Customer Reviews for

How to Reach Your Full Potential for God: Study Guide

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Have you ever looked at your life and wondered, "Is this all there is?"

    So often the world says, "You're average. You are merely one in six billion. You need to be content and settle for whatever comes your way."

    Or have any of these thoughts crossed your mind recently?

    When I look at my life and the way the world is today, I don't see much to be excited about.

    When thinking about your job, do you find yourself saying this, "I can't go any higher, do any better, or go any farther. I can't do more than I am doing right now."?

    Others feel that their lives have gone stale. Perhaps their marriages aren't as dynamic as they once were, or they have lost all interest in hobbies and activities that once gave them pleasure.

    But almighty God, the heavenly Father who crafted you as a uniquely gifted individual, knows better He gave you a purpose here on earth and has equipped you specially to fulfill it. If you will seek Him, He will awaken your passion for that purpose in ways you never imagined.

    In How to Reach Your Full Potential for God, Dr. Stanley challenges you to pursue the Lord in ways that will stir passion and purpose that is both spiritual and practical. He says such devotion leads to a life of fulfillment that many seek but don't find.

    God has not only created you with the gifts and talents to do His work on this earth, but He also has created you with the desires, dreams, and disposition to become a person with whom He enjoys fellowship and spiritual intimacy. No one can fully understand the depths of His love, the help that He desires to give, or the blessings and rewards that He has prepared.

    This book has been a huge eye opener for me. Not only about what I personally thought about certain areas of my life, but what I expected from God and what He expects from me. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who feels stuck, discouraged or adrift in your life right now. You need to remember God has placed more within you than you realize, and you likely have settled for the life you have now. So if you're ready to see what your possibilities are, I would recommend reading this book.

    I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book for review for Thomas Nelson publishers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    How to Reach your Full Potential for God by Charles F. Stanley

    This is one of the best books that I have read about how to grow and reach your potential. No matter where you're at in your spiritual life this book will help you reach your maximum potential. I believe that we are really not living unless we are striving to grow and use what God has given us. This book will help you find, grow, and use whatever talents God has given you so that you can reach your potential for God and others.
    The book goes through seven essentials that we must have in order to reach our full potential. They are: "A Clean Heart, A Clear Mind, Using Your Gifts, A Healthy Body, Right Relationships, A Balanced Schedule, and Taking God-Approved Risks". These are essential for doing what you are called to do and accomplish.
    This book challenges the reader not to settle with where they are at in life. The book also talks about the hurdles that everyone one will face. But by overcoming them, you can accomplish more. This book has challenging questions to ask yourself and God. It makes you think and put into place different God-given principles and choices, so that you will be successful. I will recommend this book to you as well as others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible, Transforming Read!

    Well reader, sometimes God uses my own stupid procrastination to force me to grow. Or maybe He knew I would procrastinate reviewing this great title and knew He could change me through my actions. Regardless of God's position on my personal problems, reading Charles Stanley's December 2009 release of How to Reach Your Full Potential for God: Never Settle for Less Than His Best, from Thomas Nelson offers a life-changing experience. And the God-inspired message in this book has the potential to to propel How to Reach Your Full Potential for God: Never Settle for Less Than His Best into a timeless classic, able to infiltrate and transform the heart of even the worst of God's wonderful little human procrastinators like me.
    Stanley's overall message is focused on God's plan and purpose when he created each and every one of his children.
    The long-time pastor and author starts out exhorting readers to "determine in our hearts and minds to live all our days to the utmost. We must welcome each new opportunity, grab hold of each new challenge, and face each new day with eagerness to discover what God has for us."
    Every page of this book offers uplifting and encouraging information.
    "No person can reach her potential without the Father's help or apart from our God-given talents and gifts," Stanley writes. "No person can reach her potential without factoring in the spiritual dimension associated with it. God has not only created you with the gifts and talents to do Hs work on earth, but He also created you with the desires, dreams, and disposition to become a person it whom He enjoys fellowship and spiritual intimacy. Part of your potential lies in who God made you to be, not only what He created you to do."
    As a reader I wanted to run out and shake some publishing executive's suit collar and scream, "Don't you see my potential!? God does!"
    Page after page of inspiring reminders of who we are in the eyes of God makes this book a must read - regardless of what year it was published.
    Stanley reminds readers that "The Lord gives you opportunities for developing your talents and gifts. He orchestrates your life to put you into the company of the right teachers, encourages, and yes, even competitors - all of whom have a role in pushing you to achieve your full potential.
    This book follows through with a host of practical and life-changing questions the reader must inevitably ask himself if he wants to be changed by God.
    I did. I was. And oh, am I ever thankful. I don't want to go to heaven and have God say, "What happened? I gave you a job and I equipped you perfectly. And you looked the other way."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Charles Stanley has always been one of the foremost Christian teachers and this book is no exception. He breaks down the steps in the simplest forms and uses stories to reinforce. I find that I'm most receptive to this type of "self help" books. I found this book easy to read and follow. It took me a LONG time to read this because I would read a chapter, let it sink in, read it again while changing my thoughts and actions to reflect the teaching. If you are looking to take your walk with God a step further I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book For Every Christian!

