Customer Reviews for

How to Marry a Duke

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoy

Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoyable

posted by doggis on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

?

She strikes again. Harriet klausner, the book revealer. Come on bn. Stop this egotistical wannabe from ruining books. Every poster that posts these long dissertations and plot reveals shoukd b banned from posting.

posted by 8888649 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoy

    Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day. Very enjoyable

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    ?

    She strikes again. Harriet klausner, the book revealer. Come on bn. Stop this egotistical wannabe from ruining books. Every poster that posts these long dissertations and plot reveals shoukd b banned from posting.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Stop it

    Its a review...not a book report! A review means ..did u like it or not...quit telling the whole story...idiots!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Rare original in a Much Copied Genre

    I adored this book. It's basically The Bachelor meets regency era London, except The Bachelor ends up falling for his matchmaker. I love a romance novel that makes me laugh out loud with it's witty dialogue, and this one definitely had me going at times. It's sensual, funny, and a great story. I'd highly recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    The Bachelor - historical version

    The story begins with Tessa, a spinster (age 26), acting as matchmaker for wallflowers. She had six successful matches the prior year and has now been asked to take on the role for 31-year old Tristan, The Duke of Shelbourne. Twenty-four eligible girls are chosen and each week there are social games and events and a number of girls are eliminated each week until only two remain. If you are familiar with, and enjoy, The Bachelor TV show, you will love this book. It is one of those books that the entire story revolves around the two main characters with witty dialogue and sexual tension. Highly Recommended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Truly Enjoyed!

    I truly enjoyed this book. I loved Tessa and Tristan. To watch their love grow, was just great. I just wished they had figured out their love and passion sooner. They kept me on pins and needles till the end. I also like the sub characters of the Duchess, Julianna, Hawk, Amy and Georgette. I can not wait till Hawk and Julianna's story and see how much meddling the Duchess does with them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilariously fun - this historical romance by Vicky Dreiling is a keeper!

    How to Marry a Duke is such a fun read. Just to prove it to you, here's a passage I particularly liked:

    "Suppose you were competing with another man for a girl's affections. The other gentleman brings flowers and sends poetry. What would you do to top him?"

    "Shoot him."


    I guess you have to read it in context. But How to Marry a Duke combines two romantic leads that have spent much of their adult lives adhering to duty and sacrificing for their families. The matchmaker is now one of the wealthiest women in England and doesn't want a man dictating her life. The Duke has decided to outsource the search for a bride to a professional -- he doesn't just want a pretty face, he wants someone intelligent, independent and rational. And he's drawn to the curvy matchmaker. When he finds himself urrounded by twenty-four of the most accomplished and eligible young women and their mothers, the Duke realizes that the "confidential" search for his Duchess has taken a very strange turn.

    Contests, quizzes, essay exams, interviews -- the matchmaker and Duke come up with all sorts of ways to find the perfect match. And Dreiling takes full advantage of the situation. How to Marry a Duke had me chuckling and crying. It's a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying read!

    ISBN-10: 0446565377 - Mass Market Paperback $7.99
    Publisher: Forever; Original edition (January 3, 2011), 432 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Very frustrating

    Certain elements of the story were fun, but it kept dragging on and on at the end. The storyline was frustrating... you have to read through like a bajillion pages of "I don't deserve him/we can never be together/my secrets are so horrible there is no possible way he would understand" angst. When you FINALLY get to the end, the resolution is rushed and too simple. Suddenly all the problems go away, everyone professes their love, and then it ends.

    Parts were funny/entertaining and I really wanted to like it. It was just hard to get through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Difficult to Follow

    The story did not have an even flow. The characters popped up at random times and the relationships were disjointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    How to marry a duke

    284 pgs...The author obviously garnered the idea for this book from the television show, "The Bachelor". Discourse was witty and fun. Though i usually enjoy some suspense, I was disappointed to find out the previous relationship between Tessa and her friend's brother was predictable, but that i had to wait until literally the end of the book to find that out. I thought there would be more of a surprise to that story. There could also have been more tension during meetings between Tessa and the duke. Otherwise, a decent read for the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Awesome read...highly recommend!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    makes a great cry

    This is the best romance I have read in years! What a book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great romance with a strong heroine!

    This was another great romance. I loved the story. It was such an interesting idea, and it was pulled off superbly! A matchmaker falling in love with a client? How scandalous!

    Tessa was a great character. She was so independent and strong in a time when strong women were frowned upon. And yet she still managed to make a fairly decent life for herself. She kept her feelings bottled up, because that was what was expected of her, yet she knew that to be truly happy she would have to do things that went the status-quo, but since that was how her whole life had been when she realized what she had to do she went for it. Tristan was a great hero. He made all the women swoon, and how could he not? The most eligible bachelor and handsome to boot! He seemed a bit superficial at times, but then the more we learn about his intentions he becomes such a sweetheart and you really begin pulling for him to get what he wants, which is ultimately Tessa.

    Tessa's secret, which she thought had be successfully kept hidden comes to play and things get a bit hairy for both Tessa and Tristan as they try to find Tristan the perfect wife. It makes for a great story. It was a great love story. I can't wait to get my hands on the next in this series. .

    A review copy was provided by Hachette Book Group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Saucy and entertaining, How To Marry A Duke reminded me about the meaning of historical romance. Tristan is absolutely dreamy and his affection for Tessa is mouth-watering. Vicky wove the perfect tale and I can't wait to see what else she has in store.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Wonderful

    Collins story was good towards the end. This one was my cup of tea. You are a wonderful writer and I enjoy this and as for your reader I am sure they will also. I don't tell the story when I give a review that not what a review is about. So if you want to know why I gave the book 4 stars well you will have to read it and see if you agree. Ms. D from Bronx NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Loved it

    I read regency romance novels as a lighthearted diversion, not as great stories. This was a fabulous story and believable with characters that developed and evolved. Couldnt put it down. So very glad I got this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Awesome

    Very entertaining fun and romantic story !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Jjqjeeeeeeyerdydhehdhhbsddhdgd

    Edbfbbbfdfryyrrttrfmnnfjhturukddtjrkde

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I Loved it!

    A must read! Lots of laughs! A tender story of love for two people who least expected to find it. Kept this reader intrigued and guessing how the conflicts would be resolved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    LOL funny

    Excellent regency! Well written, loved all the characters, LOL funny ! I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7