Customer Reviews for

How to Raise the Perfect Dog: Through Puppyhood and Beyond

Average Rating 4
( 293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I had an amazing experience with this new book, just minutes after it came out.

Hi
I am a 55 year old dog loving, college professor who has been using Cesar's way to save over 40 last chance problem dogs since shortly after the show started. I also have an over 3100 member yahoo email list where dog owners help each other learn to apply his techni...
Hi
I am a 55 year old dog loving, college professor who has been using Cesar's way to save over 40 last chance problem dogs since shortly after the show started. I also have an over 3100 member yahoo email list where dog owners help each other learn to apply his techniques safely and correctly. (List has open archives and another 20,000 have come in solved problems and moved on from that high volume list).

I had an amazing experience with his new book, just after it came out.
*******************************************
"Dallas" was bought from a breeder at age two months, by a chronically ill woman as a "companion".

65 days later, this once cute, now "too much" puppy, was to be abandoned to the second largest animal control in the United States (57,000/year), IF no foster was found in hours.

Even knowing that I ONLY work with problem dogs who are 18 months to 3 years, a fellow independent volunteer rescuer called me as the very last chance before the owner would take this now "energetic demon puppy" to a place where it would be lost in a sea of a thousand faces, (all other rescues being over full).

Having just picked up Cesar Millan's new puppy book "How to Raise the Perfect Dog, from Puppyhood & Beyond" a scant 15 minutes earlier, I realized from the book's detailed index that I would be able to find answers quickly, to teach me how puppies are different from adult dogs in behavior and socialization needs.

TWO DAYS LATER, a new foster was found who was willing to continue Dallas's behavior modifications, which have ALREADY resulted in:
.Proven socialization with other dogs,
.Calm feeding ritual,
.NOT charging out open doors,
.Using doggy door within 2 hours,
.Zero accidents during visit,
.traveling quietly in car, seat-belted in,
.Responds to disapproval "sound" to quit unwanted behavior, .Elimination of whining, barking, howling,
.Comes when called, unleashed,
.Walking behind on leash loosely, not pulling,
.Staying in "sit" & "down" positions for extended times, quietly and on loose leash.

Dallas is now a highly desirable, well-behaved 5 month old adolescent. When done with his neutering, he will be quickly snapped up by waiting adopters!

I KNOW that this information is going to make a HUGE difference to rescues who will be more willing to take on puppies because they can show fosters how to prevent the problems which so often creates problems that dogs are then (re) abandoned for!

Thousands of dogs are being saved by thousands of people using Cesar's way safely and effectively. Now thanks to the book and this show's episodes, a greater understanding of how to prevent the problems that create abandonment has been made available for volunteers like my self to step up and save even more dogs not only by solving problems more quickly, but stopping problems before they begin, based on my own experience in rescue and rehab!

Besides the Books recommended below, do consider adding either the "Dog Whisperer Show" Seasons, 1,2 and or 3 (use the epsiode guide to pick your favorites OR select from the mini "themed" Dog Whisperer DVDs which are 3 epsiodes based on a designated topic. Truly a (moving) picture is worth a thousand words!

posted by CJAnderson on October 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Save Your Money

While I respect Ceasar's knowledge, I think this book was full filler either making the reader believe they should have read his other books or brought the series on DVD. I'm a first time dog owner & never really watched the show much but thought his book would provide ...
While I respect Ceasar's knowledge, I think this book was full filler either making the reader believe they should have read his other books or brought the series on DVD. I'm a first time dog owner & never really watched the show much but thought his book would provide a breadth of knowledge considering Cesar's reputation. It only touched on his experience with a few breeds & I felt like where he should have provided more detail he left that job to other breeders and dog owners or to a few short bullets to detail. Some of the areas he discussed at length were things I have & could have figured out on my own. I can't reccomend this to other puppy owners.

posted by 5232289 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I had an amazing experience with this new book, just minutes after it came out.

