I am still reading but have really enjoyed reading about Tyrese's life and how he got out of his own way. This book has really put some things on my mind and how I am going to take action to get out of my own way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7