Customer Reviews for

How to Make Love like a Porn Star: A Cautionary Tale

Average Rating 4
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

kept me captivated

How to Make Love Like a Porn Star: A Cautionary Tale is an easy to read autobiography of Jenna Jameson, who has become one of the biggest porn stars in America to date. It is not a manual on how to have sex or enter into the porn world as one might think while being pul...
How to Make Love Like a Porn Star: A Cautionary Tale is an easy to read autobiography of Jenna Jameson, who has become one of the biggest porn stars in America to date. It is not a manual on how to have sex or enter into the porn world as one might think while being pulled in by the over the edge title, but actually details the life of Jenna and explains how to she ended up where she is today. Throughout 600 pages of encounters, diary entries, movie scripts and comic panels the reader learns about the rough times Jenna endures beginning with being raised with a single father and brother and being a rebellious high schooler. Through ordeals with poor role models and manipulative men, she became an insecure and young girl who still craved attention and money, which kept her in the business and taught her the ropes of using her beauty and manipulation techniques to make thousands of dollars a night. A choppy and somewhat uncomfortable account of how she flew through the industry beginning as a stripper at the Crazy Horse in Las Vegas, moving into the magazine scene and starring in adult films by age 20 may be a little too graphic for some readers but if one can accept the fact that the stories are very detailed, it is worth reading and keeps the reader captivated. I am not one who is interested in porn or strip clubs and have never seen any of Jenna¿s actually work but learned a ton about her life and the world of the adult industry through this book. Although many may look down on Jenna Jameson, and the life she has led, including drug abuse and an uncountable amount of affairs with men and women she is completely candid in her autobiography and doesn¿t regret anything that has happened. She doesn¿t ask for sympathy or understanding but simply tells her story. The events in her life made her a stronger person enabling her to empower her readers as well.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Get rid of the 'F' word

removing the 'F'word would cut the length of this book in half. You could then get to the story rather than weeding through the profanity.

posted by Anonymous on November 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    kept me captivated

    How to Make Love Like a Porn Star: A Cautionary Tale is an easy to read autobiography of Jenna Jameson, who has become one of the biggest porn stars in America to date. It is not a manual on how to have sex or enter into the porn world as one might think while being pulled in by the over the edge title, but actually details the life of Jenna and explains how to she ended up where she is today. Throughout 600 pages of encounters, diary entries, movie scripts and comic panels the reader learns about the rough times Jenna endures beginning with being raised with a single father and brother and being a rebellious high schooler. Through ordeals with poor role models and manipulative men, she became an insecure and young girl who still craved attention and money, which kept her in the business and taught her the ropes of using her beauty and manipulation techniques to make thousands of dollars a night. A choppy and somewhat uncomfortable account of how she flew through the industry beginning as a stripper at the Crazy Horse in Las Vegas, moving into the magazine scene and starring in adult films by age 20 may be a little too graphic for some readers but if one can accept the fact that the stories are very detailed, it is worth reading and keeps the reader captivated. I am not one who is interested in porn or strip clubs and have never seen any of Jenna¿s actually work but learned a ton about her life and the world of the adult industry through this book. Although many may look down on Jenna Jameson, and the life she has led, including drug abuse and an uncountable amount of affairs with men and women she is completely candid in her autobiography and doesn¿t regret anything that has happened. She doesn¿t ask for sympathy or understanding but simply tells her story. The events in her life made her a stronger person enabling her to empower her readers as well.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    All i can say is wow!!

    You will never want to put this book down..
    It is a huge book over 500 pages but dont let that scare you away or make you not get it...!!
    It is awsome. Jenna Jameson has had one of the toughest lifes out there and she doesnt hold anything back..
    It really makes you take a look at her differently.
    It makes you rethink your life even.
    I think anyone who thinks they had it tough or thinks they dont really know jenna should read this book. In fact i think all teenage girls should read this book. It might make them rethink how they look at life..

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    beautifully written

    i have to admit that before i read this book, i despised jenna jameson & women who did porn.<BR/><BR/>now, i have read the book 3 times & adore jenna jameson & look at these women from a different persepective. <BR/><BR/>DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY IT'S COVER!<BR/><BR/>the people you hate/despise could be stronger than you are, give them a chance

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    interesting bio

    a very interesting but true look into the life of one of the most infamous adult stars. not a how to guide but more of a caution to that type of employment. Jenna shows that shes not just a ditz that gets paid to sleep around. she is a human and just like any other human she gets into strange jobs that she does very well. It is a very interesting book with a lot of knowledge into a life that only some think about.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Get rid of the 'F' word

    removing the 'F'word would cut the length of this book in half. You could then get to the story rather than weeding through the profanity.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    very easy read. kept me interested

    very easy read. kept me interested

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    In Cr Horrible

    The most depressing book Ive ever read. I never liked Las Vegas or Miami or Phoenix. There is nothing charming or interesting in this wasteland of a story




    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    TOUCHING

    OMG.. THIS BOOK WAS ONE OF THE GREATEST! I NEVER WOULD OF READ A BOOK LIKE THIS UNTILL A FRIEND POINTED IT OUT TO ME AND I LOVED IT!! THINGS YOU WOULD NEVER EXPECT...SHE TELLS IT ALL! HAPPY READING

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    It Grows On You-In A Good Way

    I was expecting sexy fluff, shady characters and tingling nether regions--which I received in spades. What I was not expecting was the raw, visceral impact of her story, the honesty,devastation and ultimate catharsis that made Jenna into the woman she is today. Things are discussed that most women would keep hidden in the secret lockboxes of theirm psyches. But Jenna lets you look, makes you feel, and in the end, makes you believe that no matter where your life takes you, in the end, it is and always will be, YOUR life. Hers is a remarkable one, and her pride in that life is well-justified and deserving of respect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Canton

    Waits nake.d with his long thick juisy pen.is.....

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Fun book

    Jenna doesn't pull any punches and tells the tale of how she got to be the No. 1 porn star ever. quick and fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Enjoyed

    I really enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Interesting story

    This autobiography is interesting - but I don't think I would recommend it to anyone unless you are a Jenna Jameson fan. I bought this book in hopes to find out who Jenna really is - behind the "typical" porn star facade. I was a little disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    WOW!!

    I am shocked how much I like this book! So good. Drama, Sex, Drama and more SEX

    She really keeps you interested.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book!!!

    this book was amazing!! i couldn't put it down! i read it in about 3 days! what a life she has had! love it!! must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    The BEST book I have read in a while.

    This book is one of the most amazing books that has ever been in my hands. She tells her story with so much emotion you find yourself lost in her world. This book was never set down until I was finished. The pictures in the book are not suitable for younger children. This book allowed me to respect her and the people like her who are just trying to make it in the world. You get an absolute different view on porn stars and strippers after reading this book. I highly recommend this book. It is a must read before you die.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Read this

    Great read. You realize how strong & driven she is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining and a super fast read.  Everyone is interested in t

    Entertaining and a super fast read.  Everyone is interested in the subject and it give you a solid look into her life.  Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Nook sex

    It's almost having on a phone you just imagine that the indivile is their with your prestance but instead of talking your texting it with your nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    To Alexa

    I wanna fuq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11