    Hi
    I am a 55 year old dog loving, college professor who has been using Cesar's way to save over 40 last chance problem dogs since shortly after the show started. I also have an over 3100 member yahoo email list where dog owners help each other learn to apply his techniques safely and correctly. (List has open archives and another 20,000 have come in solved problems and moved on from that high volume list).

    I had an amazing experience with his new book, just after it came out.
    *******************************************
    "Dallas" was bought from a breeder at age two months, by a chronically ill woman as a "companion".

    65 days later, this once cute, now "too much" puppy, was to be abandoned to the second largest animal control in the United States (57,000/year), IF no foster was found in hours.

    Even knowing that I ONLY work with problem dogs who are 18 months to 3 years, a fellow independent volunteer rescuer called me as the very last chance before the owner would take this now "energetic demon puppy" to a place where it would be lost in a sea of a thousand faces, (all other rescues being over full).

    Having just picked up Cesar Millan's new puppy book "How to Raise the Perfect Dog, from Puppyhood & Beyond" a scant 15 minutes earlier, I realized from the book's detailed index that I would be able to find answers quickly, to teach me how puppies are different from adult dogs in behavior and socialization needs.

    TWO DAYS LATER, a new foster was found who was willing to continue Dallas's behavior modifications, which have ALREADY resulted in:
    .Proven socialization with other dogs,
    .Calm feeding ritual,
    .NOT charging out open doors,
    .Using doggy door within 2 hours,
    .Zero accidents during visit,
    .traveling quietly in car, seat-belted in,
    .Responds to disapproval "sound" to quit unwanted behavior, .Elimination of whining, barking, howling,
    .Comes when called, unleashed,
    .Walking behind on leash loosely, not pulling,
    .Staying in "sit" & "down" positions for extended times, quietly and on loose leash.

    Dallas is now a highly desirable, well-behaved 5 month old adolescent. When done with his neutering, he will be quickly snapped up by waiting adopters!

    I KNOW that this information is going to make a HUGE difference to rescues who will be more willing to take on puppies because they can show fosters how to prevent the problems which so often creates problems that dogs are then (re) abandoned for!

    Thousands of dogs are being saved by thousands of people using Cesar's way safely and effectively. Now thanks to the book and this show's episodes, a greater understanding of how to prevent the problems that create abandonment has been made available for volunteers like my self to step up and save even more dogs not only by solving problems more quickly, but stopping problems before they begin, based on my own experience in rescue and rehab!

    Besides the Books recommended below, do consider adding either the "Dog Whisperer Show" Seasons, 1,2 and or 3 (use the epsiode guide to pick your favorites OR select from the mini "themed" Dog Whisperer DVDs which are 3 epsiodes based on a designated topic. Truly a (moving) picture is worth a thousand words!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-have for any dog owner!

    Whether you are getting ready to bring home your first puppy or you have owned dogs for years, this book will provide you with a whole new set of tools. Cesar's methods are not only effective and humane, they are completely natural for dogs. He truly brings to life the inner workings of the pack and how dogs learn from other dogs. He articulates this information to the reader in a way that makes it easy for the reader to start using these methods. He uses concise instructions, several examples, and even includes troubleshooting problems. Cesar can turn anyone into the pack leader, which will result in the perfect dog, regardless of breed or age. Each chapter is filled with useful information, entertaining stories of his own experiences, and charming canines that will steal your heart through the pages.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cesar has written a must have for prospective or current puppy owners!

    Cesar Millan's How to Raise the Perfect Dog is a godsend for puppy owners. His instructions are common sense, easy to implement and rewarding for both the puppy and its owner. As a professional dog trainer who utilizes only positive training methods, I was delighted to discover Mr. Millan's training methods were exclusively positive in nature. In addition to the basics of house training and the very most basic of obedience work, he has included an informative section dealing with the most commons misbehaviors such as mouthing (which is also called biting if it's YOUR hand!). If you are a Dog Whisperer watcher and have wondered how he accomplishes communicating wordlessly with dogs, you will find an explanation of exactly how to use body language to communicate with your puppy. I have recommended this book to my clients and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone is considering raising a puppy. Reading the book before selecting a puppy will supply a wealth of valuable information to help select a puppy of a breed and energy level which will be compatible with the owner. The concise, yet detailed, instructions are easy to understand. The methods included in Mr. Millan's book provide the new owner with a head start toward raising the "dream dog" everyone is looking for.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't bring that puppy home until you read this one!

