Customer Reviews for

How to Knit a Heart Back Home (Cypress Hollow Yarn Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Simply Fabulous - A Must Read!

    The second book in the Cypress Hollow series, this book is even better than the first. Loved yarn legend Eliza Carpenter's little notes of wisdom at the beginning of each chapter, so much so, I found myself using her quotes on my facebook page. Couldn't wait for the bookstore to open so I downloaded the book on my e-reader and then rushed to the bookstore for a paperback book for my collection. I'm not normally a romance reader, however, this series is the exception because the characters come alive with each turning of the page. Makes me wonder if West Coast men are really like this and if so, why am i still on the East Coast?!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have read both books so far; I enjoyed them very much. I just wish Rachael could write faster!! It is a romance novel without the heaving breasts, etc. which I hate. When I find an author who can write so I can read without nausea, I am SOLD! Best wishes, Rachael. Keep it up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lots to love

    Rachael has done it again - a plot where all along I thought I knew what was coming, then *pow* I was wrong. If you think this is yet another predictable knitting romance, think again.

    The characters are human, with good and bad moments, and the situations are very believable. I love the knitting content, of course, but the story drew me in.

    I will admit there were a few moments on the plane I wished my Nook screen wasn't as easily readable as it is, but I found the more *cough*romantic*cough* parts well written and not, well, syrupy, crass, or gaggifying. It's hard to write a good sex scene!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This Book Has It All!

    Rachael Herron's latest - which I felt as though I'd been waiting for FOREVER - has it all: Sexy characters, great dialogue, a welcoming bookstore, a neighborhood bar and - best of all - knitting as part of folks' everyday lives. Every time I read one of Herron's books, I learn something new. With the first book, I learned about ranching. This time, I learned about EMTs and small business ownership. Nice little side stories, with more interesting characters, that enhanced the main storyline. This is a fabulous romance (I'm not reviewing that, since others have already done so here, much better than I would) with wonderful people who are warm, funny, kind, conflicted - much like most of us on our better days. I loved this book - and have already bought a second copy for my cousin, as a birthday gift. Can't wait for book number 3!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Wonderful, warm hearted read!

    Just finished and I'm sorry it's over! Wonderful story, character and knitting pattern! Looking forward to book three of Cypress Hollow, hopefully not too long! If you haven't read the Cypress Hollow series you are missing out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Just as good as the first in the series!

    Rachael Herron does not disappoint her readers as we return to Cypress Hollow. I laughed many times as I read about the comings and goings of characters (new and old). Looking forward to more books from Rachael!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Finally, a return to Cypress Hollow!

    I love Rachel Herron! Once again, she's written a captivating story with characters that leap off the page and into your heart. Reading "How to Knit a Heart Back Home" felt like visiting a favorite destination: I got to visit with old friends and meet new favorites along the way. Her stories are fun and funny and juicy and once again, I couldn't put it down. I cannot wait to see what she brings us next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    That rare sequel that is even better than the first book!

    Rachael Herron has done it again -- and even better than the first time! The characters are very believable, and make you want to root for them. Who could resist the tried-and-true good girl/bad boy romance? With more mystery, and less suspense, How to Knit a Heart Back Home is even more to my liking than How to Knit a Love Song. And the HUMOR -- Lucy's mother reminds me of (Janet Evanovich's) Stephanie Plum's Grandma Mazur! I very much look forward to Rachael's third book in the series, due out this fall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a warm knitter romance

    In Cypress Hollow, California, thirtyish Book Spire bookstore owner Lucy Harrison volunteers as a fire brigade fighter. However, she is also a serial knitter who cherishes the work of famed late knitter Eliza Carpenter, who was a friend of Lucy's grandmother and of Alzheimer's victim Irene Bancroft.

    Irene's son retired SFPD police officer Owen returns home due a duty related injury. Lucy is euphoric as she loved unrequitedly Owen during their days together in high school. She hopes the second time is the charm as she considers How to Knit a Love Song. Adding to her delight is that he moves in next door to her bookstore. He is as attracted to her as her to him. Lucy helps him with his mother's items since Irene moved into an assisted living facility. Doing so enables Lucy to find a wealth of material on her idol and writes a biography. When Irene runs away from the home and moves into an unsteady shut down lighthouse, Lucy has to retrieve her as Owen's injury does not allow him to do so.

    This is a warm knitter romance in which Rachael Herron's love of the craft shines throughout the enjoyable story line. The Cypress Hollow cast makes for a fun time especially for the knitter crowd; though we civilians will appreciate the wonderful second chance at love prime plot and the loving lore of the craft. One last aside to Knitters: there is a wonderful end that in my opinion is worth a first look.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2