    I'd also like to recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" by R.A. Clark. It's revealing look at the power of forgiveness. If you ever felt trapped by anger, guilt, resentment and/or pain, then this book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    How to Reach your Full Potentional with God-

    How To Reach Your Full Potential For God is the newest book by Charles Stanley. In this book, he deals with Christians who settle for less than God's best. In doing so, he points to 7 essentials to live an abundant Christian life:

    Essential 1: A clean heart
    Essential 2: A clear mind
    Essential 3: Using your gifts
    Essential 4: A healthy body
    Essential 5: Right relationships
    Essential 6: A balanced schedule
    Essential 7: Taking God-approved risks


    Principle 1: Every person has potential
    Principle 2: Every person has been created to bring God glory
    Principle 3: No one can reach his potential without the Father's help
    Principle 4: No potential without spiritual dimension
    Principle 5: Only he knows the limits of your potential

    IF you are a fan of Charles Stanley, you will not be disappointed. This is a good book and easy read for any new convert or any seasoned believer who wants to review some basic Biblical principles.

    I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson book review bloggers program.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    For the Self Help Crowd

    As the title suggests, How to Reach Your Full Potential for God is basically a self-help book written from a Christian perspective. Stanley makes use of the typical self-help style-book in employing numbered lists and rhetorical questions that could easily be transferred to index cards to be taped to the reader's mirror. What sets this one apart from the norm is the last phrase of the title that shifts the focus off of the self and back to God.

    Unfortunately, the book felt simultaneously heavy on sweeping generalizations and very specific instructions with little scriptural (or other as appropriate) support. The book's best moments were when the author got lost in telling a biblical story that related to the point he was trying to make. Those were unfortunately few and far between. The advice given was for the most part pretty solid, but the reader would have to take Stanley's word for it. I would strictly recommend this for the self-help crowd or fans of Stanley.

    *Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Not only is this book spiritually enlightening, but it beats any motivational book ever written. If you want to know how to lead a purpose driven life filled with God's blessings, then get this book.

    I had a plan to begin 2010 a new way, but God had a better plan. Thanks to the awe inspiring writings of Dr. Charles Stanley I was able to envoke an even better plan for my life in line with God's word and best for me.

    This is a devine inspired reading that gives you hope, direction, comfort, and assurance. If you're not sure about your purpose on this earth and what God's absolute best is for you, then you need to read Dr. Stanley's "How to Reach Your Full Potential for God."

    This reading leads you to not only recognize your God given talents, but how you can effectively use them to live out your life at its best and do it in service to the Lord. It's a win-win situation. Pick up the book, you will be Blessed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Potential Study Material

    I was excited to get this book. I know it is time to refocus my life in service to God, and since I enjoy and benefit from Charles Stanley's radio sermons, I thought this book would be perfect. Alas -- not so much.