    I definitely recommend reading this book before bringing a new puppy into your life. There are so many puppies out there waiting for adoption. The problem is, they're so cute and hard to resist that when we bring them home we feel sorry for them, don't want to be "hard on them" so we let them get away with murder. Well....that cuteness doesn't last long when that puppy grows up and develops bad habits. That's right about the time people give up and many times wind up dropping their "new puppy" off at the shelter. This step can be prevented if we know how and this book gives us the knowledge.
    How to Raise the Perfect Dog teaches us which puppy is best for our energy level and what to do from the minute we bring it home in order to become the proper leader. It teaches us how to breed respect within the family (pack) so that new puppy feels secure and confident. It is our responsibility to give our dog the best life from beginning to end. This is just one of several of Cesar's books that tells us how to do just that.
    Once again, Cesar and Melissa Jo make a great team!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Cesar Provides Sanity

    Thank Heavens for Cesar! He breaks down all the different stages of "Puppyhood" and defines them, along with their potential pitfalls clearly and concisely. He writes in easy to understand sentences and makes the very sometimes stressful decision to bring a dog home seem not quite so daunting. Having successfully used his techniques on another beloved dog, Cesar was my "Go To Guy" when we decided to rescue another dog. Great read and great advice from a great man. Thanks, Cesar!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    You and Your Puppy Need This!

    From how to select a puppy by matching your energy level to that of the puppy to surviving a puppy's prolonged adolescence, Cesar Millan's latest book provides a wealth of good advice illustrated with his own (and his friends') experiences with puppies of various breeds. From pit bulls to miniature schnauzers, Millan covers a lot of territory. Priceless episodes include the labrador puppy who didn't like water and the bulldog puppy who learned to use his nose. Although Millan believes that canines are dog first, then breed, in raising a puppy, he demonstrates the importance of bringing out the best aspects of a dog's breed.

    Easy to read and understand, organized primarily by topic and covering a lot of ground, this is an excellent book for a first-time puppy owner and applies to owners of purebred dogs as well as shelter pups. Millan also makes a plea for puppy seekers to avoid puppy mill/pet shop puppies when selecting a purebred dog and encourages visiting shelters. (His choice of purebreeds came about due to his desire to explore the differences in various types of dogs -- retrievers, terriers, etc.)

    Millan and co-author Melissa Jo Peltier are a winning combination and I look forward to more forays into the world of dog behavior from this dynamic duo!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Just for Puppies!

    Cesar's book, "How to Raise the Perfect Dog," was, to me, fantastic and my dog is four years old! I first heard about Cesar when my pup was eight months old and I was shocked at what he said. I admit that I'm a dog book junkie, so I wasn't expecting too much, but Cesar's Way was like a tsunami for me! I learned how my energy affects my dog. It's not an easy concept, but something had to change. I had to change.

    I've read all Cesar's book and watched the Dog Whisperer DVDs several times. Once again, here comes a puppy book that I was, frankly, thinking this won't relate to my situation. But it does. I enjoyed it from the standpoint of thinking back to how cute was my Standard Schnauzer puppy. Then there was the reminder level of what to do about energy at the "animal/species" level. Then there's the layer about finding things to fulfill the breed.

    If you watch the Dog Whisperer, there are episodes in which Cesar is dealing with dogs that are aggressive to the point of what he calls the "red zone." For several of them, the owners say they have been told that the dog should be put down, so Cesar is the dog's "last hope." That's not my dog, but he does have his aggressive moments when he sees a cat or a rabbit, so even those episodes have helped me stay calm-assertive and get my dog under control. Looking back, if I'd had this puppy book, I may have prevented or lessened his strong prey drive by not freaking out when he killed his first rabbit and by channeling this drive into other activities.

