Customer Reviews for

How to Grill: The Complete Illustrated Book of Barbecue Techniques

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Steven Raichlen's "How To Grill" a very good beginner's guide in grilling.

This book was given as a Father's Day gift. As beginner and as a person who really doesn't like to cook this book was an inspiration. It shows all of the steps in preparing and grilling just about any food any person might want to grill for one person, a family or a lar...
This book was given as a Father's Day gift. As beginner and as a person who really doesn't like to cook this book was an inspiration. It shows all of the steps in preparing and grilling just about any food any person might want to grill for one person, a family or a large group.

posted by Joangel09 on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Do not up this book if you have an iPad

We have this book in paper version and bought it to take it with us more easily because the book is rather large and heavy. The book will only open on my Nook. The Nook app for iPad will not allow the book to be viewed on the iPad.

posted by 10084380 on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Steven Raichlen's "How To Grill" a very good beginner's guide in grilling.

    This book was given as a Father's Day gift. As beginner and as a person who really doesn't like to cook this book was an inspiration. It shows all of the steps in preparing and grilling just about any food any person might want to grill for one person, a family or a large group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Do not up this book if you have an iPad

    We have this book in paper version and bought it to take it with us more easily because the book is rather large and heavy. The book will only open on my Nook. The Nook app for iPad will not allow the book to be viewed on the iPad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I went from zero to hero at the grill

    My dad taught me the grilling basics, but I was interested in more advanced techniques like smoking and multi-zone fire pits. After reading the instructions in this book (and memorizing them, lol) I learned to gage the heat of the fire and the internal temp of the meat. Yesterday, I cooked a 12 pound pork shoulder for just over six hours on a charcoal grill and I have to admit... I made the best pulled pork I've ever had.

    The instructions in this book are extremely clear and easily understood. The writer regularly references topics from previous pages for those that like to skim or need a quick refresher. Every topic (that I know of) is covered. This book is the next best thing to having a grill master stand next to you.

    Don't forget that every grill is different. Where the book called for twelve coals added every hour, I had to add nearly 24 to keep the temperature up. Just a big grill I guess.

    Enjoy the book, it's excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Best for BBQ

    I have watched cooking shows for years and have always had questions. I have to say that this book answers all of them. I have made about seven of the recipes and all of them were great and easy to follow in the book. I was never a great bbqer, but now I feel very confident. I highly recomend this book. Thank You Steven. Cookin Karen

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best BBQ instruction baak

    I thought I made good ribs,chicken and burgers, but after reading Steve's book, boy was I wrong! I wasn't marinating correctly and meats were tough, ribs not moist. I read the book over several days and fgured out how to properly do it and VOILA tasty moist food at long last!
    Pics are very helpful in step/step prep.
    My favorite BBQ book by far.Worth every(low priced) dollar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect!

    I have this book handy every Friday when I am planning what I want to grill over the weekend. It provides inspiration on what to prepare. The instructions are clear and concise. The photos are extremely helpful. And the variety of options is nice. I have used it so much the binding is starting to break. Just one note. I use a Weber Performer charcoal grill and find the recipes easy to use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Excellent for grillers of all levels

    The great thing about this book is even if you are an experienced griller, it still gives you ideas on different receipies and techniques. I bought it to answer a few questions about grilling fish and I've learned a whole lot more. It has inspired me to try all sorts of new things instead of making the same dish the same way each time now I mix it up so that it keeps it interesting for the family eating the meals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Love this book!

    As a begining griller, this book is just perfect for me. I love the Saffron-Grilled chicken and the Spatchcocked chicken recipes. And learning how to grill vegys was a bonus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    A Cookbook Loaded with Tips and Easy Recipes

    I recently purchased this cookbook, anticipating warm weather and cooking outdoors. Although I have several cookbooks in my collection for grilling, I must say that this is the most comprehensive and easy to use cookbook that I have found. It is filled with recipes, tips and great advice from starting a grill to gas fired grills and cooking equipment. I like it because it really explains the technique of perfect grilling. There are tons of recipes which include grilling all the basics ¿ steaks, burgers, chicken, satays, wings, quail and turkey, pork every kind of fish you can imagine, shellfish from shrimp to clams. There is a section just on grilling vegetables - asparagus corn eggplant mushrooms, potatoes, pizza and quesadillas. Desserts such as grilled pineapples and pears, and S¿Mores are also included. I especially love the chapter on rubs, sauces, herbed butters, relishes and salsas. There are 498 pages of easy- to-read recipes and more than a 1000 photos so you can see how the recipe is made, step by step. So I do recommend this book very highly if you are interested in perfecting your grilling techniques or just looking for some new, delicious recipes for grilling with ease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    what a great book

    The best grilling book out there. great for beginners as well as for the experienced grill meisters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    Raichlen is the Master!

    He has truly turned backyard grilling into an art. With excellent techniques and some great recipes, this book is an ideal gift for the barbeque master in your house. The beer can chicken is excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    A Must-Have Book

    Detailed, practical guide to grilling! Everything I need to know to prepare food for the grill. Includes cuts of meat, recipes, tips, illustrations, etc. It is one of the most informative cook books I've ever used.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    GREAT TECHNIQUES -- DELICIOUS RESULTS

    Colorful, plentiful illustrations -- step-by-step techniques (everything I could imagine needing to know) . . . plus recipes. Makes a great gift for anyone, especially a man. Nicely designed to appeal to all. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    The one grilling book you must own!

    This is quite simply the best grilling book available. You won't believe the compliments you'll receive after cooking some of the dishes in this book. The recipes are very interesting and extremely unique. Never would I have imagined grilling pizza until reading this book. It is superb. I've been grilling for 30 years and since receiving this book I have found a renewed passion. In summary: A great book for neophyte and veteran grillers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    Great Recipes with Easy Instructions

    The day I came home with this book, my husband claimed it as his. Each recipe has step-by-step instructions with pictures, from starting the fire to garnishing. A great book for the amateur grill jockey or the accomplished grill master.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Solid book

    Solid book, something for the person who's a total novice or someone who knows his/her way around the grill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    I have quite a small collection of grill books, but I needed help with smoker receipes. Good book for that in addition to authors expertise in all aspects of grilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Love this book

    I bought this book because of the seasonings. I have a hard time finding simple ways to season stuff..anything from vegetables to meat, and this book uses seasonings that I have at home, nothing fancy that I have to go track down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Great book!!!

    Great from beginner to an experienced cook over fire. Very easy to follow. Great recipes and tips! Answers questions other books don't like should I or shouldn't I add unlit coals to a fire when cooking past 1 hour for beer can chicken, turkeys, pork shoulders, and differences of types of charcoal, etc. If you're beginning cooking over charcoal, a MUST READ with recipes. If you've cooked over it before, expands other options on food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    covers alot of the basics 4 out of 5

    pretty neet book i used it afew times and it helped me alot , im a guy who hardly ever cooks with the book it was fairly easy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2