Customer Reviews for

How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire (Love at Stake Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 687 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(374)

4 Star

(152)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A little cheesey at times, but impossible to put down!

I'd almost describe this as Twilight with a lot more sex. It's a very good book, captivating story, and is very well-written. The development is great and there are no lingering questions at the end of the book and no points where I was confused by anything written. The...
I'd almost describe this as Twilight with a lot more sex. It's a very good book, captivating story, and is very well-written. The development is great and there are no lingering questions at the end of the book and no points where I was confused by anything written. The 2 main characters are pretty fleshed out, and the vampire back-story and related issues were well-explained. The only 2 criticisms I can offer are: 1, It did end rather abruptly in my opinion, but everything was neatly wrapped up so I can't really complain too much and there are more books in the series.. and 2, Roman the vampire doesn't seem to use any other expletive but "God's blood" and it does get a bit tedious to keep hearing that in your head over and over again. BUT even with all that "God's blood" it's still a great book and I'd definitely recommend it if you like vampire romance novels.

posted by Laura84 on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Odd

I hate to be the one to break a trend of great reviews but I did choose this book based on the reccomendations and I was disappointed. I got the sense it was trying very hard to be humorous but never quite made it all the way. While the situations held potential for lau...
I hate to be the one to break a trend of great reviews but I did choose this book based on the reccomendations and I was disappointed. I got the sense it was trying very hard to be humorous but never quite made it all the way. While the situations held potential for laugh out loud fun they just never quite made it past mildly amusing very mild. The relationship between Shanna and Roman is hard to buy and Roman as a character is hard to believe. As vamps go, he isn't exactly cool or believable. Ultimately, the (questionably) dangerous situation they find themselves in lacks the heat and intensity that could have been the redeeming grace of this story and all the solutions are simply too easy. In the end there is no real resolution to the plot that sparked Roman and Shanna's relationship nor is any thought given to the obstacles inherent in their relationship.

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    The book is a worthwhile read. But I think "Harriet Klausne

    The book is a worthwhile read. But I think "Harriet Klausner" really needs to get a life or a job somewhere annoying someone else!! It's so unnecessary and rude to plot spoil books like she does EVERY time!! They should limit the space to 3 or 4 lines to "rate the book", then annoying biddies like Harriet Klausner can't wreck it for everybody!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Watered down True Blood knock off?

    So, my rating is a reflection of mixed feelings (but I chose to be generous). This book is definitely cheesy and predictable, however it somehow became a guilty pleasure. The premise/plot is ridiculous but it is a vampire love story so you can't expect too much depth. For a fluffy, and at times entertaining read it delivers. I wouldn't pay more than 99¿ for it though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The book itself was cotton-candy fare: light and tasty --but ult

    The book itself was cotton-candy fare: light and tasty --but ultimately empty-- calories. It's nothing serious or ground breaking, but it is a nice way to pass the evening.

    I really liked the main female character as well as the side characters. The lead male was a bit broody and self-hating for my taste. Also, after the Sookie books and watching True Blood, I've had it up to *here* with synthetic blood. What's worse, I'm not fond of vampires that don't bite at all. However, the fun characters allow me to over look that bit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    First off let me say, My two favorite things Highlanders and Vam

    First off let me say, My two favorite things Highlanders and Vamps. So Right off the BAT (no pun intended) I thought "How can I not like this book".
    I found myself laughing out loud more than once, and the plot was pretty good. However Roman in my opinion, could have been a little more alpha(but I guess every one cant be Barron, FAEFEVER, for those of U that do not have a clue to what I'am referring) 
    Shanna cries in every scene,which gets kinda of old after a while and Roman has only one saying!!I wont ruin it for those who have not read the book, but U will find out after reading the first paragraph, he says it that much. VERY ANNOYING!!! I did like Roman though as well as a few others, especially The Highlanders,Connor, in particular. The big climatic ending could have been more action packed and I thought the ending somewhat abrupt, but overall it was a quick,light, fun read. The Vampire sex I thought was just plain weird, in normal human life, I'm pretty sure we call that a fantasy, but hey whats normal, we are talking vampires... Apparently the only bodily fluid they exchange is blood..Just saying




    I will continue with the next book in the series and keep u updated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Shanna Whelan is already in the witness protection program, forc

    Shanna Whelan is already in the witness protection program, forced to start her life anew in a new place and without her family.  Her enemies aren't content to let her disappear so they send their best assassin/vampire to kill her.  Luckily Roman Draganesti stumbles into her 24 hour dentist office just in time.  Looking for a dentist to repair his fang, Roman snags Shanna away from the assassins, hoping she'll agree to fix his fang.  What follows is a cutesy adventure romance where Roman must learn to trust again and Shanna must believe and deal with the fact that Roman is a vampire.  Shanna's got a lot of surprises coming at her along the way though.




    This is a cutesy tale though I think the title is a bit misleading.  Roman is a vampire and he's a millionaire but Shanna isn't itching to marry him or anything.  Ah but perhaps it's just me that finds this title a bit weird.  I liked that there was a bit of adventure and I liked that the vampires were traditional vampires.  No sparkling, witchy daylight rings, or other tricks up their sleeves.  They sleep at night and drink blood, which is surprisingly refreshing.  I also loved the side characters.  They were lots of fun and helped to keep my interest.  I didn't love Shanna though she wasn't unlikeable.  She simply used bad judgment though she wasn't too stupid to live.  Or it could be that the adventure and romance had a difficult time meshing together at the same time.  When the mafia is after you and have almost succeeded numerous times in killing you, I just don't think you run away from a safe place upon finding out upsetting news regarding your relationship.  Incidents like this kind of bugged me.  Again, I'm not sure if this is Shanna's character or just the push and pull of the plot.




    Overall an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours.  Great for when you are in between books or just want a fun read without too much thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Funny quick read

    The only reson I gave it 3 stars rather than 4 is that I wanted to see a better cliffhanger for the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Good book if you are into vampires

    This book kept me interested. I enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Quick read.

    Light fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Amusing distraction

    This was a fun distraction to read. Entertaining and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Check it out!

    A cute, quick easy read! Will have you smiling. really enjoyed this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Entertaining

    Fun easy read and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Easy read

    This book wasn't bad. It was an easy read, perfect for light reading. The author did an excellent job of quickly but throughly telling the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    To me i think shanna should well...you know...;)

    If you know what i mean...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    How to marry a millionare vampire

    I think that this book is not to die for but it is indeed a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Funnnny

    This book is funny from begining to end. I enjoy it but some parts were a little wierd to digest. Very light reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    To the yes persin

    Yes. Look up 'love at stake series.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Not her best

    Was good story but started out slow took me awhile to get into it. The others i have read in thos series were better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Mitchell

    I loved the book.....it was slightly preditble but still a fun read.There were jokes all over the place...But be warned there are is adult content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Ok read

    This book was just ok. But the rest of the series is great! I'm on book #10. You should read this book though if your going to read the series. It sets the background story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Glad it was free,kinda liked it...

    Liked the idea,but I felt like I was reading what should have been a comic book instead of an actual book. At one point I thought I would throw the book across the room (since it was my Nook, I didn't) if I had to read Roman thinking "God's Blood!" one more time. He has been around since the 1400's, SURELY this character can manage adding another phrase to his vocabulary?!The author could have sped the story up a little in places,and made the heroine a little less stupid/bratty sooner. The characters were set firmly into their sterotypes. Several of the lines simply had me laughing out loud (because of the whole comic book-esque dialogue).
    I won't be reading anything else by this author anythime soon but TFTR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5