Customer Reviews for

How to Know If It's Time to Go: A 10-Step Reality Test for Your Marriage

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is a significant contribution in the field of marriage counseling.

As a matrimonial lawyer I have made it a practice to advise my clients that they should be as 'committed to the divorce as they should have been to the marriage.' .As a result of this fine book I now have a reference source to refer them to, to wit, How To Know If It's ...
As a matrimonial lawyer I have made it a practice to advise my clients that they should be as 'committed to the divorce as they should have been to the marriage.' .As a result of this fine book I now have a reference source to refer them to, to wit, How To Know If It's Time To Go. If there is any doubt at all in a person's mind about the future of their marriage they should read this book and be guided by the sensible principles and tests set forth therein. This is a significant contribution in the field of 'marriage counseling.

Stanford Lotwin, Board of Managers, American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers

posted by Stanford_Lotwin on March 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Holidays & Mixed Families

If your not aware I am like so many others. I have been married and divorced and married..........and now I have a mixed family. With that is always new lessons to learn on how to exist in these families with harmony. I feel quite lucky that my ex and I sat down and tal...
If your not aware I am like so many others. I have been married and divorced and married..........and now I have a mixed family. With that is always new lessons to learn on how to exist in these families with harmony. I feel quite lucky that my ex and I sat down and talked on how to have a friendly divorce. We knew we would always be our daughter's parents and would have to be part of each others lives after our divorce. And we have made it work out with little fuss.

So how did we get there? Well, first we wasted a long time. Staying married 15 years when our marriage was over in the first 5 years. I would have liked to have read "How to Know if it's Time to Go-A 10-Step Reality Test for Your Marriage". Now I know that we all wish to keep our marriage healthy. I wanted to do the very same thing. But instead wasted 10 years of mine and my ex's life. And drug our sweet daughter through those trying times. Sometimes we just have to face reality.

What I do like about this book is that it addresses your children's issues. Making it a fact that there needs to be healthy relationships between the separated parents and future families. So you need to deal with how a healthy divorce works compared to an unhealthy marriage. (I know having been there.) And helping your child or children with school, family, friends, self esteem and all the issues that come up. I feel quiet lucky that we took a logical look at our future. Now having been divorced over 7 years we can still visit each other with our College Girl. And even better yet, College Girl now has her (half) lil sister to share her life with. The two families often share meals, holidays and even for a short while a home together.

posted by lynette355 on December 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    This is a significant contribution in the field of marriage counseling.

    As a matrimonial lawyer I have made it a practice to advise my clients that they should be as 'committed to the divorce as they should have been to the marriage.' .As a result of this fine book I now have a reference source to refer them to, to wit, How To Know If It's Time To Go. If there is any doubt at all in a person's mind about the future of their marriage they should read this book and be guided by the sensible principles and tests set forth therein. This is a significant contribution in the field of 'marriage counseling.

    Stanford Lotwin, Board of Managers, American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    Opened My Eyes

    Larry and Beverly's "Marriage Bill of Rights" was a true eye-opener for me. Reading down my list of "rights" in a relationship was very empowering: a right to loyalty, affection, companionship, and other important things. I suddenly realized what was wrong in some of my prior relationships and why they became unsatisfying. The book is an easy and informative read. I love what it taught me!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Comes Alive

    This immensely useful book shows how to evaluate your marriage, and how to improve it or consider the realities of divorce. The many case histories make it come alive.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Holidays & Mixed Families

    If your not aware I am like so many others. I have been married and divorced and married..........and now I have a mixed family. With that is always new lessons to learn on how to exist in these families with harmony. I feel quite lucky that my ex and I sat down and talked on how to have a friendly divorce. We knew we would always be our daughter's parents and would have to be part of each others lives after our divorce. And we have made it work out with little fuss.

    So how did we get there? Well, first we wasted a long time. Staying married 15 years when our marriage was over in the first 5 years. I would have liked to have read "How to Know if it's Time to Go-A 10-Step Reality Test for Your Marriage". Now I know that we all wish to keep our marriage healthy. I wanted to do the very same thing. But instead wasted 10 years of mine and my ex's life. And drug our sweet daughter through those trying times. Sometimes we just have to face reality.

    What I do like about this book is that it addresses your children's issues. Making it a fact that there needs to be healthy relationships between the separated parents and future families. So you need to deal with how a healthy divorce works compared to an unhealthy marriage. (I know having been there.) And helping your child or children with school, family, friends, self esteem and all the issues that come up. I feel quiet lucky that we took a logical look at our future. Now having been divorced over 7 years we can still visit each other with our College Girl. And even better yet, College Girl now has her (half) lil sister to share her life with. The two families often share meals, holidays and even for a short while a home together.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    helpful book for anyone in a relationship

    This book is a must-read for anyone contemplating divorce or having marital trouble. The information is very grounded in research and the content is useful. Reading through the marriage test really allowed me to learn more about myself and my relationship. I found the stories to be clearly written and easy to relate to. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    excellent book for those in troubled marriages

    As a psychologist who sees both couples and individuals, I was happy to read How to Know If It's Time to Go. It is a wonderful book for helping anyone struggling in their marriage.

