Customer Reviews for

How to Read the Bible: A Guide to Scripture, Then and Now

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Truly Brilliant Scholarship and Writing

    I don't know what universe the previous reviewer lives in, (the one with One Star) but this is the smartest, best-written, most even-handed book of Biblical Scholarship I have ever read. I don't blindly worship Harvard, but I can see why Kugel had the most popular cours there for many years. It is not only brilliant about the bible and its interpretations, it is a model for how an educated person should approach any subject where the truth claims are competing. Kugel is an Orthodox Jewish believer. I am a Buddhist atheist. But his noble search for truth first and foremost is to be admired by all humans of whatever relation to God.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    For the past four years, I have been heavily involved in an examination of theology and biblical scholarship to add depth and more recent sources to my pre-law school religion minor of 35 years ago. Kugel moves effortlessly through biblical scholars as well as Hobbes and Spinoza, among others. I obtained this volume because the N.Y. Times listed it as one of the 'Ten Best' books of 2007. It is that and much more. Anyone who truly wants to understand the Bible, particularly the Old Testament, should read this.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    If you want the truth don't read this!!!

    The Bible was written by man but inspired by God. God knew that we as humans would try to complicate this, that is why He made things simple for us. When you read the Bible read it literally. If it says that the Red Sea was parted that is what happened. Some people try to take the Bible and study it like any other subject. They get degrees in religion and handle it like a piece of liturature but that is not what it was intended for. The Bible was written to show us how to live and how to get back to the Father in Heaven. The devil (yes he does exist) wants us to think that the Bible is not the true living word of God. He wants us to think that He didn't do the miracles and that Jesus was just a good man who walked the earth just helping people out and not the Savior of the world. Back during the first days of Chrisianity the devil tried to kill off God's people to shut them up but he realized that noone can stop what God has started. So he is perverting the word of God more viciously than he did when he lied to Eve. So if you want to know God and be saved through the blood of Jesus Christ Read the Bible. Romans 10:9 reads, "That if you confess with you mouth, 'Jesus is Lord' and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved." It's that simple. Believe it in your heart and confess it with your mouth that is what you must do. God will instruct you from there. It sounds easy but we make it hard. There is no amount of work you can do to be saved it is all in your faith. If any other book tries to tell you something different it's not God. Have faith and trust God.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    A most interesting read

    Vastly interesting book, written in an informal and captivating style. I was surprised that it was stacked under "Christian Reference" as it deals with the Old Testament. Author is a former Harvard professor, and it is easy to see why his course on the Bible was one of the very most popular at that school. He is an orthodox Jew, now living in Israel. I really enjoyed reading this; it was rather eye-opening.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    Self- Aggrandizing

    If you're looking for a Bible study, this is not the book for you. Typical of modern 'scholastics', the author undermines common Biblical knowledge based on scant, reaching, and sometimes laughable evidence. The law of the simplest thing being probably true is totally ignored here, and in doing so the author arrogantly pets himself and his profession as being the one true God of knowledge.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    Fundamentalists will find this difficult to enjoy. The author be

    Fundamentalists will find this difficult to enjoy. The author begins by showing that reading the bible "literally" is a relatively new concept (the last 150 yrs or so) and that for most of history Christians understood the Bible should not be read literally. If you can't handle that basic truth, this book isn't for you. If it is, the author shows how ancient methods of interpreting the text are relevant today and can save the Bible from the problems introduced by literalism. Although the author is Jewish he is also well versed in early Christian exegesis.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    HELPFUL FOR STUDYING THE BIBLE

    As a student this is an adjunct support for learning the Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    On the Mark

    This is a terrific book. It is fun to read. The review blurb from "The Washington Post" from a review by Jerome M. Segal is on the mark. It is a through introduction to the Hebrew Bible by a distinguished scholar. This book includes accounts of ancient and modern interpretation along with sharp summaries of texts that make the Hebrew Bible intelligible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1