Customer Reviews for

How to Ruin a Summer Vacation

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    All Amy Nelson wanted was to have a regular summer. To spend time with her best friend, Jessica, and her new boyfriend. But that won't happen for Amy by a long shot. It seems that her estranged father wants her to go back to Israel with him to visit her grandmother. Sure, going to Israel may seem exciting to most people, but not for Amy. Not when there are wars going on and the fact that she has to go with a man that she hardly knows. The one good thing that may come from this is the coolest fashions that her best friend is always telling her about. <BR/><BR/>Before she knows it, Amy's mother makes her go and she's on the next plane to Israel. Things couldn't get any worse for Amy at this point; well, actually they can. When she arrives, Amy sees something totally different then what she would see at home in Chicago. There seems to be soldiers and guards at every corner. Not only that, but Amy just discovered that she isn't sleeping in a fancy hotel, but more like an old house, with one bathroom and seven other people that she's never met. Then there's her cousin Snotty, I mean Osnat, who seems to hate Amy the moment she sees her, and the no-shirt cute-jerk, Avi, who Amy happens to see everywhere she turns. If only she could just get him out of her mind. There's also her aba, or grandmother, that for someone she hardly knows, Amy discovers there's a deep connection between the two of them. <BR/><BR/>With an entirely new family and obnoxious people in a totally different country, it seems like this might be the craziest summer yet for Amy. <BR/><BR/>HOW TO RUIN A SUMMER VACATION, no doubt, was the greatest book I've read in a long time. Not only does the basis of the book pull you in, but the cast of characters all charm their way into your heart. Even though Amy may be a little bratty at times, every obstacle she goes through and every awkward situation for her makes reading the book worthwhile. Simone Elkeles eliminates all the myths we had about Israel and introduces a completely new culture that I, for one, hardly knew anything about. Not only will you begin to appreciate Amy's new culture, but you'll also think about your own culture and how unique it is. The sequel to this book, HOW TO RUIN MY TEENAGE LIFE, will release on June 1, 2007.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I can honestly say that is was a witty heartwarming beautiful 1

    I can honestly say that is was a witty heartwarming beautiful 175 page story .
    I didn't expect this book to be ..... whats the word .... Amazing . Everything felt natural and pure .
    Amy Nelson Barak starts out Hating Ron aka the Sperm Donor as she likes to call him . Her parents , That never actually act like parents , decide that she should go to Israel with the Sperm Donor , saying it would be good life experience . She is furious and scared of going Israel aka the War zone . The she meets her sick Grandmother or Safta (Grandmother) that her same blue eyes , Her Dodor ( uncle) Chaim , Her Doda (aunt) Yucky , Matan her cute baby cousin , and her cousin O'snot along with her friends Moron , Ofta , Avi , Doo-Doo , O'dead . She starts with a very rocky beginning .
    O'snot and Avi act like they hate her while the others support he the best they can as friends . Moron leaves to join the Israeli army . And after that things start looking up . She finds herself falling hard for Avi and him falling for her , besides the fact that his leaving to join the army . She starts a-new with her Cousin O'snot . And finally embraces her Jewish heritage and being proud of it .
    I recommend this book !!!!!!!! 100% .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    Really a good book!

    This is a good, interesting and funny book. It was a more serious Chick-lit book, but i like that. It tells the story of Amy, who is going to live with her dad in Israel and the family there she doesn't know. It is also the story of how to place yourself in another culture then you are used to.She learns a lot about herself and her surroundings during the story. I like how its written by SImone Elkeles. It is written in a clearly way and its never dull or unclear where the story takes place and what is happening. That is really a good point about this book! I found it really interesting to read about! This is a reccomendation! I am looking forward to read more of Simone Elkeles books. Marlayne

