Customer Reviews for

How to Save Money Every Day: Amaze Your Friends without Embarrassing Your Family!

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    How a Mother of Six Has Been Helped

    In March of 2001 I 'just happened' to be listening to a radio station to which I normally do not tune and heard Ellie Kay being interviewed about how she saves money on groceries. My ears perked up, because up to that time, I had been struggling to stay within my food budget. I am the mother of six children (ages ranging from two to twenty). How to Save Money Everyday (along with Ellie's first book, Shop, Save, and Share), have been very instrumental in helping me save money on my grocery bill. Since I have been using Ellie's suggested methods of saving, I have also had enough to occasionally share with two single moms, as well as sending a variety of items to a children's home. I am very thankful for being led to hear about Ellie Kay's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    It has been said laughter is the best medicine; well Ellie Kay sure keeps you laughing.

    You are never too old to learn. I am a wife, mother and grandmother and after reading Ellie Kay's book 'How to Save Money Every Day', I went out and purchased her book 'Shop, Save & Share'. Ellie's wit keeps you laughing all the way through while presenting tried, tested and proven strategies to save money everyday. Even if you don't use her suggestions (and I can't imagine why anyone would not)Ellie's writing style is fresh and fun. Buy it and save money today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    Ellie Kay should be Teacher of the Year!

    With four children 10 and under, I am always trying to find ways to save money. I have just recently bought both of Ellie Kay's books and enjoy both of them tremendously! I can't wait to share what I've learned with my family and friends. I am going to recommend to everyone I know to go out and get these books. These suggestions will help out so much, especially with only one income( my husband is a SGT in the US Army) and seven people in our house. Ellie, thank you so much for sharing with others what you know about saving money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    Hope and Laughter

    This book has give me hope, and a much needed laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    A Necessary Read

    Ellie has done it again!! Her first book, Shop, Save and Share book is a must read for those who want to save money, and bless others.This book adds to and enhances her first book. Of course this book will make you laugh as you read of her incredible fun loving family and the joy they bring to Ellie and her beloved. This is a must read if you want to learn more ways to be blessed and to bless others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    A Pearl of Great Price

    Ellie Kay is a hoot! And about the best financial advisor any home could hope to have. Read this book. You will laugh, learn, and absolutely be amazed at the wealth of information she's packed into this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    Delightful Read! A gift for self, family, and friends!!

    Once again, Ellie Kay helps us learn the art of saving money. She is a master at it! Thankfully, she helps us thru the tricks of saving money and having fun at the same time! Her tried and true cost saving methods make saving cash fun for all involved. You'll want to read this book again and again--and share it with your family and friends alike!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    Comic relief for money headaches!

    This is a REALLY helpful book! By the time I finished, I had more than a dozen of my 'stickies' marking some really important things! From savings on travel and food to insurance and debt counseling, this book is really a TEXTBOOK on practical savings tips--but reads with humor like a comicbook. Ellie's real-life accounts will leave you in stitches...from her lively family episodes (apparently it's really wild at the Kay home) to her professional blunders. I literally shook so hard from laughter reading her story about the mis-pronounced poorhouse (p. 87) that I had to put the book down until I recovered! A rare combination of insight, wit, and wisdom--all in easy-to-read language--makes this book both a great read and a great gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    Laugh and Learn

    As a soon to be mother of twins we are about to go from a two income couple to a one income family with two babies. I needed to know some practical ways that really worked to save money in every area we could. Having already read and learned from Ellie¿s first book ¿Shop, Save and Share¿ I knew she had the experience to teach this in a manner that would keep you laughing while you learn. Eager for more of her new ideas, in ¿How to Save Money Everyday¿ I grabbed a copy as soon as it hit the shelves. Her daily, real life applications can help everyone, no matter what their circumstances. Mixed with the comedy of everyday life with a topic that can sometimes be tedious; you will laugh as you learn more than you ever thought possible about how to keep money in your pocket and still have enough to give to others in need. Collect your pennies and buy a copy, it is the best investment you could ever make. LeighAnn Trevillian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    Perfect book for anyone who likes to save money!