    Stanley's "How to" book, in my opinion, would work much better as a group study then a solitary read. Interestingly enough, there is a study guide. If I weren't already so burnt-out from the enormous task of trying to read and utilize the suggestions and information in the book -- and answering the hundreds of soul-searching questions -- I might buy the study and give it another go. Maybe later, after I've let my brain rest and recoup.

    I am sad that I cannot recommend this book. I have long been an admirer of Charles Stanley, but I think this theme is just too ambitious for one person to tackle by him- or herself.

    I am a member of the Thomas Nelson "Book Sneeze" blogger program and would like to thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for giving me a copy of this book to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Good message.....dry delivery.

    Thomas Nelson Publishers recently sent me a free copy of How to Reach Your Full Potential For God, by Charles Stanley, for me to read and review.

    I was excited about reading this, because at this stage in my life I'm really looking for direction for my writing and for my personal ministry. I thought, "If something is standing in the way of my potential, I'd better find out what it is and deal with it!" It seemed, from the description, like this book would be great to help with that.

    Well, I have to be honest. I was disappointed. I wasn't disappointed in the message of the book as much as the delivery of the message. Does that make sense? I had never read anything by Charles Stanley before, and his style.well, it didn't capture me. My husband summed it up best when he said, "Sounds like it's just not relevant." Bingo. It's not relevant to my life and how I experience God, so it was hard for me to get through. His message - of clearing any obstacles out of your life that might keep you from reaching the potential that God has placed in you - is good, but his delivery is just not.

    If that sounds harsh, I'm terribly sorry. It's not my way, though, to provide a positive review if I just didn't feel it.

    If you have read others by Charles Stanley, though, and enjoy his style, it's safe to say that you'll like this one. It's available from any book retailer and Thomas Nelson Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A slow start, but convicting

    How to Reach Your Full Potential for God: Never Settle for Less than His Best
    In his new book, How to Reach Your Full Potential for God, Dr. Charles F. Stanley urges readers to examine themselves and the choices they make to see if they are living according to God's will for their lives. He outlines seven principles for people to apply to their daily lives to align themselves with God's plan. He points out that there is no plan nor dream that can be as amazing as God's.


    When I came across this title, I could not wait to read it. Who doesn't want to live their life to the fullest and accomplish what God has designed? This book seemed especially timely in this turbulent time in my life.

    I had a really difficult time getting into this book. I know that his book is saturated in biblical principles, but it came off feeling more like a self-help book at first. However, Dr. Stanley does an amazing job of emphasizing the bible as the ultimate authority on living for God and living up to your potential. He explores the following principles to establish a plan for reaching your potential:

    1. A Clean Heart
    2. A Clear Mind
    3. Using Your Gifts
    4. A Healthy Body
    5. Right Relationships
    6. A Balanced Schedule
    7. Taking God- Approved Risk

    As I progressed further into the book, I became more involved in Dr. Stanley's message. I recommend this book if your willing to work through a slow start.

    This book was reviewed as part of Thomas Nelsons' "Book Sneeze" blogger program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Charles Stanley--A Must Read

    Charles Stanley has been a mentor to me, literarily, for as long as I can remember. I have a huge libray of his works--so, I TRUST him in whatever he writes. Recently, I've been having some personal struggles & picked up ...Full Potenial & found the guidance I needed. I can recommend this work to anyone searching for answers to life's ups & downs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Dr. Stanley does it again...

    Do you know what God has in store for you? Have you reached your maximum potential? In Dr. Stanley's latest book he offers you 7 essentials to help you answer those questions and reach your full potential for God. It will enlighten, challenge and guide you to the deep recesses of your being and pull forth all that God has planted in you and help you develop them into their best.

