Customer Reviews for

How to Make Love like a Porn Star: A Cautionary Tale

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

kept me captivated

How to Make Love Like a Porn Star: A Cautionary Tale is an easy to read autobiography of Jenna Jameson, who has become one of the biggest porn stars in America to date. It is not a manual on how to have sex or enter into the porn world as one might think while being pul...
How to Make Love Like a Porn Star: A Cautionary Tale is an easy to read autobiography of Jenna Jameson, who has become one of the biggest porn stars in America to date. It is not a manual on how to have sex or enter into the porn world as one might think while being pulled in by the over the edge title, but actually details the life of Jenna and explains how to she ended up where she is today. Throughout 600 pages of encounters, diary entries, movie scripts and comic panels the reader learns about the rough times Jenna endures beginning with being raised with a single father and brother and being a rebellious high schooler. Through ordeals with poor role models and manipulative men, she became an insecure and young girl who still craved attention and money, which kept her in the business and taught her the ropes of using her beauty and manipulation techniques to make thousands of dollars a night. A choppy and somewhat uncomfortable account of how she flew through the industry beginning as a stripper at the Crazy Horse in Las Vegas, moving into the magazine scene and starring in adult films by age 20 may be a little too graphic for some readers but if one can accept the fact that the stories are very detailed, it is worth reading and keeps the reader captivated. I am not one who is interested in porn or strip clubs and have never seen any of Jenna¿s actually work but learned a ton about her life and the world of the adult industry through this book. Although many may look down on Jenna Jameson, and the life she has led, including drug abuse and an uncountable amount of affairs with men and women she is completely candid in her autobiography and doesn¿t regret anything that has happened. She doesn¿t ask for sympathy or understanding but simply tells her story. The events in her life made her a stronger person enabling her to empower her readers as well.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Get rid of the 'F' word

removing the 'F'word would cut the length of this book in half. You could then get to the story rather than weeding through the profanity.

posted by Anonymous on November 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    kept me captivated

    How to Make Love Like a Porn Star: A Cautionary Tale is an easy to read autobiography of Jenna Jameson, who has become one of the biggest porn stars in America to date. It is not a manual on how to have sex or enter into the porn world as one might think while being pulled in by the over the edge title, but actually details the life of Jenna and explains how to she ended up where she is today. Throughout 600 pages of encounters, diary entries, movie scripts and comic panels the reader learns about the rough times Jenna endures beginning with being raised with a single father and brother and being a rebellious high schooler. Through ordeals with poor role models and manipulative men, she became an insecure and young girl who still craved attention and money, which kept her in the business and taught her the ropes of using her beauty and manipulation techniques to make thousands of dollars a night. A choppy and somewhat uncomfortable account of how she flew through the industry beginning as a stripper at the Crazy Horse in Las Vegas, moving into the magazine scene and starring in adult films by age 20 may be a little too graphic for some readers but if one can accept the fact that the stories are very detailed, it is worth reading and keeps the reader captivated. I am not one who is interested in porn or strip clubs and have never seen any of Jenna¿s actually work but learned a ton about her life and the world of the adult industry through this book. Although many may look down on Jenna Jameson, and the life she has led, including drug abuse and an uncountable amount of affairs with men and women she is completely candid in her autobiography and doesn¿t regret anything that has happened. She doesn¿t ask for sympathy or understanding but simply tells her story. The events in her life made her a stronger person enabling her to empower her readers as well.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    interesting bio

    a very interesting but true look into the life of one of the most infamous adult stars. not a how to guide but more of a caution to that type of employment. Jenna shows that shes not just a ditz that gets paid to sleep around. she is a human and just like any other human she gets into strange jobs that she does very well. It is a very interesting book with a lot of knowledge into a life that only some think about.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    very easy read. kept me interested

    very easy read. kept me interested

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining and a super fast read.  Everyone is interested in t

    Entertaining and a super fast read.  Everyone is interested in the subject and it give you a solid look into her life.  Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    wow

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Awesome

    Such an amazing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Trauma and drama