    The book is full of anecdotes to flesh out many situations that people can identify with and a variety of topics which often cause stress in relationships. I plan to recommend it to several of my patients (as well as acquaintances) because it looks squarely at what constitutes a viable relationship, helps people assess their own, gives ideas to improve marriages, or if that's not possible, offers suggestions for successful navigation of separation and divorce.

    Judith Warren, Ph.D.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Have you been awake nights wondering what's wrong with your marriage?

    Is something missing? Is it worth fixing? are you afraid there's no way out? Drs, Birnbach and Hyman, clinical and personal experts in divorce, its prevention and aftermath, take you step by step through these questions and many more lurking in the back of your mind. The book guides you to find life in your marriage or go gently through a divorce with a minimum of fallout. Their advice is solidly based on research findings making it a welcome addition for professionals as well.
    Mary Giuffra, PhD
    Licensed Marriage & Family Therapist
    Board Certified Advanced Practice RN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    Terrific Relationship Self-Help Guide

    If you are stuck in a relationship knowing things aren't right, this book can help get you motivated to do something about the problem. The reader immediately gets hooked emotionally identifying with problem areas and assessing exactly how unhappy you are.
    The Marriage Bill of Rights is a winning concept. You are entitled to: loyalty, protection, affection, partnering, caregiving, support, companionship, freedom, honest communication and respect.
    "How to Know" also help you identify your fears of leaving a relationship and helps you to examine if you have exhausted your possibilities of improving it. If all else fails, the guide helps you through the going.
    It's a "must read" for people in unsatisfying relationships.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Sensitive and Strong

    This book gets it right. Before we met, my husband and I initiated divorce from previous unhappy marriages. The honesty of these actions brought tremendous relief. After reading this book, we examined the areas outlined, insightfully. This book triggered even more discussion and reflection on our marriage,now. It helps us recognize how strong our marriage is, and how gratefully we embrace what we have together.
    Well written, no-nonsense and sensitive. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    This helps think about divorce in a non-emotional way. It's not

    This helps think about divorce in a non-emotional way. It's not geared to help you fix the problems on why s/he left or how to win them back but helps with understanding appropriate reasons to divorce and if the marriage is salvable and if you should move forward with divorce. Personally, I didn't want a divorce so the book helped me confirm my reflections and helped me understand why I didn't want a divorce other than being "inlove" and other than believe marriage is a life-long commitment. I do return back to this book often for confirmation when I feel hopeless with my decision to withhold divorce and let my spouse deal with the forwarding legal matter (they were the one who left after all) . I did not want to do something I was not comfortable with doing, in my situation my spouse wants a divorce but wanted me to do the paperwork. I had no problem to do said paperwork if I didn't question divorce but I did, and this book helped me understand why I wasn't on the same page and stick to my foundation, feeling more comfortable about not doing something that I initially didn't want to do. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Just OK.

    Recommend Contemplating Divorce or Too Good to Go Too Bad to Stay before this light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    GREAT BOOK

    love it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Valuable advice for making a decision

    This book is a must for anyone who has doubts about staying in their
    current relationship. Are you happy with your partner, are they happy with you? Are you staying out of fear or because you believe your relationship will change?
    Reading this book will help you honestly assess the choices of staying or leaving. The book provides specific decision points to review in making your choice.
    An important Marriage Bill of Rights is put forth and the authors include a series of very real case studies.
    If your relationship is in trouble, this book can help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    How to Know if it's Time to Go Birnbach and Hyman

    "How to Know if it's Time to Go," by Dr. Lawrence Birnbach and Dr. Beverly Hyman provides us with an entertainingly written and useful manual for recognizing and understanding the challenges to the happy marriage and for overcoming them by discussion and reconciliation between the parties or by, without fear or shame, resorting to divorce if the marriage cannot be saved. It is high time that we had such a candid treatment of these issues that can be of real value to the many unhappy marriages around us .
    As one who himself went through a divorce some years ago, I can testify to the need for the kind of guidance provided by Drs. Birnbach and Hyman. It is painfully difficult to know when or if it's time to go. Am I really giving this marriage enough time? Am I properly giving the time and effort necessary to understand my spouse, her values and her needs? What will be the effect on children? Am I ready or willing to divide our property and can this be done fairly? Will I have the physical and the spiritual resources necessary to find and enter into another relationship?
    On all of these subjects, the authors have something wise and convincing to say. This is an important book and should be read by those in both happy and unhappy marriages. For those happily married, they will understand why they are content. For those unhappily married, they will be well advised what to do next.

    Harold Goldstein
    New York City

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2