Customer Reviews for

How to Never Look Fat Again: Over 1000 Ways to Dress Thinner--Without Dieting

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

CLOTHES MAKE THE MAN - CLOTHES REMAKE THE WOMAN

As they say, clothes make the man. Well, Charla Krupp shows us how clothes can remake the woman. HOW TO NEVER LOOK FAT AGAIN not only shows us with pages of color photos but also tells how, what, and why - for instance, how a petite can look extra glam in supple cowls a...
As they say, clothes make the man. Well, Charla Krupp shows us how clothes can remake the woman. HOW TO NEVER LOOK FAT AGAIN not only shows us with pages of color photos but also tells how, what, and why - for instance, how a petite can look extra glam in supple cowls and v-neck sleeveless tops and why she shouldn't wear scrunch-down turtles or boxy crews. And, what a woman after forty can do about the "flappies" - that unattractive loose skin underneath our arms.

Is there a woman on planet Earth who doesn't think she has a figure flaw? Did I say "a"? Most of us think we have several. Charla has answers, whether it's that arm flap, a large bust, hefty hips and thighs, heavy calves, etc. My favorite suggestions are for those with a Buddha Belly - also known as "jelly belly, pot belly, girly gut, and a number of other unattractive monikers. Solution: "Switch all your underwear to shapewear, don't make your waist the center of attention, avoid wide belts, short tops, etc.

Not only does Charla offer suggestions but also includes where to buy (websites, too) and the price of the items she mentions. (She's very high on Spanx and waist-high bike shorts, saying "...thrashing around getting these on is not a pretty sight, but the ability to lose ten pounds in one minute is well worth the struggle."

Just as in her super popular How Not To Look Old Charla's latest is chock full of practical suggestions - did you know that Norma Kamali has a very price accessible line of clothing at Walmart?

This is one book you'll refer to again and again.

- Gail Cooke

posted by GailCooke on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best for one flaw

This book has some very good information but is best for those with one area they want to camouflage. What it doesn't do well is give advice to those who are heavy all over and have more than one area they are trying to make look slimmer.

posted by 3380646 on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    CLOTHES MAKE THE MAN - CLOTHES REMAKE THE WOMAN

    As they say, clothes make the man. Well, Charla Krupp shows us how clothes can remake the woman. HOW TO NEVER LOOK FAT AGAIN not only shows us with pages of color photos but also tells how, what, and why - for instance, how a petite can look extra glam in supple cowls and v-neck sleeveless tops and why she shouldn't wear scrunch-down turtles or boxy crews. And, what a woman after forty can do about the "flappies" - that unattractive loose skin underneath our arms.

    Is there a woman on planet Earth who doesn't think she has a figure flaw? Did I say "a"? Most of us think we have several. Charla has answers, whether it's that arm flap, a large bust, hefty hips and thighs, heavy calves, etc. My favorite suggestions are for those with a Buddha Belly - also known as "jelly belly, pot belly, girly gut, and a number of other unattractive monikers. Solution: "Switch all your underwear to shapewear, don't make your waist the center of attention, avoid wide belts, short tops, etc.

    Not only does Charla offer suggestions but also includes where to buy (websites, too) and the price of the items she mentions. (She's very high on Spanx and waist-high bike shorts, saying "...thrashing around getting these on is not a pretty sight, but the ability to lose ten pounds in one minute is well worth the struggle."

    Just as in her super popular How Not To Look Old Charla's latest is chock full of practical suggestions - did you know that Norma Kamali has a very price accessible line of clothing at Walmart?

    This is one book you'll refer to again and again.

    - Gail Cooke

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Best for one flaw

    This book has some very good information but is best for those with one area they want to camouflage. What it doesn't do well is give advice to those who are heavy all over and have more than one area they are trying to make look slimmer.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    Fun and Educational

    Great book! Easy to read and inspirational. It showed me that I can still feel attractive, fashionable and at times sexy in age and body appropriate clothing. I do not need to buy older women clothes to feel good. And a great source of brands and stores i did not know about. I liked that real women were used to show the "bad" outfits vs. "good" outfits. I refer to the list of what not to buy often. After reading this book, I went out and bought her other book - How not to look old. Which is great also.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Useful, with lots of great tips, but also repetitious.

    I had read her first book about looking 10 years younger, and this goes over a lot of the very same things. There is a lot of duplication from one book to the next. That being said, I still found it very useful. Many great points are made, and tons of examples for shopping at all cost levels. Love all the websites, and lists of SPECIFIC products to try to treat each "problem" area. Some terms used I had never heard of and weren't fully explained to those of us not up on fashion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Don't waste your time!

    This book must have been written with the following person in mind: someone with no fashion knowledge or sense. The tips should be obvious to anyone who has worn clothing or looks at others in clothing. They were just too general. Every woman knows not to wear skinny jeans without a top to cover her bum if she has wide hips. Or, not to wear ankle strap shoes if she has large ankles or calves. Everyone should wear shapewear. Those were the types of tips in every chapter. The ONLY part I found of any interest were the "what to buy" sections at the end of the chapters. Bras and jeans were the best, in my opinion. So, thumb through the book first, but I say just use common sense and don't waste your money on this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    After being inconsistent with dieting and exercise, I bought this book to learn how to dress so that I can minimize my "flaws" and "accentuate my positive" attributes. I am also decluttering my house and closets, so I thought this book would help to assist in parting with clothing that was not helping my appearance.

    "How to Never Look Fat Again" did not disappoint. I purchased the book at about 7pm and it was so easy to follow that by the end of the evening I had a good understanding of what I needed to do.