    If you have ever felt like your budget was too tight to help other people out the way you would like to, this is the book for you. Ellie explains ways to save money on things from fruit to a college tuition. I believe anyone can benefit from her ideas on how to save your hard earned money. This is definately a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Ellie doesn't just write about it; she's done it!

    It's clear the desire of Ellie's heart is to be a good steward of what God has given her and to share her unique gifts with the rest of us. As a mother of toddler twins and a pre-schooler, I hear all the time, 'how do you do it?' As Ellie knows (being the mother of five children), you `just do it¿ when you have to make ends meet...no matter what. Whether it's clipping coupons (Ellie is 'The Coupon Queen'), researching a purchase, or just being a savvy shopper, Ellie lays it out for us with her resourceful mix of practical guidance and comical stories. A treat to read and easy to apply in everyday life. Way to go, Ellie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    Hilarity and finances - an unlikely combination that works!

    This is a MUST HAVE book for anyone! It ought to sit on every family's book shelf, right next to those investment books we never use - but this one will get used. Ellie Kay's new book brings hilarity to a subject I never thought had any humor at all! This would be a worthy investment for all your children as they establish their own homes, for new couples starting out, or even us old marrieds who need this type of timely, practical advice to refer to on a regular basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    Ellie Kay Does It Again!!

    This book is as lively,spunky and full of wonderful stories as the first! I'm so glad to know that I am not the only person on God's green earth that can feel a little unorganized and 'half-witted' at times. The stories are so real, honest, true to life, and I can relate. The tips make me feel like 'I CAN do this!' Thanks, Ellie, and here's to many more books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2001

    It's Really True!

    You CAN save money every day with the tips from this book! Learn how to harness your family's finances, maximize your resources, and share generously with others in the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    Yes!!! You can do it, too!!!

    I found this funny, yet informative, book to be just what I needed. It is written in an easy to understand format; more importantly, her expert advice is definitely motivating. I'm laughing my way to better finances!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    What A Lady!!!

    What A Lady!!! Reviewer: Jane Jarrell from Dallas, Tx USA How to Save Money Everyday offers practical, sound advice from a gifted lady full of experience. Not only is Ellie a fabulous communicator, she actually practices what she preaches. The humorous insight, tried and true remedies plus great stories make this book a MUST HAVE. Fasten your seatbelt Ellie, you are on your way to the top AGAIN!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    Enjoy Reading With a Box of Chocolate

    Ellie Kay is an excellent writer who entertains as she shares wisdom and sprinkles of laughter in her writing. She is sincere as the words sink deep into your heart and waters the best parts of your soul. I highly recommend all her books along with one of her favorite treats ...a box of chocolate. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Breathing Room for the Bound

    As the mother of three and wife of a part-time working, full-time studying husband, money is maddeningly tight for us most of the time. For two years I have tried to be creative in finding ways to be a better steward of God's resources and loosen the financial belt a bit. Perhaps I should have spent my time and creative juices on other things because Ellie has put together a much better and more practical approach than mine! Take it from me: Invest a few bucks and a few hours in this book now and save yourself some frustration and broken calculators later. (Not to mention the fact that you'll probably cry as you develop your approach and will laugh with her as she shares hers!) What a privilege it is to save and share for the glory of Christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    Warm, funny, and oh-so-informative

    Ellie Kay's new book is fantastic. Reading about finances isn't my idea of a good time, but Ellie makes the important topic of saving money... FUN! I learned so much from her (again, after Shop, Save, and Share) and especially enjoyed the chapter on teaching our kids about money. You'll learn a ton and enjoy it along the way with her great stories sprinkled throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    Truly Funny Money Tips

    Ellie Kay has done it again! In her new book 'How to Save Money Every Day,' Ellie will have you laughing (literally!) all the way to the bank with the money you'll save following her tips. What makes Ellie's advice so extraordinary is that in many ways it's so...well...ordinary! This is practical stuff anyone can put into practice every day in every area of life. And because 'time is money,' you'll save a lot of both with Ellie's web tips ¿ she tells you exactly where to go! If you want to live better for less and enjoy it ¿ this book is a must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2