    It was not a quick read but a thoughtful read. I underlined, wrote notes and spent lots of time pondering and journaling as I read this book. I came away feeling like I had a road map that over time would lead me to be the best person I can be for God. It gave me a deeper understanding of who I am and what my purpose is and how to tap into the God-given gifts and potential that is stored up in me. You cannot read this book and walk away not having been touched in some way to think, do or be better than you were before you started. I highly recommend it for those who want to take their relationship with God to a whole new level.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How to reach my full potential for God.

    This book is written to help you to live up to what God has planned for your life. How do you know if you are reaching your full potential for God? This is the question behind the book, and Mr. Stanley tries to help you answer this question with some some very good questions as he attempts to help you find answers. Then he lays out 7 essentials for each of us to ensure that we are living the life that God wants for us.

    To me this book cannot be read for mere enjoyment, it will make you think and will change your life in some way, no matter how small or large. As I read through this book, I found myself thinking about how I currently was in these areas of my life and also how I needed to improve in that area. I was challenged in my current thinking and realized my need to improve my relationship with God. The one thing that I have taken from this book is that God will not always show you the entire route that you are going. He wants you to listen for his directions and then to take faith based action that he will send you in the right direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    How to Reach your Full Potential for God by Charles Stanley

    God has a will, plan, and purpose for humankind, and each person has a part. Everything someone needs to reach his or her God-given potential is within, waiting to be discovered and developed. Reaching your full potential for God can be achieved by working with His Spirit to develop a clean heart, and clear mind, and a balanced schedule.


    When I read this book, it was as if Dr. Stanley could read my mind and heart, saying "You have settled. You're threatened by life's challenges. When are you going to have enough faith in God that he really has a plan for an abundant life for you? When are you going to make the most of opportunities and start moving in the direction of God's plan?"


    This book lays out seven essentials for moving toward the path God has designed for each individual. It is also peppered with appropriate Scripture references and Biblical examples that illustrate the step-by-step plan Dr. Stanley has outlined for moving from excuses or despair to realizing an abundant, promise-filled life.


    I would definitely recommend the book, especially if you're feeling directionless or seeking your place in the world. Be aware, however, you will be challenged in every area of your attitude and daily life.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    How to Reach Your Full Potential for God by Charles F. Stanley

    Just as the title suggests, readers are taken on a step by step journey to discover their full potential while serving God. Markers along the way include: having a clean heart and clear mind; using your gifts; a healthy body; right relationships; a balanced schedule and taking God-approved risks. Each part is crucial in discerning what God created you to do and be.

    Being an avid reader, few books have impacted me as this one has. The first chapter entitled, 'Do You Want God's Best?' began the Holy Spirit's stirring in my own life. My heart resonated with discovering God's full potential for me. I was both challenged and inspired by this book. Each chapter seemed to speak to what was occurring in my life at the time.

    I highly recommend this book if you have an intense desire to reach your full potential for God. It is a book that I plan to re-read often.


    * A complimentary copy was graciously provided by Thomas Nelson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get Inspired to Change!

    Bravo! If there is ever a book that will speak to the point that it invokes change in your life, it is this one. While reading this book I was convicted in love to make some serious changes in not only my life, but the life of my family. One particular area was in the guarding the heart of my child and making sure that what she takes in through her eyes is pure and has purpose. My family and I took a closer look at the television shows that are watched in our home and discussed the messages (whether stated or implied) were appropriate for our Christian household. Was evil being portrayed as good? Were the morals of the T.V. families contradictory or in line with the morals that my husband and I are instilling in our child? Those and many more questions were ignited by this book. This book is practical, easy to read and thought provoking for any family that needs to assess where they are in God and presents actions to take to make those assessments. If you read this book just for the sake of reading it, you will miss the message. If you read it prayerfully and pause to think about the message of each chapter or sub-section, this book will move you to make changes that will be beneficial in enabling you to reach your FULL POTENTIAL IN GOD!
    __________________
    Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book better than the cover

    The book is way better than the cover looks! In fact my cover is completely different so I'm not sure if they have the right one. It's not your typical "How To" book which makes it even better. I was skeptical at first but it's worth the read.
    cheers,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2