    The book is organized according to women's "problem" areas and addresses the clothing for that body type that are considered "high Fat" clothing or that which accentuates your problem areas and "Low or No Fat" clothing or that which downplays your problem areas or even makes you look better!

    For each "problem area" the author also includes a checklist that is a quick and easy reference to what NOT to wear EVER! She also features a highlight for each section for Petite women with that particular "problem area"

    The information in this book is presented in such an easy reading format that you can quick reference something if you have forgotten a tip. Charla Krupp also includes resources to purchase some of the items that she recommends.

    It did make parting with my "High Fat" clothing a great deal easier and I did not even baulk! I feel that I am a more informed consumer since I don't want to make a habit out of making myself look even FATTER!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Some great tips that will not only make you look thinner but will make you feel better about yourself!

    I'm a big girl, and even though in the beginning Krupp states that obese (anyone over 50 pounds) should loose weight before using these tips I think that anyone can really benefit from dressing nicer. I've always been taught that feeling good about yourself is the best way to make a change. If you dress up you feel better, and to keep that feeling you are then more willing to make other changes (such as loosing weight).

    I like how the book was broken down. Krupp goes through each of the problem areas women have and gives tips on how to dress that area properly. Many of the tips transcend multiple areas so you won't be standing in a store thinking "this shirt helps here but not there". By including the same items through a few different body areas you can buy a few "no-fat" or "low-fat" pieces to add to your wardrobe, instead of paying for a whole new wardrobe.

    I also like the section in the back where she tells you to go through your closet. She gives you a brief step-by-step to really get the "high-fat" clothes rid from your life. The reason I liked this section is that just going and buying a few new pieces and adding them to your closet isn't going to keep you from dressing in the "high-fat" clothes. To really take advantage of the tips in this book you need to start with a clean slate, so to speak.

    After reading this book, seeing the pictures that show the tips she gives, and really analyzing the clothes you currently have and the clothes you are going to buy you should be able to dress thinner without ever stepping foot into a gym. Although even with a new wardrobe the gym is never a bad thing. (She even has hints on how to dress at the gym! How great is that!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Helpful but...

    This book had some helpful parts, but I wish there were not so many negative monikers in each section. If you want to improve how your tummy and legs and upper arms look like, then you have to read negative comments about these areas. After reading the sections, I just felt more self-conscious. I just took notes on the helpful parts and then got rid of the book. I wish the book JUST focused on fashion and helpful tips--not a bunch of hurtful words about having a Buddha Belly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    Very Helpful - Specific Advice

    Get this book - it is chock full of great tips and advice and done in a such a real way. Like having an expert girlfriend helping you to look better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Even if you're not heavy or fat...this is THE book to have!!!

    I'm not fat...let's get that straight...BUT as one gets a little older...we need help...and this book is THE book that will help with tricks, suggestions, and downright common sense to make you look slender, classy and that will bring you more power!

    Great Book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Helpful Tips for Body-Flattering Dressing

    I bought this book having read Krupp's previous book How Not to Look Old about which I had mixed feelings (a few good tips, but some condescending language and conflicting information). I found this effort much more useful and enjoyable. Information targeted to petites and plus sizes, as well as specific brand and store information were particularly helpful. The book would have benefitted from additional before and after photos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good, but...

    Most of the ideas given are terrific, and it's good to know that there are options no matter what body you have. But... 1) women need to know how to make their smaller issues fit into the context of the whole body, and that's missing. 2) dismissing a shirtdress as fattening just because the buttons pull is wrong. If the shirtdress FITS, then it will camouflage everything and slim the body without buttons pulling. 3) big, billowy sleeves only indicate big, billowy arms underneath them. Sleeves need to be fitted to slim the arms. 4) "taming the frizz," aka straightening the hair, is not necessarily slimming, and it isn't always good for the hair. The right cut and good haircare is what makes the difference, and curly hair can look just as good as straight hair.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Skip Garfield for advice, he'll only tell you what you wanna hear...

    If you want to look like a fat, furry, four-legged feline, go to Garfield. If you want to look like a fabulous, confident, empowered female, go to Charla.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Charla did it again !!

    Another fabulous and very useful text from my glamour-guide, Charla Krupp. The photos, explanations, everything....will keep me Y & H for many years to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    How to Never Look Fat Again is great. I lost 20 pounds in last 7 weeks amd need a new look. While we all want to look good, we sometimes smake mistakes that make us look heavier. I need this book until I lose 10 more pounds. Onward with ny new physique and look.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I adore this book! I never thought that just by dressing different, I can look slimmer. I always figured that how I looked in one outfit was how I would look in another. Thinking like that was dead wrong. I took a couple of outfits out of my closet and paired them up using some of Charla's tips. I felt more confident right away because I looked GOOD! Go get this book, you'll be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Worth the Hairballs I Coughed Up on It

    I recommend Garfield. He has a better take on vanity and self-esteem.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Neat.

    Some very clever tips in here. I've gotten compliments when implementing her tips. Would definitely recommend to my more self-conscious friends.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth reading more than once!

    Charla Krupp's latest book of fashion advice is worth reading more than once. Although some of the information imparted is known, or was already known by this reader, it helped give me a push in the right direction. It made me acknowledge what I already knew but may not have been willing to practice. I followed some of her advice and was very happy with the results. All women need to get a bra fitting more often than we do. I was way off size! Ånd I've always hated "shapewear" but Charla gave me that extra push and I was able to find great pieces that really work. I also finally followed her advice for petites and started buying only the styles that are truly flattering, not the in style things that don't really work on my petite but slightly wide frame. Put this book together with her previous "How not to Look Old" and the over 40 set should be good to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3