    Revealing of life events, and serious character flaws. "Daddy Issues" is the key phrase here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Wow !!! Great Read

    Wow !!! Great Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Great Read

    I realy enjoyed reading this book...Very entertaining...This is not a book I would normally pick up and buy, but there was something about it that caught my eye and drew me in. It was not one that I couldn't put down, but very easy reading and very enjoyable..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Captivating and Entertaining

    This book will keep your attention throughout. It gives an inside look into what makes beautiful girls turn to something most of us can't fathom. It touches the sexual curiosity side we all have unlike any book I've ever read. In my opinion, the author is prone to exaggerate in some cases and there is no way to substantiate some of the stories but in general the basic story is very believable and some embellishment would be expected. The reader should be aware that this is basically an "X" rated booked with graphic details discussed. But that is probably what most readers are expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    A Guilty Pleasure

    Satisfying in a voyeuristic sort of way. Jenna the porn star is an almost perfect sexual object of desire. Jenna the person is kind of pathetic and has lived a deplorable life. She doesn't seem to have any regrets for the choices she's made in life. The book promotes the former and minimizes the latter. However, I only read it for erotic stimulation, and was well-satisfied (metaphorically speaking). Idolize Jenna, but don't wish you were her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    Good Insights

    Jenna gives some good insights on the porn industry and some of the players in it, but her book suffers from having too much info in it. Some of this stuff should have been edited out! I love her lists, especially the one for men who want to enter the porn industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    very amusing and well written......

    as far as I'm concerned..this book was great and worth reading....Strip City was another must read,,,and the brand new and highly controversial book 'Dance to Despair' (Memoirs of an exotic dancer) was absolutley spellbinding...based on a true story...a must order.....you won't be dissapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    An Illuminating Tale

    In 'How to Make Love Like a Porn Star,' Jenna provides an authentic snapshot of the porn industry. Jenna tells what it is really like on a the set and how the sex is often nothing but acting and usually unpleasant for the performers. One thing that stood out for me in this book is that unlike other books of this genre, Jenna does not use the book to get revenge or criticize the porn industry. This may be because she was the queen of porn for several years in the industry and actually had a decent experience that made her rich or the fact that she is still involved in porn with her Web site and as a producer. In the final chapter I couldn't help bursting out laughing at Jenna's wedding pictures. With almost 80 (admitted) on-screen and off-screen male and female sex partners, the white dress is a wee bit of a stretch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    The Other Side of the Coin, being Jenna Massoli

    All to often, we find ourselves juding a book by it's cover until we open the it and look in. 'HOW TO MAKE LOVE LIKE A PORN STAR' is just one of those books! For those of you looking for stories of wild sex and adventures, you may very confused and lost. For those of you looking for fast times, glitter and glamor, you may find a lackluster events. For those of you looking to see Jenna Jameson, she isn't in these pages! 'HOW TO MAKE LOVE LIKE A PORN STAR', is a story of the 'other side'! A story of real life, it's losses, it's betrayals, it's shortcomings and it's search to find trust,contentment,love,family and most of all self! So as you thumb through this book, stopping at the many photos that have been sprinkled throughout it's chapters, realize that they are not the story, they don't even come close! The true story lives within the pages and the words. And the cover of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    GREAT BOOK AND A GREAT READ!!!!

    I have been a fan of Jenna Jameson's for a long time. I am so glad that she wrote this book and gave her fans more insight into her life. I have always thought more of her than just a centerfold and porn star and this book really showed that. Jenna tells it like it is and doesn't gloss over a thing. Even though the book is over 500 pages it is very fast paced and a very intersting read. I had the opportunity to meet Jenna a couple of years ago and she is a very nice person it is great to see that she can overcome so much to be the person she is today porn and all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    Didn't need the warning, but still enjoyed the read

    I never read pop culture icon books and definitely never rent porn, but I like sex, like to read about sex, and certainly want to improve at it! And anyway, I have to admit Jenna Jameson has impressed me whenever I've seen her on television. And she's just as articulate, intelligent, and honest as a writer as she as a guest on a talk show. So bravo to JJ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2