    But it's never to late to, as Cesar says, "Live in the moment." My dog's no longer a puppy, but I am going to fill in the cracks of our life together by taking to heart what Cesar writes and move forward. No, my dog's no longer a puppy. Yes, IMO, this book is worth reading, puppy - or dog of any age!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for all dog owners

    What a great read-I finished it in 5 days and have started to re-read it already. Cesar presents a well laid out plan for raising the perfect dog, which we all want! While his general plan covers everything from how to pick a puppy, bringing pup home, how to transition pup into your home as far as sleeping, feeding, rules, play time, exercise, etc. he has comments from actual 'cases' such as the 4 puppies he raised, a couple of breeders and trainers and one of his employess who adopted a puppy. These examples help you see just how much flexibility there is for each situation but how each situation comes back to the same basic plan-raising a puppy in a natural way, a way that will teach your pup how to be a happy, relaxed dog!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    To hes amazing

    I have a friend named Charlie! Hes cute!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    He's Amazing

    My family got a book and it taught my dog Charlie,how to behave

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Save Your Money

    While I respect Ceasar's knowledge, I think this book was full filler either making the reader believe they should have read his other books or brought the series on DVD. I'm a first time dog owner & never really watched the show much but thought his book would provide a breadth of knowledge considering Cesar's reputation. It only touched on his experience with a few breeds & I felt like where he should have provided more detail he left that job to other breeders and dog owners or to a few short bullets to detail. Some of the areas he discussed at length were things I have & could have figured out on my own. I can't reccomend this to other puppy owners.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I feel cheated ...

    When I purchased a book entitled "How to Raise the Perfect Dog" I expected a lot practical advice about, I don't know ... maybe how to raise a a good dog? (I wasn't looking for "perfect.")

    Instead, this book is dog psychology book, and it does indeed provide a lot of insight into how a dog views the world and its owner. Unfortunately, there is almost zero advice on the practical day to day training problems.

    Let me sum it up and save you some money: be your dog's pack leader and if you can't be a "dog whisperer" then you and your dog are out of luck.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    The perfect book if you're getting a new puppy!

    I really enjoyed How to Raise the Perfect Dog. I've gotten very valuable information from each one of Cesar's books. This is PERFECT if you are considering getting a puppy, or are a first time pet parent. It WILL require a change in lifestyle, and Cesar lets you know what you need to be prepared for, as in time, commitment, and energy. It's a very good health guide for when and what to vaccinate for and why, and other health concerns. CM talks about the different stages of puppyhood and why it's important to expose them to certain things and has good information on conditioning them to things like leashes, vet clinics, etc. He also lets us know how common human behaviors can be setting up the pups for behaviors that we don't want from our dogs, so you will know not to do them. I'd say it covers every aspect you can think of in order to be the best pet parent you can be and have a happy and healthy dog. Many things we don't realize that we really do need to know.


    Personally, I'm very big on rescue (and the mom of a puppy mill survivor), so I'm glad Cesar goes into the details of the plight of puppy mills and what to avoid so you don't buy into them - and we need to put a stop to puppy mills!

    Two thumbs up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cesar's New Book an easy Read with lots of good Info

    A very good book for a new puppy home. Learn the hows and whys, and focus on teaching them right from the start. A guide for everyone, this book is a must for those getting s puppy or better yet, for those considering a puppy! A great Holiday Gift!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Loved this book. Very helpful. 

    Loved this book. Very helpful. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for new puppy parents.

    This is more than a book of does and don'ts. It is also stoies of all the work and energy it takes to raise a well behaved dog. For me, it has earned a place of honor right next to Uncle Matty (sp)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Lilly

    Dribks ur blood

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Paris Love

    This is about the book
    Iuuuuuuuuuuv puppys so much

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    This is it

    I love this book this book is worth wat the people such as us looking 4

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Windstar here

    Windspark come to the second result to join hurricane clan!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15