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    The book

    This book is the funniest book I ever read. I have this book and I`m going on to chapter 9 already.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    All Amy Nelson wanted was to have a regular summer. To spend time with her best friend, Jessica, and her new boyfriend. But that won¿t happen for Amy by a long shot. It seems that her estranged father wants her to go back to Israel with him to visit her grandmother. Sure, going to Israel may seem exciting to most people, but not for Amy. Not when there are wars going on and the fact that she has to go with a man that she hardly knows. The one good thing that may come from this is the coolest fashions that her best friend is always telling her about. Before she knows it, Amy¿s mother makes her go and she¿s on the next plane to Israel. Things couldn¿t get any worse for Amy at this point well, actually they can. When she arrives, Amy sees something totally different then what she would see at home in Chicago. There seems to be soldiers and guards at every corner. Not only that, but Amy just discovered that she isn¿t sleeping in a fancy hotel, but more like an old house, with one bathroom and seven other people that she's never met. Then there¿s her cousin Snotty, I mean Osnat, who seems to hate Amy the moment she sees her, and the no-shirt cute-jerk, Avi, who Amy happens to see everywhere she turns. If only she could just get him out of her mind. There¿s also her aba, or grandmother, that for someone she hardly knows, Amy discovers there's a deep connection between the two of them. With an entirely new family and obnoxious people in a totally different country, it seems like this might be the craziest summer yet for Amy. HOW TO RUIN A SUMMER VACATION, no doubt, was the greatest book I¿ve read in a long time. Not only does the basis of the book pull you in, but the cast of characters all charm their way into your heart. Even though Amy may be a little bratty at times, every obstacle she goes through and every awkward situation for her makes reading the book worthwhile. Simone Elkeles eliminates all the myths we had about Israel and introduces a completely new culture that I, for one, hardly knew anything about. Not only will you begin to appreciate Amy¿s new culture, but you'll also think about your own culture and how unique it is. The sequel to this book, HOW TO RUIN MY TEENAGE LIFE, will release on June 1, 2007. **Reviewed by: Randstostipher 'tallnlankyrn' Nguyen

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    loved this series

    could not put this book down ... totally funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Amazing.

    This book is simply wonderful. Everything about it was to DIE for. I wish it was a bit longer though. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Country Gal :)

    Best book ever!!!!! I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Subtle but Enchanting

    When I first started reading, i thought this book was going to be about a spoiled brat. But it was about more. I love how the author takes us through the traneformation of amy. Reading this book made me want to embrace my own culture even more. Thank Simone. Thanks a lot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    MOOMOOMACIE: Read and enjoy it!

    Best book ive ever read in my life luv the author....i never read but u cant put this book done....dont forget to read all three books! This book is what us teenagers can relate to and problems that we go through as: love and relationships,divorce,friends and family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    BEST.BOOK.EVER!!!!

    Amy Neslon is taken by surprise when her deadbeat dad wants to take her to Israel for the summer. She is HILARIOUS! And I LOVE Avi. No Joke, go and buy this series...LIKE NOW! I'm big on readig, so I've read and spent ALOT on books, but this was the best ten dollars I've ever spent! The third book annoyed me a little bit, but this series is deff my FAVE

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great author, all her books are excellant!

    This serious was hilarious, my best friend told me to read them and I loved them so much that I ordered my own copies so I can reread them whenever I want.
    This may be a teen book but Ms. Elkeles is very good and I am sure she could write for age group and be great. For I am most defiently not in the Teen book age group. ;-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    A Great, Fun Book

    I don't have a lot to say about this book, except I really liked it. I thought it was going to be a stupid kid's book, because of the title, but it turned out to be really good, and good for teens and older. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    How to ruin my summer vacation!!!!!!!!!

    This book was awsome i loved it from beginning to end!!! i just got reading the first 2 books and cant wait to read the 3rd. Amy is so fun to just read about. She keeps me hanging on what she will do next. I liked how she found herself and i think thats a problem we all have on who we are or what we define ourselves as. Over all this book was aswome this book rocks!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    A Wonderful, Entertaining book

    I first found out about this series from a friend of mine. She told me it was one of the best books she's ever read. I didn't believe her. I finally caved and bought my own copy. I devoured the book in about two hours. It was well- written, hilarious, entertaining, and heartwarming. It taught many wonderful life lessons, for example, to be proud of who you are and where you come from, because that's one thing about yourself you can never change. The romance in this book is also very exciting. The second I finished this book, I ran to the bookstore to pick up the sequel, and that, I can also say, did not disappoint me. Elkeles has done a phenomenal job, and I hope to see a third book out shortly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Good Book

    I like it. Great read. Great couple. I would not have like my dad to do that, but really like Avi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Best book ever

    Wow. Read it in 1 day. Just read it. No matter your age thhis is a nice story. I really dont laugh reading books but this made me a couple of times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Great Read

    I enjoyed learning about a different country almost as much as I enjoyed the romance between Avi and Amy. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    I chose to read Summer Vacation because it was recommended to me, and I admit I had some reservations as to how (as an adult) I might relate to this fun, bubbly summer read. I was promptly blown away by the way Simone captured the turbulent emotions and everyday trials and tribulations of being a teenage girl. This book really brought me back to the joy of teenage love, the agony of growing up, and the carefree attitude of a teenager on summer break. Best of all, this journey back was hilarious and fun! I highly recommend this book, it¿s a real page-turner that will make you laugh, and make you think--regardless of age (at least, I know I did plenty of both!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    A Great Book by author Simone Elkeles

    Rough around the edges, 16 year old Amy Nelson has to spend the summer in Israel with her father, who she doesn't like that much. Through the book Amy finds out more about herself than she could have ever imagined. This book is great because of its moral, everyone deserves a second chance. I would recommend it to 8th graders and above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3